No frogs were harmed…

I’ve had questions about, "Frog Eye" Salad. It’s a sweet salad that is served in a lot of buffet places around here.
 
The normal recipe calls for making a pineapple sauce from scratch. Although it’s good, I have found that the, easy recipe, tastes the same and is no where near as time consuming or involved. So, for your enjoyment, I am posting the, Quick and Easy version…
I don’t always add coconut, and my kids don’t like maraschino cherries, so I leave those out too.
 
 
 

Quick & Easy Frog’s Eye Salad

A delicious kind of salad made with mandarin oranges, pineapple tidbits, flaked coconut and whipped topping.

Yields:

12 servings

Preparation

30 minutes

Cooking

10 minutes

Ready In

40 minutes

Ingredients

1 1/3

cup

ronzoni acini di pepe (pasta)  

uncooked

22

ounces

mandarin oranges

2 x 11 oz. cans, drained

20

ounces

pineapple tidbits

drained, unsweetened

1 3/4

cup

milk

3 1/2

cups

whipped topping, prepared

 frozen, thawed, divided

1/4

cup

sugar

1

package

 pudding mix, instant

vanilla flavour

8

ounces

pineapple

 crushed

3

cups

marshmallows

miniature

1/2

cup

coconut

flaked

1

x

maraschino cherries

Directions

Cook pasta according to package directions; drain. Rinse with cold water to cool quickly; drain well. Drain juice from pineapple chunks, reserving 1/4 cup.

In large bowl, add reserved juice, milk, sugar and pudding mix; beat with whisk or electric mixer until well blended, about 1 to 2 minutes. Add pasta to pudding mixture; stir gently. Let stand 10 minutes. Add crushed pineapple and tidbits, oranges, 2 cups whipped topping, marshmallows and coconut; mix gently and thoroughly. Cover; refrigerate until cold. Top with remaining whipping topping. Garnish with cherries.

12 servings (about 1 cup each).

19 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Jade
    Sep 03, 2008 @ 09:46:36

    Holy COW that sounds GOOD!!!I have never hear of pasta being used that way-I would have thought of tapioca.YUMMY!!!!

    Reply

  2. Jane
    Sep 03, 2008 @ 11:18:47

    Mmm… I have heard of this stuff but never had it.  I think I may have to give it a go!
    Thanks.

    Reply

  3. ...
    Sep 03, 2008 @ 11:36:19

    Thanks for enlightening me.
     
    Chris

    Reply

  4. Greg
    Sep 03, 2008 @ 12:35:47

     
    I kew it was going to be something like that.
     
    Maybe even expected some cottage cheese in there too???

    Wait that’s Frog Cellulite Salad.
    I know I probably should have not gone there???

    Reply

  5. Ms Noanie
    Sep 03, 2008 @ 13:04:00

    Boy does that sound like an interesting salad.  We make something like that but without the pasta.
     
    And thank you very much for the birthday wishes – it made my day very special!
     
    Peace

    Reply

  6. Laoch
    Sep 03, 2008 @ 15:53:51

    Where are the all important fat and salt groups?

    Reply

  7. ZePp...
    Sep 03, 2008 @ 17:13:10

    INTEResting !!!!   Sounds like something I need to try out on the people at work😉
     
    Something different.
     
    Now…
     
    Do ya have a good recipe for something different to do with pork ??
     
    Pork loins, chops, pulled ,  I have done all of em… but looking for a new twist for the next grill out 😉
     
    Thanks hun…
     
    Peace  !!!!!
    ZePp

    Reply

  8. Lola
    Sep 06, 2008 @ 08:14:21

    Kind of sort of sounds and looks like Ambrosia.  Except ambrosia doesn\’t call for noodle thingies.  Either way, it looks yummy.

    Reply

  9. KatSoup
    Sep 06, 2008 @ 21:44:12

     
    Believe it or not. I just went through pics and was about to ask the same question.  It sounds great.
    I am gping to C&P.

    Reply

  10. KatSoup
    Sep 06, 2008 @ 21:48:59

    ! DON\’T LIKE CHERRIES!  WTF

    Reply

  11. David
    Sep 07, 2008 @ 16:38:24

    I think I could eat this.  But maybe you shouldn\’t read what I wrote about \’quick and easy\’ recipes…  If your kids dn\’t like maraschino cherries, how do you serve their Manhattans?  Next thing you\’ll be leaving out the bourbon!

    Reply

  12. Brad
    Sep 11, 2008 @ 08:28:06

    I wrote you a message yesterday, and the damn *&$^%%$ *^#@%$%%$ msn \’server\’ that is a piece of *^$^ ate the *^%$#$^ing thing. I better hurry up and click "add" before it eats this comment!!!

    Reply

  13. Brad
    Sep 11, 2008 @ 08:32:47

    Oh, gee,…. good, it posted my comment!!! Just wanted to stop by and say hi and read up on what is going on with you. You have more fun in MY TOWN than I do. What\’s up with that?? I don\’t think it\’s fair you come here one month out of a year and you get all the good weather. I mean,…. at least it could have rained frogs on ya once while you were here…. Gonna add this before it dissappears
     

    Reply

  14. Brad
    Sep 11, 2008 @ 08:37:19

    Wow! Look at all those kitty\’s!!! I love \’em! Can\’t help it. And the hammy got out (with cats help)?? He\’s lucky he onl;y lost a little fur!!! Hahahahahahahaha…././ You know, smuggling hammy\’s across state lines is a big crime?? Yes! $50,000 and 10 years in jail!! Don\’t worry, I won\’t tell….

    Reply

  15. Brad
    Sep 11, 2008 @ 08:44:54

    By now, you see what I\’m doing, right? Adding a little at a time so my comment won\’t be sucked into the msn server vortex of doom? See, I am a geenyus! By the way, I built a device (Eevil device) in Switzerland (The Eevil side) that is going to make mini BLACK HOLES….! Yes! And they will float around, gathering atoms, until they are big enough to start pulling larger things into the gravity well, like cars, people, houses, etc, until finally they swallow the WHOLE EARTH!!! Bwahahahahahaha!!! I called it a particle accelerator to fool people and get government money to build it as a science experiment. The code name is CERN. Look it up😉

    Reply

  16. Brad
    Sep 11, 2008 @ 08:49:59

    I hope everything is working out with your sons job in Seattle and everything else is going good. Planning my vacation now. Thinking Idaho, Montana, Wyoming, Colorado, Utah, and then Grand Canyon, Arizona!! Then Nevada, California, stupid Oregon, and home. Gee, how many states is that? I\’ve never been to MT,WY, or CO, or Yellowstone park. Want to see that. Have you been there? Got any advice??

    Reply

  17. Brad
    Sep 11, 2008 @ 08:51:54

    Ok, here\’s the deal, read from the bottom of my comments first, then read this one last, ok?? Wait! No, you already read this one,….. so,… ok just start at the bottom and forget this one😉

    Reply

  18. Ms Noanie
    Sep 11, 2008 @ 17:50:18

    Just stopping by to say hi!  Hope you are well.  Peace

    Reply

  19. Raven
    Sep 14, 2008 @ 01:21:22

    Everything needs coconut!!
    Kisses and love~R

    Reply

Leave a Reply

