Monday, Monday…

It’s still very cold, and we are supposed to be getting snow every day this week.
 
Just so you know, that is NOT something that makes me happy.
 
I have created a monster… two actually. I showed my girls some web sites, on which they can watch movies and TV shows.
My time on the computer is now limited to the time they are at school, but, having Dekeon here makes it nearly impossible.
 
I’ve been going through withdrawls!
 
Let’s see, what else has been going on.. oh yeah.
 
A lesson on drugs…
 
My oldest son hit rock bottom this past fall. He ‘fell off the wagon’ so to speak and for 2 to 3 months if he wasn’t drunk he was high on drugs.
He has 2 or so months that he doesn’t even remember. This is where it gets stupidly amazing… during that time he met a young lady who, talked him into buying a car and handing over the keys to her.  This was in October, and he just found out the other day that he had done this… at least we are assuming he did it. Since he can’t remember. There’s always the possibility of identity theft, but, he’s going to check on that today.
So, shall we review? Not only did he lose several months of his life, but, ended up buying a car for a person that he doesn’t even remember, and handed her the keys. That’s right, he doesn’t even remember her name!
 
I am shocked, amazed, confounded, by the fact that my son, who has a very high IQ, could do something like this…  and then have no memory of it.
 
He’s had to move back home for awhile. The roommate who was supposed to have been taking their rent money to the landlord… has been spending it on pot and meth.
 
I have friends and know of people who still use pot, and it’s stuff like this that makes me wanna crack some heads when they say, "OH it’s just pot" or, "We just use meth, once in awhile."
 
On a brighter note, it means Dekeon will be here more often, and he’s brought his 2 cats with him.
 
I’m feeding a total of 15 now. I have a cute furry lil female show up every morning for breakfast. I can’t figure out where she’s come from, but, she’s been de-clawed (I’d love to de-claw who ever did that to her), so she sticks around and I make sure she gets fed.
 
I hope you are all staying warm, and have a great week. (Thanks for letting me vent.) BIG HUGS, Steph

8 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. David
    Jan 28, 2008 @ 14:08:52

    IQ has nothing to do with behavior under the influence, and if it were \’just pot\’ it is highly unlikely that there would be this memory gap – that is either booze or worse, (or a lie – the addict is not notable for verity).  I am not clear on why he is allowed to move home, since it would seem he thus has a fallback when his behavior is such that the options are dire (flophouse or streets).  My guess is that so long as there is a soft place to fall, fall he will.  As to cracking heads, how is it that "Oh it\’s just one more cat" doesn\’t earn this excellent service?  And – um – \’lady"?  I am not accustomed to that term applying to females who accept cars from strange men, intoxicated or otherwise.  There is a much more useful and accurate term – several, in fact. 

    Reply

  2. Laoch
    Jan 28, 2008 @ 15:09:45

    Adding more felines is a delightful prospect

    Reply

  3. Lola
    Jan 28, 2008 @ 16:37:27

    Hmmm…..I think DavidShag has some valid points in his comments. 
     
    I find that when I hold myself accountable, I tend to live up to  the expectation because I have only myself to fall back on.  Accepting accountability, being responsible for yourself is what it means to live your life, to find your way to happiness.  I do wish him well.  With a strong family for guidance and support, he can turn himself around and get his life on track.
     
    As for you, my dear, you have a heart of gold– a  generous, kind, funny and sweet woman through and through.
     
    All My Best.
    Lola

    Reply

  4. t i m
    Jan 28, 2008 @ 18:49:55

    Best of luck to your son, hope he gets himself together soon.Website to watch TV shows/movies for free, I think I\’m vaguely familiar with that.😉

    Reply

  5. KatSoup
    Jan 28, 2008 @ 19:39:00

    Oh my.
    Oh my.
    OH MY.  I am sorry to hear about your son.  Maybe the girls can find someone to buy them cars and it will even out.  Gosh, I know thats not funny.  just trying to get a cheap laugh.

    Reply

  6. R U Serious
    Jan 28, 2008 @ 22:20:55

    Oh Man!!   Which son??  We need to talk!!  That SUCKS!!   Get your butt online with me!
     
    What David Said!!!

    Reply

  7. R U Serious
    Jan 28, 2008 @ 22:22:06

    BTW!!  LOL @ your comment on Jane\’s space!!!!!

    Reply

  8. Hey You
    Feb 11, 2008 @ 19:18:41

    I am also with David on this one.  I have gone through this, though not  to the extreem of giving away a car, with my own son.  I love hime more than anything.  He picked up his drug and alcohol habit in the Marines.  He has been clean and sober for 1 1/2 yrs but still making some poor choices.  His sister took him in and was crying to me that he may have to live at the YMCA.  My answer was "Yes he might."  It does have to do with accountability even though he is clean and sober.  You take care of you, so if and when he gets better, he has a healthy mother to return to.  My prayers are with you both.     Eileen

    Reply

Leave a Reply

