Ahh Youth

The other day I was talking to a friend of mine about our 3rd grade teacher, Mrs. Greenway. At the time she seemed very old, and VERY crabby.
Her favorite thing to do was to either throw an eraser at you, or, come up from behind with a ruler, and slam it on the desk in front of you… It gets your attention!
 
I didn’t have those things done to me. I was a voracious reader and thus made me a "favorite" but, I sat at the table with Todd H. and Dana D.  Both young men were very funny and kept me laughing, which insured that they got erasers thrown at them and the ruler was slammed on our table many times.
 
Mrs Greenway always had a contest for most books read. I won, easily. The prize was a, (what I thought she said) a Bobcat kitten… OK, keep in mind I was 9yrs old.
 
THIS is what I was expecting and very excited about….
 
 
THIS is what she had really said and what I had won…
 

9 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Laoch
    Oct 12, 2008 @ 12:04:52

    Felines are pleasing to look at.

    Reply

  2. Jean
    Oct 12, 2008 @ 12:18:57

    They\’re ADORABLE!! Laoch, you have such a way with words!LOL So, I guess it was a "bob-tail" cat, not a "bobcat"!! LOL Poor kid.. Miss you, kiddo.. hope it\’s going well.
    hugs,
    Jean

    Reply

  3. t i m
    Oct 12, 2008 @ 17:08:22

    The teachers @ my school used to whack us on the hand with a ruler – you had it easy Ms. Teacher\’s Pet\’.🙂

    Reply

  4. Jade
    Oct 12, 2008 @ 17:45:54

    You got a kitten?!wow, could you keep it? how cute- ya not as cool for a kid i guess, but still cute!

    Reply

  5. Teri
    Oct 12, 2008 @ 18:40:15

    all four pics are awesome!  In the long run, you probably got the best deal!
    God Bless
    Teri

    Reply

  6. ZePp...
    Oct 13, 2008 @ 16:04:47

    WELLLLLLL  there ya is !!!  HOw is you ??  I was just thinking about you this morning when I posted from work and wondering how ya been ?!?!?!?!
     
    OK  first question….. do you still have any cats decended from that kitten you won ??  I swear to GOD that some television crew should do a story about you and the animals you support !! I can see it now.. instead of the Deadlist Catch .. Its Steph\’s Catch.
    Not so deadly but adorable as HELL !!!!
     
    Was taken out for burgers at a place called "Five guys burgers"  guess it started back east somewhere.. little pricey but not bad at all. 😀
     
    Will ttys
     
    ZePp

    Reply

  7. David
    Oct 17, 2008 @ 20:47:55

    Is the bob-tailed beast a Manx?  I remember visiting a friend of my Mom\’s who lived on a farm and they had Manx cats – all bob-tailed.  being the easily amused tyke I was then, I thought they were amazing, and wanted one for years.  Before realizing that after all they were – cats. 

    Reply

  8. Lola
    Oct 19, 2008 @ 15:52:22

    I went to a parochial school for twelve years.  So being hit with an eraser or ruler was nothing new.  Those nuns were as agile as ninja\’s!

    Reply

  9. Carlos
    Oct 20, 2008 @ 03:07:43

    G\’Day Steph,
    Pretty cool real life story! The cat is awesome!! Have a lovely day🙂
    Hugs from devil\’s land
    Carlos

    Reply

Leave a Reply

