Mom, Dad and the Lingerie Model

I’ve been working on restoring my Parent’s High School Graduation pictures. I enjoy doing it, I’m no where near done, but I’ll post them here. I recently told DavidShag, part of a story about my parents, he commented that maybe I would post the details, soooo,
 
This entry is for Dave(who’s my personal storyteller, and his sole purpose to blog is to keep me entertained with wonderful stories of his life… but he doesn’t’ know it, so, shhhhhh), this is what happened…
 
My parents, for those who don’t know, are both hot tempered and short fused… although if you ask my Mom, she would never admit it. (He’s Portuguese, she’s Italian)
They’ve been married 47 years now, and I’m not sure they would know what to do if they weren’t fighting. It has gotten better, I will say that, but, a couple of years ago I went with them on a trip to San Jose, CA, they still fight about things they were fighting about 20 or more years ago. We are going again in September, and this time I’m taking my Ativan with me!
My Dad is/was in education, he’s retired now. We spent many summers and some school years in a small college town in Oregon. I loved it, and times were such that I could roam freely. I know every inch of that campus. Trees that I used to play under are still there, (there are very few constants in my life, so to me that’s important). During those college years my Mom and Dad always had fights, mostly because my Dad was good looking and charming, and most of his "study buddies" were female… didn’t go over too well with my Mom.
One of the years there, my Dad had an out of town conference to go to. He took the bus going and coming. On his way home he sat by, or had sit by him a young woman that was as it turns out, a lingerie model. Dad loves to talk (oh boy does he) and when he’s talking to you, he touches,… young, old, ugly, beautiful, male, female, he touches. I don’t think he even realizes he’s doing it, he just likes to know you’re paying attention, etc. He apparently made a positive impression on her and from what I remember, he said he had asked her to stop by for dinner,… he was always inviting people, strangers over for dinner. She never came to dinner, but, about a week later he got some mail from her… they were some of her modeling shots, her in bra, panties, garters, nylons… that’s the one I remember anyway. Needless to say, the shit hit the fan, Mom was NOT amused. I can still remember that fight, I imagine most of the people living in the college housing do too! I’d like to say that they worked things out and there were no more jealousy fights, but, I can’t. I don’t think he never fooled around on her, but, I often think he enjoyed getting her worked up. There were always ladies who just thought "Manny" was the best, or soooo wonderful… pffft they didn’t live with him! Such was life in a normal dysfunctional family. No wonder I preferred being outside making mud pies… (yes those were mine on the Park BBQ Grill, decorated with dandelions! lol BIG HUGS, Steph
 

 
 

13 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Cheryl
    Apr 16, 2006 @ 15:20:03

    That was lovely to read I love to listen to people\’s memories and this held my attention the whole way through..You had great looking parents too so I can understand why the arguments went on. I can remember those BBQ menus too and the perfume I made for my mum from the rose petals that I put into water that never did work though
    Hope your Easter is going good
    Hugs
    Cheryl

    Reply

  2. Bob
    Apr 16, 2006 @ 21:53:30

    Whoa!!  Your parents were Great looking!!  No wonder you turned out the way you did!!  I\’m kinda touchy feely too, but YOU call it being Charming!!  LOL!!  You still have those mud pies???
     
    xoxo        Bob~

    Reply

  3. Indigo-XX
    Apr 16, 2006 @ 21:59:44

    Wow…they looked like they should have been in Hollywood, making movies (and you say they were hot-tempered like that\’s a bad thing…PFFFT!).
     
    I hope your Easter was wonderful!

    Reply

  4. Cheryl
    Apr 17, 2006 @ 09:57:20

    In confulictual family systems both partners have agreed on only one thing.  They agreed to not agree and it becomes the focus of their relationship…No agreeing and staying faithful to their commitment to each othr on that score. 

    Reply

  5. Greg
    Apr 17, 2006 @ 10:33:46

    Wow…Sounds like my mom and dad.
     
    Want wonderful pictures…I\’m sure your mom destroyed those other pictures?
     
    Do you have all the candy wrappers picked up?
     
    Did a cat choke and gag on a wrapper and leave you some cat puke?
     
    I caught another mouse…Meow!!!
     
    Hopefully…that will be all for now? My traps have gone silent for a few days…
     
    How did that cartoon cat…I do not know if i can spell it all right?
     
    \’Snagglepuss\’…"I hate those mices\’s to picece\’s…Heaven\’s to Mercitroid…Exit stage right!!!"

    Reply

  6. April
    Apr 17, 2006 @ 16:16:05

    Wow, smoldering pics.

    Reply

  7. Litespreader
    Apr 17, 2006 @ 23:23:48

    WOW!  high school??  wow.. i can\’t imagine being in an environment
    like that growing up, but we all have our \’things\’ to deal with, i guess.
    you are a beautiful outcome of two beautiful people.

    Reply

  8. Nikki
    Apr 17, 2006 @ 23:48:48

    Wow…..beautiful pictures!  Lol.  That sounds like my mom and dad.  But instead of my mom who is jealous, its my dad.  My mom does Tai Chi every Sunday morning and one day the Tai Chi master called my mom to tell her about the new time for the class.  My dad picked up the phone and he realized that the Tai Chi Master is a man.  The next moring my mom went to her class and when the class ended she saw my dad standing, waiting for her.  You see, my dad sleeps in on Sundays but after that, each Sunday, he\’ll always be there after the Tai Chi class….  I do thing it\’s kinda sweet…..still jealous after all these years.  🙂

    Reply

  9. Jess
    Apr 18, 2006 @ 09:19:46

    lol great story !!
     
    And your parents are both beautiful !
     
    Jess
    xoxo

    Reply

  10. David
    Apr 18, 2006 @ 10:58:55

    The parental units are really out of the ordinary looks-wise.  Dad looks like one of those soulful sensitive \’50\’s stars and your mom is just – wow!  (Who\’d look at anyone else – even a lingerie model?)  Nice hearing the story on that one, by the way.  I have a feeling your dad is a bit more conscious of the effect he has than you might think – not, however, with any intention of going beyond the conversation.  NOTHING, by the way, would send me looking for other companionship as quickly as being accused of doing so. 

    Reply

  11. KatSoup
    Apr 18, 2006 @ 19:34:28

    get them to tell you all the stories you can stand now.

    Reply

  12. EdgyKay
    Apr 18, 2006 @ 23:10:47

     
    You look just like your mom, I think.
     
    Portugese + Italian = delightful Italigese things, like kick-ass tans in the summer and meals that would put Martha to shame.
     
    Your parents really are  beautiful. And I think growing up (each of us in our freaky, dysfunctional-in-some-way families) teaches us one of two things: Either how to carry certain traditions on, or how not to. I prefer to think that I broke free of most of my baggage, and am putting the "fun" back into dysfunctional.
     
    Thanks for the sweet post, Steph.
     

    Reply

  13. Shannon
    Apr 19, 2006 @ 06:31:35

    at least they are still together, so it can\’t be all that dysfunctional.

    Reply

Leave a comment