Wild Kingdom, and the food chain

I brought home 2, teddy bear hamsters from Seattle. My youngest daughter was ecstatic.
About a week later one of our cats got the cage open and was preparing to make a meal out of the smallest one, when Lisa rescued it.
Poor thing died not too long after that.
 
Hamsters must not be too smart, and or, I have the smartest cats on earth. We bought a new cage so that it wouldn’t be so easy for them to get into, and yet….
 
Last night I got up to get a drink and I noticed Romeo watching, very intently, under the fridge. I’ve seen that look before and I knew exactly what he was waiting for.
 
The cage was open and the hamster was gone. Now, if I were a hamster and my cage were opened and I was in a house full, no, a room full of cats, I would NOT get out, but, it seems that this one did.
 
 
I had to move the fridge to get to him and he’s missing a bunch of hair, but he looks to be OK. Only time will tell.
 
Rodents, sheesh! BIG HUGS, Steph

19 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Jane
    Aug 21, 2008 @ 11:06:45

    Rodents and cats just don\’t make good roommates.  We found out that birds and cats aren\’t a stellar mix, either. 
    Poor little guy.

    Reply

  2. Teri
    Aug 21, 2008 @ 11:18:35

    Oh my gosh!!!  Our hamster used to get loose and would go to the broiler of the oven EVERY time – I always had to check before I lit the stove!
    God bless!
    Teri

    Reply

  3. KatSoup
    Aug 21, 2008 @ 11:58:58

    eeek *jumps up on chair.
     

    Reply

  4. Jade
    Aug 21, 2008 @ 14:03:58

    :Oholy cow- I just cannot believe all this!That\’s the teenyest kitten & the smartest cat!I think I wouldn\’t want to go back to school either.More power to ya momma!

    Reply

  5. ZePp...
    Aug 21, 2008 @ 19:18:59

    To: The Northwestern US Animal Sanctuary.  a.k.a.  Steph\’s roost and ranch
    From: The rest of us in the world.
     
    Hello dear Madam,
     
    We all have an extra cat ( and or other assorted animals ) we have a need to find a place for. We have heard thru the grapevine, the local animal shelters and even off of the walls in public toilets that you have been known to take in the occassional stray animal.  Would it be possible to arrange the drop off of a few cats, dogs, goldfish, hampsters, igaunas, spiders, snakes and even 1 small tiny baby elephant ???? We could spread it out over a week or two so as not to overload you on any one day.
    Please reply to :  All the general public.
    Thank you for your time and effort in this matter and we look forward to hearing from you.
    John Q. Public & Mrs.
     
     
     
     
    LMAO … Ever thought of maybe doing your own reality show ??  Idaho\’s wild kingdom ??? The great Northwest Sanctuary ??  It may pay enough to feed that small animal kingdom you have going there.
     
    I jest with ya cause I can.. and cause u impress me with your genorosity to animalkind. Your a kind soul.
    Good luck sweetie !!!!!
     
    Big hugs
    ZePp

    Reply

  6. Ms Noanie
    Aug 22, 2008 @ 06:27:07

    Oh my, those bad scary cats!  Poor little hamster!

    Reply

  7. Raven
    Aug 23, 2008 @ 21:00:34

    If I had a set up like that, I\’d NEVER leave! Silly hamsters!
    Kisses~R

    Reply

  8. ...
    Aug 24, 2008 @ 01:36:44

    My daughter lost her hamster 2 days ago and we still havent found it!. Hers is a russian hamster and as small as a mouse. There is hamser food laid out all around the house and hoovering is strictly forbidden. I  of course am waiting for an appliance to stop working once the little bugger chews through a cable.
     
    Hugs
     
    Chris

    Reply

  9. suzy
    Aug 24, 2008 @ 05:39:41

    i cannot IMAGINE why y\’all would keep rats as pets…except they ARE deceptively cute looking.  Bet old Harvey the wonder Hamster will go a-roamin no more!
     
    Big hugs!

    Reply

  10. suzy
    Aug 24, 2008 @ 05:41:12

    yanno, that IS a pretty sweet set-up…reminds me of an old airstream travel trailor.  LOL
     

    Reply

  11. DragonBoy
    Aug 25, 2008 @ 15:40:29

     
    Heeeeeeeeey wotcha Steph…. yeah, i know… it\’s like me and stuff. I decided to drop by cos your like my friend or something and i\’ve been deffing you out and shit… but honest it\’s not my fault.  i\’ve had to be all responsible izzunit but i\’m glad your like well and stuff and into looking after hamsters cos they\’re like fluffy… although i had one once and he bit and finger and made it bleed and stuff so i don\’t really like them and have a fear of them…
     
    Thanks for pointing out the sign.  I was wondering why my t-shirts were riding up at the front … i thought i\’d put them on back to front… what aload off my mind.
     
    ***cheeky winks and over-familiar hugs***
     
    DB xxx

    Reply

  12. Aisha
    Aug 25, 2008 @ 15:54:22

    I just had a vision of Sylvester and Tweety. Poor hamster! Thanks for the comment.

    Reply

  13. Jess
    Aug 26, 2008 @ 08:18:23

    Ok I think it\’s a mix of dumb hamsters and super smart cats ya got there ! You are braver than me, no way in hell would I willingly bring rodents into my house lmfao !

    Reply

  14. KatSoup
    Aug 26, 2008 @ 22:40:47

    I was looking at the photo\’s Gauge looks exhausted after all that yard work!!  How much does he charge?  ALL the babies are precious,

    Reply

  15. KatSoup
    Aug 26, 2008 @ 22:41:05

    I was looking at the photo\’s Gauge looks exhausted after all that yard work!!  How much does he charge?  ALL the babies are precious,

    Reply

  16. DragonBoy
    Aug 27, 2008 @ 13:25:25

     
    Heeeeeey Steph… thanks so much for the recipie.  Looks like Friday is D-Day for those babies although I\’ve been having fun translating some of the ingredients from Americanese…
     
    Major Hugs for that…
     
     
    DB xxx

    Reply

  17. Lola
    Aug 30, 2008 @ 06:56:57

    Huh….they have a better set-up than me.  They get a wheel and tube thingy to climb thru.  Looks like a good gig to me. 

    Reply

  18. Ms Noanie
    Sep 01, 2008 @ 05:47:39

    So how is the Kitty zoo doing these days ? :-)  Hope you enjoy your Labor Day!  Peace

    Reply

  19. David
    Sep 07, 2008 @ 16:41:47

    The rodent isn\’t the guilty party here.  Sheesh!  Blame the victim!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

