Hi there!

I’m back! Other than missing my children and furry kids, I’m not sure why I’m happy to be home. lol
 
When I left Boise it was 106, and I landed in Seattle to 68 degrees. The whole month I was there, I think 78 was as hot as it got.
 
It is one of THE most gorgeous places on Earth. Lush green, mild summer temps and when it rained it was a slight drizzle or mist. I drove back home and the Snoqualmie Pass was even more, (if possible) beautiful than the Seattle area.
 
I forgot my camera, but ended up buying a disposable, and I hope some of the photos will be good ones.
 
Most of my time was spent taking care of Gauge, but, I did take some time to myself.
The Seattle Art Museum is having an exhibition of Impressionist Artists. I really love Impressionist paintings.
 
There’s something so wonderful, exciting, about being able to get up close (close enough to touch, if I wanted to get arrested…) and see the actual brush strokes that were made by Renoir, Monet, Mary Cassatt, Cezanne, etc.
 
I found that I love, Monet, but not Manet, and a print of a Renoir can never, ever, be as breathtakingly beautiful as the real thing. I’m a long time fan of Renoir, but the whole collection was fantastic. It’s talent and beauty that feeds my soul.
 
I took my time and spent most of the day in the museum. I enjoyed most of the permanent collections they have. It’s amazing to think that a vase, etc, was made by some one over 500 years before Christ was born, and yet, there I was looking at it all these years later.
 
There was a very cool Cat head figure from Egypt. I wish they made a reproduction for the gift shop.
 
When I was finished I walked around Pikes Place Market, and downtown.
 
I ate at the museum. They have a restaurant, "Taste," I was there during happy hour, which was fun because the portions were small and I could taste several things. I had the, griddled cheese sandwich (3 kinds of cheese) and roasted tomato soup, a cheesy leek dip (cheddar and smoked curado cheese gratin) and for dessert I tried their, stone fruit panzanella with creme fraiche. I took some of it home but ate all the dessert. I was soooooooooo good!
 

HAPPY HOUR DAILY FROM 3PM-6PM. ALL ITEMS $5

oysters on the half shell | black pepper granita* 2.5 each

rosemary frites & rémoulade 5

griddled cheese & roasted tomato soup 8

pork sliders | skagit river ranch bbq pork, pickled cucumber, slaw 9

heads & hooves terrine | braised pork in gelée, tarragon mustard, cornichons 9

cheesy leeks | beecher’s cheddar & smoked curado gratin 8

tuna melt | st. jude albacore tartare, brioche, three lily soubise* 10

curry mussels | coconut milk, lemongrass, thai basil 11

woodstone pizza | smoked paprika salumi, savory goat cheese, tomato confit & arugula pinenut toss 11

alsatian style flatbread | local fromage blanc, caramelized onion, bacon 10

salumi board | daily selection, castelvetrano olives 11

mini organic beef burger & frites* | cumin gouda, dijon aioli, pickled jalapeño* 6 | 9 | 12

local cheese | 6 | 9 | 12

mt. townsend creamery "cirrus" – cow’s milk | parsley-almond pesto

quillisascut "ash tome" – goat’s milk | fresh cherry & port compote

the rogue creamery "rogue river blue" – cow’s milk | tiny’s organic apple

stone fruit panzanella | crème fraîche 7

inside out sassafras float l sassafras ice cream, vanilla soda, vanilla cookies 7

craig hetherington l executive chef

zack chamberlain l sous chef

18% gratuity is added to parties of 6 or more.

| *Washington State Department of Health would like you to know that foods served raw or undercooked may pose a health risk

 
I then went to my favorite store in the Chinatown area, Uwajimaya’s. About a block from Uwajimaya’s is a little store that sells crepes. You can buy them sweet or savory filled. I bought some for everyone to have either later that night or in the morning. I had strawberry, with custard and whipped cream. My son and his girlfriend had a filling of bananas, custard, chocolate and whipped cream. Lil guy had strawberry and whipped cream. It’s called, Unicorn Crepes. I recommend you try them if you are in the area.
 
That night was a big parade downtown and I got caught in it just as it was starting. The way I was supposed to take to get back to the apartments was blocked off. Thank heavens for GPS!
 
I’m not going to go into the drama and other crap that went on while I was there… at least until I’m more calm about it. I will say that my son and Gauge are here at home for awhile, and although it was not her first choice, his girlfriend came with us all.
 
Nick, my son broke his hand about a week ago. It was such a bad break that they put pins and mesh to heal it. He’s out of commission for at least a month or two from what they have told us.
 
Even with having Dekeon here (now age 3) it seems that I need to rethink just how "child proof" the house is. Gauge (20 months) is finding all kinds of things that I didn’t notice… but, it’s so good to have him here!
 
Thanks for checking on me, and for your love, prayers and support. I feel very fortunate to have such wonderful friends. BIG HUGS, Steph

16 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Laoch
    Jul 31, 2008 @ 23:59:56

    Renoir rules!

    Reply

  2. ZePp...
    Aug 01, 2008 @ 05:03:45

    Welcome back   :=D

    Reply

  3. Teri
    Aug 01, 2008 @ 06:03:01

    Welcome home – I 2nd the idea that Washington State is one of the most beautiful!!!  I spent a bit of time in Mount Vernon and it is amazingly gorgeous!!
     
    Sorry to hear about Nick\’s hand.
     
    Enjoyed the trip recap!
     
    God Bless!
    Teri

    Reply

  4. Kim
    Aug 01, 2008 @ 09:59:47

    If I didn\’t mind the constant rain, I would love to move to Seattle to get away from the heat!  I was impressed with it\’s beauty, as well, when I was there a couple years back.  The museum sounds breathtaking the way you describe it – thanks for sharing your experience!!  Happy hour sounds like a blast!  Take care Chica!

    Reply

  5. Jane
    Aug 01, 2008 @ 10:42:03

    Glad you are back.  106?  It\’s not even that hot down here.  What gives?

    Reply

  6. Jean
    Aug 01, 2008 @ 22:58:20

    Finally!! Glad you\’re back!You haven\’t even been good at answering worried emails!!!! Don\’t need sign language yet, but have to talk to the correct side!!!LOL Can\’t wait to see some new pics of that baby! IM me soon!!
    hugs,
    Jean

    Reply

  7. Litespreader
    Aug 03, 2008 @ 15:51:05

    Stephie!! Glad you made it back.. with all the difficulties, you foundall the beautiful things you could feast on there.. what a gal.  I justlove you, girl.  I have immense respect for you.  I\’m sure all the critters missed you, big!  106 is just ridiculous.. sorry you\’re in that.I feel so sorry for myself here.. and it\’s mostly because of the hothumidity.. but it has stayed below 100, so far.  I hope you continueto feast on your wonderful memories from that place. 😉 love,t

    Reply

  8. Ms Noanie
    Aug 03, 2008 @ 18:45:44

    Love that song!  As T mentioned, I\’m glad you found some positives while you were there.
    I was getting very hungry while reading your blog!  Glad you are back!

    Reply

  9. Jess
    Aug 06, 2008 @ 05:56:28

    Seattle is SO amazing, I\’m jealous . I haven\’t been in 14 years.
     
    Those boys are gonna keep you on your toes ! Hahahahahaha !

    Reply

  10. Lola
    Aug 06, 2008 @ 06:43:19

    OMG….Impressionism rocks!  Yes, Renoir is incredible.  I love Degas too. 
     
    I just love going to art museums.  It is one of my most favorite things to do.  It always lifts my spirit, refreshes my soul.  I love it!
     
    Never been to Seattle.  Sounds like it is a beautiful place to visit.
     
     
     
     

    Reply

  11. Ms Noanie
    Aug 07, 2008 @ 11:27:25

    I don\’t know Step – do you have a brother that lives in Easton, PA?  Because that\’s where the Italian meatball was from.  Oh well, that\’s all history now.  Onto other things.

    Reply

  12. m.
    Aug 08, 2008 @ 16:22:58

    Hey Steph,
     
    its storm……….posted something new and crazy on my site but only for a laugh….truth is there but in a humorous way……
     
    Hope all is well with yo and your family
     
    Storm………..x

    Reply

  13. Litespreader
    Aug 09, 2008 @ 17:39:55

    Thank you, sweet sister.. for always encouraging me to be myself. love,t

    Reply

  14. KatSoup
    Aug 09, 2008 @ 20:00:54

    I have always wanted to see Seattle.  You describe it exactly as I imagined.  I would have loved to spend the day with you at the museam.  I am sure it is nice to have the family back home where you know everyone is safe.  I got some scary news about my sons health and I wish he were closer.
    You are a strong woman and I know everything will work out eventually.  The babies are lucky🙂

    Reply

  15. SAAM
    Aug 10, 2008 @ 00:35:56

    Art Museums are the best

    Reply

  16. suzy
    Aug 10, 2008 @ 06:48:01

    sounds just wonderful!  I\’m looking forward to finding all those sorts of pleasures in Boston soon..cept the kids.  Those I\’m leaving in Texas *sniff*.  Welcome home!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

