Siblings…

I have 5 brothers and 1 sister. They have made life, interesting to say the least. My brothers prepared me for having sons of my own. My boys used to think I was psychic, but, I was just wise to the ways that boys minds work.
 
I have to say I was pleasantly surprised that my sons didn’t do as many dangerous or illegal things as my brothers.
 
One of the boys was especially hard on my younger sister. Knowing she was trusting, aka gullible as heck, he would tell her things designed to mess with her head. He was able to keep a straight serious face and never crack a smile. 
Things like… The time she ate a green apple. He told her that green apples were poison and she was going to die. He had her totally convinced and ready to say "goodbye" to friends and family.  He was also very talented at making up words to songs. The words were usually designed to piss her off or make her scream and yell. When Mom would tell him he had to stop, he would walk around and just hum the tune and smile at Catherine (our sister). Then we get into the whole, "He’s smiling at me" thing. lol  (OK, this is a late entry) If I’m going to tell on my brothers I guess I should be honest and tell about something I did. lol When I was in high school it would bug the heck out of me that my sister would get into my fingernail polish and remover. She would usually ruin or pour them out, so, I told her that the fumes from nail polish and nail polish remover caused brain damage…. After that she left them alone… Hey, I’m not proud of it, but it did work…
 
Two of the youngest boys used to have their ups and downs. There were many times I would clean up blood from their fights before our Mom got home. The fights usually started with one teasing the other and with some laughter, but ending in bloodshed.  To this day Mom thinks that they got along wonderfully while they were growing up… sheesh!
 
When they were teens the boys used to love to play the game, "Mortal Combat." It was considered quite violent for it’s time and they would play it in, "blood mode" which meant that when they killed the opponent there was blood. My sister was very offended that they were allowed to play this game and she didn’t want her children (2 girls at the time) to see or be around it. Well the boys were not going to quit playing it, so, they decided they would deal with it in a different way.
 
During the game your opponent says, "Get over here"… They told her girls that meant, "Get over here, I wanna be your friend!"
Oh and look, they are giving each other a hug, or, he had a poisonous bug on his face and his friend smacked the bug so it wouldn’t bite him…. wasn’t that nice?  They made comments like that throughout the game, thus convincing my sister’s girls that it was a game of friendship and lots of fun (OK they are as gullible as my sister is).
At the very end when they would finish off their opponent, and there was blood spatter, they would say. "Oh look, he spilled his punch!"
Oh the fun… BIG HUGS, Steph
 

11 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Teri
    Jan 14, 2009 @ 14:05:12

    ha!! Good blog!

    Reply

  2. Lola
    Jan 14, 2009 @ 16:08:02

    Huh….I thought I was naive. Your sister(and her girls) takes the cake. (wink)

    Reply

  3. Laoch
    Jan 14, 2009 @ 20:07:29

    wow

    Reply

  4. Jean
    Jan 14, 2009 @ 23:07:37

    I have a niece that\’s gullible like that.. we love it..hugs,Jean

    Reply

  5. Greg
    Jan 15, 2009 @ 05:41:10

    Good morning Steph…Ah yes the stories we can tell. I have to admit I tormented my five year younger sister. But then she would not be the well rounded citizen she is today without my torment. Right?Yes the Grand Tetons are quite a site. But hen is there a man who doesn’t like to look at “Large Teats!”The years seem to go by faster as we get older. Look at Gauge he is already two!So you are going to let me kick in the door of fifty. Oh well, we are still holding onto are youthful attitudes. Or is that “catitude.”You all be well and before you know it you will be out in your garden of flowers.Greghttp://blogquest.spaces.live.com

    Reply

  6. SAAM
    Jan 16, 2009 @ 11:33:35

    "He spilled his punch!" THat is hilarious.Brother and sister stories are the BEST. Thanks for sharing!!!

    Reply

  7. Jade
    Jan 16, 2009 @ 16:40:13

    Soo, how was the stew & biscuits?

    Reply

  8. OBAMA
    Jan 17, 2009 @ 13:14:25

    We\’re coming to your town…we\’re gonna party down…!!!♪♪♫♪

    Reply

  9. Lauren
    Jan 25, 2009 @ 15:21:14

    Hey! How are you going? HAPPY AUSTRALIA DAY!!!!!!!AND HAPPY CHINESE NEW YEAR!xoxo Lozza

    Reply

  10. Mike
    Jan 26, 2009 @ 00:58:45

    The mole kindly asked me to stop by and remind you that Megabrad is still dead.I believe the maggots have probably consumed his body by now.have a nice day. Mike

    Reply

  11. Ms Noanie
    Jan 26, 2009 @ 05:30:06

    I love to hear stores about the growing up years of other people – makes me feel more normal for sitting on my sister and pummeling her after she followed me around the entire day just to bug me. Thanks for sharing.Peace

    Reply

Leave a Reply

