I can’t wait for spring!

Between the cold, snow, and babysitting my 3 yr old Grandson most of the week, I have a huge, full blown case of "Cabin Fever."
 
I spend most of my day trying to keep up with Dekeon. Just when I think I’ve gotten through to him, he does exactly what I had been telling him not to!
It may be my imagination, (or me getting old) but he seems to have a lot more energy and get into a lot more trouble than my guys when they were 3.
 
You should see my fish tank. Every night I clean crud and toys out of it that he insists on throwing in, as soon as no one is looking.
I think the turtle is permanently traumatized!
The cats hide all day, and come out at night when he’s asleep.
 
I can’t tell you how much I admire some of my blogging friends, and friends from real life, who have a bunch of young children to deal with. Example, Jess, she has 5 daughters and is preggers with a 6th baby… a little boy, who’s gonna be spoiled rotten. lol
Or, Leah, she’s a single Mom with 2 little ones. She’s doing it on her own, with no breaks!
They are both strong special Women that I admire.
 
I look at him sleeping during the night, so peaceful and sweet. I wonder how some one so small can cause so much damage and destruction… then I fall asleep as soon as my head hits the pillow.
 
I can’t wait for Spring!
 
I hope you are all doing well.
 
I have snow and single digit highs that I can send your way… just holler! BIG HUGS, Steph

16 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Teri
    Jan 22, 2008 @ 10:39:04

    Hi Steph – I feel your pain when it comes to "little ones"!  I know that is why we have children when we are young – too much to deal with in later years – and I\’m only 51!!!  they are a handful – and more so than when my son was little – at least that is how it seems now, I might have argued the point back then!!
     
    Normally I would ask for a share of the snow but since we have our first camping trip of the year this week-end, I\’ll pass – we are scheduled for the 70\’s this week-end – come on down, the waters fine!!
    God Bless!
    Teri

    Reply

  2. ZePp...
    Jan 22, 2008 @ 11:12:03

    They wont let me post "AMEN" in large enough letters for me to express my feelings of agreement on the wanting glorious, sunny, warm, clean open roads motorcycle riding SPRING to arrive.  I know I have ulterior motives but damn it.. I too am soooooo tired of single digit or even anything lower than 40 degree weather !!!!
    Ever since I came back from my Cancun trip I have been giving the owners here at work hell about us reallllllllllly needing to open up a branch of C.S.I. .. in CANCUN !!!!!!  I volunteered to go down n head up the shipping department for them for the same pay, and I would even pay for my own move !!  AWFUL nice of me if I say so myself !!
     
    Ahhhhhh  Little ones.  I love little ones.. joy, rambuncous energy, and a wonder for life.
    I am just glad when their parents take them back home  😀  I think thats one of the reasons I never had children.
    I may have said before but my mother was the youngest of  18 … yep.. you read it right 18.  I have sooooooooo many cousins n aunts n uncles n second uncles n step aunts n step this step that.. basicly watch where ya step !!!
     
    But ya KNOW Steph.. if you was say.. 15 yrs younger.. you would want another one  😛
     
     
    << runs n hides in a DEEP cave >>
     
    Peace my friend.. Spring is coming !!!! then you can send the little one outside for part of the day like me 😉
    ZePp
     
    p.s.   Thanks for the comment on my latest rant.. was much appreciated and I think I will have to revisit that blog theme and add another chapter or two 😛                                   ZePp 4 Pr…….. oh hellllll NO    LMAO

    Reply

  3. KatSoup
    Jan 22, 2008 @ 11:31:18

    I don\’t do kids anymore 😛
     
    I am sure it will change when grandchildren come along.  It is cold and rainy here. You can keep those single digits.
    Here is a HUGE SMACKER for the movies. 
     
     

    Reply

  4. KatSoup
    Jan 22, 2008 @ 11:31:22

    I don\’t do kids anymore 😛
     
    I am sure it will change when grandchildren come along.  It is cold and rainy here. You can keep those single digits.
    Here is a HUGE SMACKER for the movies. 
     
     

    Reply

  5. KatSoup
    Jan 22, 2008 @ 11:35:24

    Shit! I just wrote a comment that vanished when I hit ADD.  Maybe it will be back later.  Anyway, I wont repete it.  Except for the big SMACKER for the movies.  I\’m having a great time. 

    Reply

  6. KatSoup
    Jan 22, 2008 @ 11:36:16

    Ah It was so nice they printed it twice
    🙂

    Reply

  7. Jean
    Jan 22, 2008 @ 13:52:39

    Yeah.. aren\’t they fun? I\’m always gratified, though, to find someone not disabled has as much of a challenge as I do!! They are precious, especially when they\’re asleep, but man.. been there, done that, don\’t want to do it again!!LOL
    hugs,
    Jean

    Reply

  8. David
    Jan 22, 2008 @ 14:23:17

    Well, Keats or somebody said, "When winter comes, can spring be far behind?"  I am guessing the answer is actually \’yes\’, despite Keats (or whoever) implying strongly that is not what they expect to hear.  I sort of like the winter – having lived about 40 years in places that didn\’t know how to have a decent winter, I am glad to be back to it.   I do love the snow when it is coming down.  The grey sooty melty days in between not so much. 
     
    I never have to deal with kids since a single man within half a mile of a kid is considered highly suyspicious.  I like what I see of them, but that isn\’t much – the only boychild in the family is half of a set of twins in KY – he\’s a great kid (or was when I saw him last) – all the other kids in the family are girls – I guess our family works it out in shifts – Mom was one of 8 girls, she had 8 boys, the 8 (plus my sister) had half boys half girls, and now the next gen is going back to all girls. 
     
    Maybe the turtle LIKES the attention…

    Reply

  9. Lola
    Jan 22, 2008 @ 20:47:09

    **sigh** I am soooooooo looking forward to spring.  Understatement. 

    Reply

  10. Litespreader
    Jan 23, 2008 @ 17:29:27

    I know this isn\’t a popular sentiment for people dealingwith hard winters to hear, but I miss it.  When it gets\’cold\’ here.. 50\’s, say, people freak out.  I love it.  30\’sand 40\’s are even fun for me.  I am so wanting to movesomewhere I can enjoy the winter again.  The weather allover the country is unusual, due to worldwide climate change.This is how unusual.. two weeks or so ago, Cocoa Beach hadsnow flurries.  It lasted about 30 minutes, and everyonewas stoked!  First time in history.  It\’s scary, because I think, what\’s next?  Just how badly have we screwed thingsup here?  Don\’t answer, I think I know…  I can relate to the grandchild gone wild.. when I see mine, it\’s at her house, for the night.  Then, around noon the nextday, I go home.  Whew!!  Since my car\’s stereo was stolen,it\’s relatively quiet.. and it\’s a beautiful thing!  Steph, I amso comforted just to come here, and visit, and hear from you.Thanks so much.  love you.t

    Reply

  11. KatSoup
    Jan 24, 2008 @ 07:07:33

    hi just stopping in.

    Reply

  12. Jade
    Jan 24, 2008 @ 08:02:34

    Throwing stuff in the tank AK!!!  Be careful! A neighbor\’s daughter put dish liquid in her tank & killed everything-She wanted to give them a bath!!Me too with the cabin fever!!!!So, I am buying a tv- lol!

    Reply

  13. Jane
    Jan 25, 2008 @ 12:25:40

    Think of him as your new workout plan.  hehe.
    I can\’t even imagine how someone takes care of many kids.  My husband wanted another one – probably just wanted a BOY – but I just wasn\’t comfortable with being outnumbered… Well, that and the fact that I sucked at childbirth.
    Hang in there Steph!  I think you just need to practice more.  :o)

    Reply

  14. Greg
    Jan 25, 2008 @ 19:50:36

     
    Amen…On the warm weather. We are supposed to reach 60\’ degrees on Monday.
    That will be real nice.
     
    Don\’t be cranky Kitty Cat…Here let\’s set down and share some cat nip.
     
    Have a peaceful weekend,
     
    Greg
     

    Reply

  15. Laoch
    Jan 26, 2008 @ 13:53:25

    I am convinced that spring is just not coming this year.

    Reply

  16. t i m
    Jan 27, 2008 @ 20:35:53

    He sounds like a fun little terrier. Stick him in front of the TV, problem solved. 🙂

    Reply

Leave a comment