Gee THANKS Microsoft!

I wanted to give a great big "Gee Thanks" to Microsoft, for crashing my computer. Last week there was an up date of files and after it was done my computer wouldn’t boot up. Instead I got a blue (death) screen and the message of, "A problem has been detected and Windows has been shutdown to prevent damage to your computer."
I called Dell, got to their very special and "highly" trained techs. Number one, they wouldn’t believe me when I already knew it wasn’t a hard drive problem. Number 2 I ended up paying 49.00 to have them tell me it wasn’t a hard drive problem. Number 3, after talking to approx 20 different techs, not one, not one, not ONE, knew what was wrong and how to fix it. Thus by following their directions my computer is now worse off than it was.
 
It took my brother to find out what had happened, about the microsoft security patch that has crashed our computers.
 
Interested? The one I read is from www.pcpro.co.uk
MICROSOFT SECURITY PATCH BRINGS BSOD MISERY FOR USERS.
 
BSOD is Blue Screen of Death, just so you know…
 
They tell how to try and fix it, but Dell has already messed mine up so much that it’s too late for me. Save yourself! As for me, after getting screwed by Microsoft, I’m at least expecting dinner…. BIG HUGS, Steph

10 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Raven
    Feb 20, 2010 @ 15:49:05

    Have you tried going back to the last restore point made before the updates? Sometimes that fixes the "fixes". Good Luck! XXX~R

    Reply

  2. Jade
    Feb 20, 2010 @ 17:03:57

    It is in the news that a root virus causes the bsod after the last update.

    Reply

  3. Jade
    Feb 20, 2010 @ 17:08:06

    Reply

  4. Stephanie
    Feb 22, 2010 @ 11:17:59

    Hi Raven, We tried to restore, but it wouldn\’t work. Hi Jade, Supposedly one of the techs I was working with checked for that root virus and didn\’t find anything…. I\’m to the point where I don\’t care who or what it was, it\’s too late. I\’m saving what I can and gonna wipe the hard drive. I guess what made me upset was not one Dell Tech person mentioned that this had been a big problem with a lot of people. I think they should have known how to fix it if it was that wide spread. BIG HUGS, Steph

    Reply

  5. Jade
    Feb 22, 2010 @ 12:22:23

    Ugh! Sorry you\’re going through this hassel-I had another friend that lost his to Spmthing before I could get there but he\’s just a surfer

    Reply

  6. Unknown
    Feb 22, 2010 @ 21:35:00

    You know, I always thought that I was doing something wrong. I always thought that one was supposed to get dinner… BEFORE they got screwed. Uuugh! Come to think of it… I think I like your order of things more. :o) ….. just not when it comes to my computer.There are very few problems which can\’t be solved by a suitable application of high explosives.

    Reply

  7. ROCKET
    Feb 23, 2010 @ 19:02:59

    Oh. man do I ever know about this one! The very same thing happened to the Dell laptop I\’m using right now. With mine the boot sequence would get as far as the Windows logo, then shut down and start all over. This thing was under warranty so I called "tech support" and they treated me like an idiot.Turn your computer off using the power button on the keyboard.I did and the thing reboots all by itself.Okay, then unplug it from the wall outlet.It\’s a laptop.Okay, just unplug it to shut it down.Should I remove the battery?Oh no, do not do that!Then what good will unplugging it do? It\’s got a high capacity, fully charged battery.This is when I discovered that I had dedicated native language tech. support………Canadians!When I got transferred to these guys it took about 2 minutes after I explained the problem for the tech to figure out a corrupted Windows Update file was the culprit. Unfortunately the only solution was to wipe the hard drive but Dell keeps an "image" of everything installed when they build each system and I do regular backups to a portable hard drive. I lost a few photos and my address book but the system was fixed.The overseas people you get when you call standard tech support are script readers. The only thing they know about computers is the troubleshooting wizards they are trained to follow. If the problem hasn\’t been included in the wizard database you are out of luck.

    Reply

  8. Lola
    Feb 24, 2010 @ 08:24:12

    Yikes! Sorry to hear about the computer issues. I know my boyfriend has been running into a perpetual reboot loop on his Windows Vista update. He has had this problem for over a week now too. I think he said– after troubleshooting it–that he was gonna try to install Windows 7 or something like that. Sorry I don\’t have better info but I \’m not too tech savvy.

    Reply

  9. Unknown
    Mar 08, 2010 @ 21:05:24

    I want to give a big "Gee Thanks" for teasing us with this post. And here I thought that you were going to be blessing us with more posts. Here\’s hoping that you will update us soon to as what\’s been happening in your neck of the woods! Cheers to you… :o)

    Reply

  10. Unknown
    Mar 12, 2010 @ 20:12:06

    ………. Enjoy your weekend, Mondays tend to come fast!Cheers to you!http://i40.tinypic.com/2qcjp03.jpg

    Reply

Leave a Reply

