Summer Fun

Where do I start?  It’s been a very busy summer! Fun, but busy.
Every two years we try to take a family vacation together. My kids always chose to go to southern California (Disneyland, Knotts, etc).
I think one of the main reasons is that Bob (RUSerious) and his wife Becky are there, and they are more like family, than, well, family!
We’ve known "Uncle Bob and Aunt Becky" about 9 or 10 years now. Bob and I became best friends through a mutal love of Bonsai trees, food, and both his and Becky’s fantastic sense of humor.
My girls will tell you that Becky is undoubtably the funniest person they know… and I agree!
We spent our first night with Bob and Becky. They have a beautiful home and always make us feel welcome and part of their family. We love them, we love their furry babies.
Our first day was spent at Seal Beach. We have a tradition (started by Bob and Becky) to eat at Walt’s Wharf. Their food is fantastic, and they have a grilled artichoke with a dip that is to die for! I ordered a creme brulee for dessert, thinking everyone would be too full and I would get most of it…. WRONG! lol
We have a few favorite shops that we always hit while there, and then we spent the rest of the afternoon on the beach.
It was in the 70’s with a light breeze blowing off the water. The girls wanted to work on suntans. I kicked my sandals off and went for a walk along the shore.
I can’t think of many things I enjoy more. It was a gorgeous day. The water splashing my feet, the breeze so soft and cool. I wish I could afford a place on the beach.
 
That night, my husband took our oldest daughter and her friend to their very first professional baseball game. They saw the Angels play the Rockies.
My youngest and I spent the evening with Bob and Becky. (Which I prefer over a ball game any day!) We ordered Pizza from a little place not far from their home. They know "Big Bob" and always make THE best pizza!
The next day, Knotts Berry Farms (my kids favorite) and then that Friday was my oldest daughter’s birthday, so we spent the day, and night at the Disney parks. (She got in free)
Our last day there we just spent goofing around, and looking forward to dinner…. Bob and Becky were cooking. Now, all it takes is knowing that, and we all start to salivate! Becky has a very high power, stressful job, and yet every time we are there she always goes all out for us! She is the best cook I know! Bob is no slouch either.
Dinner with Bob and Becky is talked about and fondly remembered as one of THE best parts of vacation. Right up there with the thrill rides my kids love.
I’ve posted pictures of the food from that night. We all had our favorites, and consumed every last crumb! Yep it’s ALWAYS that good!
I can’t tell you how much we love Bob and Becky… They have become family and in our hearts.
We had a great time and are already looking forward to the next visit!
My youngest daughter was going to try to sneak Baxter (their mini dachshund) into her suitcase, but, dang it, Becky said no deal! lol
Hope you are having a fun summer! BIG HUGS, Steph

10 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Jade
    Jul 12, 2009 @ 14:28:29

    wow, thanks for the different point of view – from the guest\’s side at Bob\’s- Dam I am SO jealous!!!

    Reply

  2. R U Serious
    Jul 14, 2009 @ 13:14:21

    Thank you Steph for the very complimentary post. We ALWAYS enjoy your visits! You and your family are always welcome to visit anytime!!! I\’m so glad that you all had a good time and you\’re right, we did eat every last crumb!! lol! Oh, and about Baxter, our niece stayed here the next week and tried the suitcase trick too!!! He\’s such a lady\’s man!!!Take care and talk soon!!!Bob~

    Reply

  3. Greg
    Jul 14, 2009 @ 15:24:06

    Sounded like a great time…I need to get out to the left coast in the future. "Bob get those Laker tickets ready when the Jazz are in town."One day I can finish this full-time parenting gig and start to travel. I’m going to miss all my kids when they are not around. This is my Emma’s last summer home from college. At least I have JR home for three more years. My oldest daughter Jade will always be around and of coarse I have little Charlee now.Grilled artichoke does sound good. Miss those west coast seafood restaurants.You all be well out there in spud country and stay cool…Greghttp://blogquest.spaces.live.com

    Reply

  4. R U Serious
    Jul 16, 2009 @ 20:23:16

    GREAT Pictures!!! Loved the parade ones!!! Yes, Walt\’s is always a pleasure!!Just so you know, yesterday was Buzz\’s birthday so I let him post!! But today, Bonnie did a rebuttal! She can be so mean! She actually eats with that mouth!! lol!!So glad you all had such a good time! You are ALWAYS welcome!!!xoxo, Bob~

    Reply

  5. GreatGranny
    Jul 16, 2009 @ 21:06:47

    Steph, so glad you all had fun At Bob and Becky\’s. I enjoyed your pics. I\’d sure love to return to CA, but will never happen again. I\’m happy that yall got to vay cay there.

    Reply

  6. Rambling
    Jul 20, 2009 @ 17:56:53

    Thoroughly enjoyed your comments in my Squirrel Saga at my Space. 🙂 LOved reading them and good to meet you.

    Reply

  7. Unknown
    Jul 21, 2009 @ 16:21:22

    http://i214.photobucket.com/albums/cc51/Seth_station14/hello.jpgOK… Alright! So I have not been around MSN Spaces much. Life gets busy at times, no doubt for everyone. But damn! When did everyone disappear?!? Have we on MSN Spaces, have our own version of the "Invasion of the Body Snatchers" ?!? Well, I am glad to be back. Glad to see that you are still – out \’n about – on Spaces.

    Reply

  8. Unknown
    Aug 04, 2009 @ 20:39:41

    During the Winter, I sometimes wish for summer. During the summer, I sometimes wish for winter.Isn’t Summer great tho!? You don\’t have to worry about catching a cold/shiver and putting on those darn sweaters and jackets. You can go outside and you know, do stuff. If it\’s cold you dress well and you get warm. But if it\’s too hot out… sure you can take off your clothes but then the ‘boys in blue’ show up and read you the riot act. Not that I would know, just saying of course! :o)Here’s hoping that you continue to enjoy what may be left of our summer. Cheers to you and yours!

    Reply

  9. Unknown
    Aug 04, 2009 @ 20:43:00

    When you have good close friends, you have almost EVERYTHING!

    Reply

  10. Unknown
    Aug 08, 2009 @ 23:25:53

    http://i214.photobucket.com/albums/cc51/Seth_station14/weekend1.jpgThought that I would come by and wish you a great weekend. We only have a couple of days, so I hope that you plan to make the most of it! Enjoy this weekend… have plenty of fun… rest and relaxation! …SETH!http://i214.photobucket.com/albums/cc51/Seth_station14/weekend2.jpg

    Reply

Leave a Reply

