Life in a small town

I think I’ve mentioned I live in a very small town. We have one old movie theatre here. It’s one of the old kind, One screen, 130 seats on the main floor, and a balcony that used to be the best for "making out" with your date.

 

Two years ago they put an ad in the newspaper proclaiming that it now had, AIR CONDITIONING! Whooo hooo! I’m sure we’ll get the "indoor plumbin" real soon! LOL

 

What they don’t tell you is, I think the air conditioning is probably a "Flintstone" contraption. You know, a couple of guinea pigs running on a wheel which is attached to a cord that makes a fan blade go round and round in front of a big block of ice… either that or a window model and a fan in front of it….

 

Tuesday evening I took my youngest and her friends and we went to said theatre to see the latest "Pirates of the Caribbean" Movie.

 

My first mistake, OK, I admit it, I was being cheap, so we went on "Family Night," which means 2.50 per person admission. (Normally it’s 5.00 for an adult, and 2.50 for kids) So, it was us and 160 people. Every seat was full.

 

Did you know that Pirates is a long movie?? I didn’t. I’m enjoying the movie, we all were, but, it’s getting hotter and hotter.

 

I think I started to hallucinate from the heat. People were taking off their clothes and Captn’ Jack was talking to me. LOL

 

Actually I started to be sick to my stomach, so I went up to the concession area and stood in front of their fan, (singular).

 

The owners are really nice, and know me from when I worked downtown at the antique shop.

 

I think they were afraid I was going to pass out on them (I was beginning to wonder myself).

 

So I spent the last half hour watching the show from the concession area, peeking through the velvet curtains, fan blowing on me, and as much ice water as I wanted.

 

The movie is great, and even better, they felt so bad, I got free tickets to either go back and watch it another time, or see an up coming movie… I think I’ll wait till fall or winter, at least then I know to take a blanket with me.

 

Gotta love small town living! LOL BIG HUGS, Steph

 

OH, Monday was movie rental night. We saw, 16 Blocks with Bruce Willis. I enjoyed it, and it was suspensful. One negative, the young man who he was in charge of taking to the court house, has a voice that was so annoying I probably would have killed him myself just for speaking! LOL

I also rented, Underworld Evolution. I liked this one too, although I didn’t think they explained things very well, but, it was blood, guts, great costumes/make-up, and a sex scene that was pretty good considering. (A sex scene can be really, really hot, and still not show very much) I like those, with good chemistry and heat! An example I can think of right now. The Wedding Date, Debra Messing, Dermot Mulroney, the scene is he has her up against a car, not touching her, just talking (he has her close her eyes), it’s what he’s saying, how he’s saying it, and the allllmost touching, it was HOT. (I think he’s hot!) LOL Ahhhh seduction!

13 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Bob
    Jul 13, 2006 @ 16:47:23

    Great Blog!!!  Ahhhh, small town life!!  I love your idea of a Flintstone air conditioner!!  LMAO!! 
    Way to nab those free tickets too!!  Yep!  Winter!
     
    xoxo    Bobby~  LOL  (my small town name!)

    Reply

  2. bobby
    Jul 13, 2006 @ 21:58:30

    the town u live is really nice~ and also i like the movies

    Reply

  3. Jock
    Jul 14, 2006 @ 12:25:41

    "People were taking off their clothes and Captn\’ Jack was talking to me."
     
    Lucky bitch.

    Reply

  4. m.
    Jul 14, 2006 @ 14:55:07

    Underworld Evolution – my kinda thing especially Kate Beckingsale who along with Jennifer Garner tops my list.
     
    Small towns are what we seem in the movies all the time over in the UK.  They always have something hidden, and dangerous under the idyllic apple pies and good \’ol country boys.
     
    Still, very interesting.
    storm.

    Reply

  5. Cheryl
    Jul 14, 2006 @ 20:56:26

    Oh my goodness…I just rented My Littel Pony!  It is great for 3 year olds and no sex scenes.  Maybe tomorrow I will get an adult movie. LOL

    Reply

  6. K.T.
    Jul 15, 2006 @ 18:27:45

    $5 for a movie?  I think that was the cost of movies when I moved here in 94.   Now I think they are about $8.

    Reply

  7. Bill
    Jul 15, 2006 @ 22:07:21

    Anyone who remembers the Milkshake candybar is on my A list.  I used to love them frozen, too.  I haven\’t talked to too many who remember them.
     
    Hope the rest of your weekend is nice.

    Reply

  8. David
    Jul 16, 2006 @ 06:55:08

    Before you drifted off into orgasic fantasy there, I was much entertained by the tale of the theater (the end was entertaining too, but in a different way, and I had to fan myself).  How nice that it is that this theater manages to stay open – and they seem like really nice folks – hope they can hang in.  Did they have the cojones to show Brokeback when it was out?  if so, let me know – I\’ll be so impressed I will actually send them a cheque.  Lemme tell you what you missed by not being able to go to the big city theater.  I went to see "Pleasantville" when it was in circulation, in a big complex in Dallas.  Did they have A/C? – Oh you damn betcha.  I got colder and colder and colder.  I, too, started to feel a little sick, and I couldn\’t feel my legs.  All about me folks were frozen in place, but I couldn\’t tell if they were really frozen as they sat, or if the plot was that gripping.  Since then, I never attend a theater without a sweater at hand.  It was the worst experience I had in a theater since I was a kid and got so scared in "Treasure Island" I ran in total panic all over our local theater (upstairs over the Fire House) looking for my parents who were sitting somewhere with the younger portion of the siblings.  Now, that was a movie!

    Reply

  9. Silver
    Jul 16, 2006 @ 14:26:41

    Ah yes seduction.. remember it well! lol
    Sounds like a nightmare in that theatre!! Hope it\’s a bit cooler next time you go back there..
    My weekend has been pretty good thanks.. but really really hot.. too hot to actually do anything but just lie there soaking up the rays.. ah bliss!
    Hope you\’re well..
    xx

    Reply

  10. Brad
    Jul 16, 2006 @ 17:07:40

    Heh heh,
     
       Ummm, between Mountain Home and Boise, you say? I don\’t recall anything even being there 😉 Hahaha. I thought Idaho was kinda cool though, for some reason… Maybe because it was not jam packed with people. Also, it was kind of weird being able to look around and see everything for a hundred miles in all directions…
     
       Yeah, I\’m just kidding about throwing the kitty over the house,…you know me,… always kidding,… mostly…
     
    😉

    Reply

  11. Brad
    Jul 16, 2006 @ 17:09:10

    Oh yeah,
     
       I remember those "Milkshake" candy bars too!!!!!! I can\’t find them anywhere….. They were great!!!

    Reply

  12. EdgyKay
    Jul 17, 2006 @ 10:42:43

     
    Oddly enough, last night I, too, took some of the young-uns to see the latest Pirate Movie.
     
    While in line, I saw a friend who lives in a Less-TinyTown than mine, but still Tinier than most. (Here\’s where the "oddly enough" comes in.)
     
    She: (tongue-in-cheek) What\’s wrong? Is the theater in TinyTown sold out?
     
    Me: (also tongue-in-cheek) Why, yes. Yes, it is. We had to drive over here to the Big City. What about you? Was the movie sold out in Less-Tiny Town, too?
     
    She: (t-i-c) Natch. The whole mall  in Less-Tiny Town is shut down on Sundays.
     
    Me: (t-i-c) Well, we were going to stop at the McDonalds in TinyTown, but it was packed.
     
    Then we laughed and rolled our eyes at the complete lack of theaters, malls, and fast-food restaurants anywhere near either of our towns.
     
    My point is: Luck-key! You at least have a theater. Does it sell snacks, too? \’cause if it does? You have to stop complaining. Right. Now.
     
    Oh. And: "Hot enough for ya?"
     

    Reply

  13. Nikki
    Jul 19, 2006 @ 02:10:14

    Lol!  That must be a really small town.  I can\’t believe the  movie tickets are only $5!  It cost me around $9 here!! 

    Reply

Leave a comment