Da Flu

I’ve had the flu, and it’s kicked my behind! I can’t remember the last time I was so sick.
 
 In honor of the nasty lil bug that’s running around wreaking havoc, I’m posting some ideas on how to get through it.
 
First since it involves throwing up and diarrhea, you are advised to avoid milk, milk products and fruit juices.
 
Even though that spicy enchilada plate sounds good…. avoid it, and any other spicy, acid type, burn on the way down and on the way out foods…
 
Don’t plan on leaving the house any time soon, and, if you have to, you better know where each and every bathroom is between you and your destination.
 
Keep a bucket or garbage can near your bed, and remember the B.R.A.T. diet.
 
 That’s the diet your children’s doctor recommends when they are sick. It works for adults too. It stands for Bananas, Rice, Applesauce and (dry) Toast. Most of which won’t stay down for long, but, it’s not as bad coming up as some other things, and is easy on the stomach.
 
 Consider this my, "Public Service Announcement." Now, go, my friends, and may the flu bug of unhappiness never darken your door… BIG HUGS, Steph
 

13 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Laoch
    Feb 24, 2009 @ 14:08:51

    Ugh, the flu is awful, I hope you feel better soon

    Reply

  2. Jean
    Feb 24, 2009 @ 17:45:43

    How awful! I remember learning about the BRAT diet.. I hope it works for you, and you recover soon!hugs..from a long distance away!!Jean

    Reply

  3. Lola
    Feb 25, 2009 @ 06:14:40

    Oh my! That sounds really bad. I have never heard about the BRAT diet before. Interesting. Take care……feel better.🙂

    Reply

  4. Brad
    Mar 01, 2009 @ 19:18:39

    During a visit to the mental asylum, I asked the director how do you determine whether or not a patient should be institutionalized? "Well," said the director, "we fill up a bathtub, then we offer a teaspoon, a teacup and a bucket to the patient and ask him or her to empty the bathtub.." "Oh, I understand," I said "A normal person would use the bucket because it\’s bigger than the spoon or the teacup." "No." said the director, "A normal person would pull the plug.. Do you want a bed near the window?"

    Reply

  5. David
    Mar 02, 2009 @ 13:55:16

    I am sure you are keeping your stoic little chin up – which makes it easier to wipe the barf off of it. So far my flu shot is fending off the sickitude, just as my cruise control is fending off the cops on Highway 390, bless both their little hearts (the shot and control – not the cops, I mean). Hope you are up and chipper by the time this floats your way…

    Reply

  6. Dana
    Mar 03, 2009 @ 21:44:37

    Ugh, I remember that kind of flu. I took up sleeping on the bathroom floor, it was just easier and less messy. I do remember at one point crawling to the computer, pulling myself up to it and googling "bird flu", realized I didn\’t have it and crawled back to the bathroom and fell asleep, assured I wasn\’t dying. I hope you get better VERY soon.

    Reply

  7. Dwayne
    Mar 05, 2009 @ 11:15:15

    I know milk makes more mucous but what\’s wrong with fruit juice? Hope you feel better. Thaddeus has puked twice this morning.

    Reply

  8. Litespreader
    Mar 06, 2009 @ 05:04:31

    Hey sis! I trust you\’re feeling better.. and hopefully have seen some sunshine out there. I\’ve missed you, and I will make more of an effort to get out and visit. Off to work now.. take care. love,t

    Reply

  9. Shari
    Mar 08, 2009 @ 14:55:10

    Hey Steph,Sorry to hear you aren\’t feeling too well. I hope I never get that crap going around. (no pun intended) Hope you are feeling well soon. Take care

    Reply

  10. KatSoup
    Mar 13, 2009 @ 12:47:32

    too late it\’s here. My problem is the guy in my throat with a blow torch!hope we are both back to our cheey ole\’ selves soon.

    Reply

  11. Unknown
    Mar 15, 2009 @ 21:19:09

    …… Dropping by your space to send out to you a big HELLO. I guess our weekend is pretty much over. Tomorrow is another Monday. Here\’s hoping that this week goes by smooth for you. So sorry to hear that an apple a day didn\’t work for you. :o( Take good care and I sure do hope that you start to feel better and soon!

    Reply

  12. DragonBoy
    Mar 17, 2009 @ 04:53:30

    Heeeeeeey Steph… Are ya still ill? Do you need some TLC? Tell you what… I\’m coming round to look after you… i\’m bringing cool damp flannels to mop your brow… I\’ll bring you some consommé soup and i\’ll just pamper you til you\’re better… And in no way am I using this as an excuse to dress up as a nurse and anyone who tells you different is a fibber… a DIRTY ROTTEN FIBBER I tells ya…Apologies if you now have more questions than answers after your last visit. It seems that maybe my slight sabbatical has not helped to clear my mind but only cause it more befuddlement… LOOK Pretty things!!!!…Hope you\’re feeling better…DB xxx

    Reply

  13. Jade
    Mar 17, 2009 @ 10:28:55

    Hewo! You can come in my place now-HUGS!!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

