I will it to be Spring!

I’m so excited, the weather is getting warmer and I see tiny green buds poking through the ground! I’m buying bulbs and roots to plant, and planning where to move my blackberries (they are growing into the neighbor’s yard right now).  I bought some new Peonies and Day Lilies to add to my perennial collection. They’re going to be gorgeous!
 
On the down side, I had to make a trip to Walmart. While I was shopping they made an announcement that all St. Patrick’s Day items were now 75% off. I had picked up a few things on my way in, so, I went back up to the store to see if they had done a price adjustment. The management person told me, "Oh, the red tag price reflects the 75% off…. um, no, it didn’t. I told her that regular price was 10.00 and they were marked 5.00… which is obviously not 75% off. She (in a snotty tone) asked me how I knew it was regularly priced 10.00… I reached over and tore off the red tag sticker and under it was the regular price of… 10.00! (Don’t mess with me and bargains)
She said she would have to get a person there to change the prices… 20 minutes later, no one. Another management person comes by, I give him the run down. He again tried to persuade me that they were indeed marked 75% off…. AGAIN I show him they aren’t. He leaves to confer (with probably no one) and comes back to say, that indeed most things were 75% off, but not these clothes. He then starts to take down the 75% off signs…. Being the nice guy that he is (sarcasm) he will let me and the other lady with me, have 75% off because there were signs up (and that lady who kept announcing it over the intercom). A few minutes later a department head comes up and tells me that her part of the clothing was indeed already marked 75% off…. UMMMM NO, it’s NOT. She assures me that they are. I asked her, "OK what was the original price on these pants.." She says, $11.50. The pants were marked 3.50… which AGAIN is not 75% of 11.50. There were some boxers which were regular price 5.00 and she had marked them 1.75… AGAIN, not 75% off. What really made me mad was, I had to get my cell phone out and show them the math. They were not inclined to try and figure it out or take my word that they didn’t know what the heck they were doing.  Plus, if the clothing was only 50% off, why did she run over to say her’s were already marked 75% off? HUH? HUH?
What really scares me is, these are people that Walmart hires, and they are incapable of doing simple math, even with a calculator and it being part of their job! Heaven help us all!
OK, Whew, rant over! BIG HUGS, (It’s SPRING, It’s SPRING!!!!) Steph

13 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Greg
    Mar 18, 2009 @ 19:43:32

    Hi Steph…I’m so excited too with the arrival of spring. As a matter of fact my face has the first tan of this new year.Interesting you just wrote about Wally World I just did the same thing in my last entry. Amazing on their math skills and trying to make a simple decision…D’oh!!!Have fun gardening…Greghttp://blogquest.spaces.live.com

    Reply

  2. Laoch
    Mar 18, 2009 @ 20:44:13

    sell that walmart stock

    Reply

  3. Teri
    Mar 19, 2009 @ 06:25:19

    HAHA – sounds like an encounter of the Wal-Mart type!!Yes – my garden is budding and blooming all over the place – I LOVE spring!! I love peonies as well – but I have a tough time growing them- they don\’t seem to like our Louisiana summers!God blessTeri

    Reply

  4. suzy
    Mar 19, 2009 @ 08:38:23

    That\’s why I don\’t work at Walmart—I couldn\’t pass the math test. HA HA HA HA HA!!! That kinda crap drives me NUTS and I\’m persistent about it as well…I don\’t walk away from a bargain either.

    Reply

  5. Sanjana
    Mar 19, 2009 @ 23:22:18

    ive never tried planting seeds………….always propagated plants really…………..and i cant wait to see pictures of your flowers……………and hey three cheers for you for sticking your ground………………most people dont and then they give those who do that look you know which says" Oh how pedestrian????" cheers all around…………..

    Reply

  6. KatSoup
    Mar 25, 2009 @ 20:50:05

    I thought the name was familiar……YOU BOUGHT MY DVD\’s ON eBay!!!!!!About the entry….it\’s walmart. I asked my waitress if I could have some more tea, she said they were closed. I said noone told me that a minute ago when they took my money. She obviously doesn\’t understand the concept of a good tip. (I wrote her one on a napkin!)

    Reply

  7. KatSoup
    Mar 27, 2009 @ 19:28:00

    I didn\’t put it together until after I mailed it. Then I saw you on facebook. I would sent lots of kisses and sunshine with it. It was you wasn\’t it?

    Reply

  8. KatSoup
    Mar 30, 2009 @ 09:34:51

    *stands tapping foot.Just cuz we are rael tight now you are not excused from Computer surroundings!

    Reply

  9. Terri
    Mar 31, 2009 @ 14:20:20

    HA! Another reason why I don\’t do Walmart. Ever. Never. Ew. I sure hope that I still can choose not to go there in the future, though – it would stink to have it be the only place to shop.Nice to see you doing well!;)t

    Reply

  10. Ms.Kitty
    Apr 03, 2009 @ 13:19:58

    Good blog….Walmart is not my cuppa tea anymore… I found you on Bob\’s.

    Reply

  11. Unknown
    Apr 04, 2009 @ 15:53:20

    There are simply not enough days in a weekend. I do hope that you are making the very best it. Cheers to you! :o) ………. I will be back to comment more. :o)

    Reply

  12. Greg
    Apr 09, 2009 @ 14:04:50

    Come on… Time to go… Yep…Let\’s visit Wal-mart again…I have my calculator for math problems.You all enjoy your weekend…Greghttp://blogquest.spaces.live.com

    Reply

  13. Unknown
    Apr 12, 2009 @ 19:53:05

    Howdi Steph… :o) Wal-Mart is usually crowded, at least where I live. If you don\’t like crowds, then you probably shouldn\’t shop at Wal-Mart. Although Wal-Mart has one of the largest parking lots of any one store, it can be tough to find a parking space on a Saturday afternoon. Many of the open spaces are quite some distance from the store. With gas prices as high as they are, no one wants to burn up their precious gas circling the parking lot at Wal-Mart looking for a parking space. When Wal-Mart gets really busy, the shopping carts disappear fast. There is nothing more frustrating than to park at the far end of the Wal-Mart parking lot, walk the distance up to the store, and then find that there are no shopping carts.Lines and Wal-Mart go hand-in-hand. There is a line of cars waiting to turn into the parking lot. There is a line of people filing out of the store that you have to stop and wait for as you drive by the front of the store. There is a line of people at the deli getting their meat and cheese sliced. There is a line of people at the checkouts. There is a line of people at the return counter. The worst line is the line of people waiting to get the oil changed in their car (if their Wal-Mart has a tire and lube department). Although Wal-Mart has a multitude of checkouts, there is often a shortage of cashiers to man the checkouts. My pleas to the four supervisors standing around to get some additional cashiers usually go unheeded. I\’ll be the first one to admit, it is annoying to go back to Wal-Mart a few weeks after a purchase and look for the same item only to find that it is no longer carried or has been replaced by something else that is similar, but not what I wanted. But I am not dumb enough to think for a minute that I am entitled to be able to purchase the same identical item — even on the next day.Contrary to popular opinion, the prices at Wal-Mart are not always the lowest. Milk, for example, can always be purchased cheaper somewhere else — at least where I live. Looking for someone in charge of a particular department at Wal-Mart who has not left early and is not on break? You might want to think about it — a long time. I know this is not true in every department at every Wal-Mart, but it invariably happens when you need some information in a hurry.I am not saying that we should boycott the store. I am sure that many "good" reasons can be given for shopping at Wal-Mart. I am just in a \’bad ass\’ mood and you have given me the tool to whine, hiss, bitch and moan. Thank you. I feel much better. Bwahahaha!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

