Future Son-in-laws and Homeless in Seattle

I have a photo posted of my "future" son-in-law… Gabe, he’s 4 yrs old and in love with my oldest daughter (she’s 16). LOL
 
His older sister a friend of my daughters. Their family was talking the other night about how important it was to find the right person, and falling in love… He spoke up and said, "I already found MY girl… Alaura!"
 
I took their picture last year, so, I told them that I needed to take their picture again. Nate is all for it, Gabe starts to walk away saying, no…. I tell him, "it’s for Alaura…"
He turned right around and posed nicely…
 
My son Nick is a big Jimi Hendrix fan, so, I took him to Renton, where he’s buried and they have the Memorial. I posted a few photos of that too.
 
 
On a different note… The other night when I was in Seattle, I went down to Pikes Place to show Amber (she’s never been.) Parking there is a nightmare. I found a lot that was 10.00, but it was only open for 2 more hours. While I was reading the info on the pay box, I had a homeless guy come up and tell me that for 3.00 I could park on the street for 2 hours and some one was just pulling out. He offered to stand in the space so I could get to it. I took him up on his offer.
He didn’t ask me for anything, and he reminded me of a friend of my husband’s who’s bipolar when he’s off his meds.
Amber was freaked out that I would even talk to him. I appreciated his help.
I bought him coffee and a sandwich. While I was inside the place he found Amber and was talking to her. He asked where she was from and she told him, Santa Rosa, CA. He was familiar with the area… which really freaked her out.
I was going to go find him to give him the food, but he was with Amber. I could see the panic on her face, so I gave it to him and we left.
He was so excited and grateful for the food. I know I don’t have to deal with homeless all the time, so maybe that’s why I can be calm about it, but it was embarrassing to hear what other people were calling and saying to the homeless in the area.
 
Just thinking…. BIG HUGS, Steph

12 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Jane
    May 29, 2008 @ 15:23:20

    You have been busy!  Seattle sounds like fun!
     

    Reply

  2. Lola
    May 29, 2008 @ 17:37:31

    What a beautiful and lovely act of kindness.  You are truly a very nice person. :)

    Reply

  3. David
    May 31, 2008 @ 10:39:07

    Well, back out of jail, I see.  So your son is buried in Renton, or Jimi is?   I like that you were able to see the man amongst the homelessness.  Some of the street folks are pushy and offensive, and some are not – not everyone is a threat.  Nice of you to buy the guy a meal – did he look like a cat or something? 

    Reply

  4. Greg
    May 31, 2008 @ 13:07:07

     
    Hi Steph…
    Good to read that you all made it to Seattle.
    Food is the best thing to give homeless other than money.
    You all be well and may all those crooked roads be straightened out.
    It\’s nice having summertime here and getting some flowers planted.
    Greg
     

    Reply

  5. KatSoup
    May 31, 2008 @ 23:44:22

    I know it was sad for the baby to move away.  What a shame that parents can not be encouraging.  I hope they are very happy in thier new home.
    its good to have you back!

    Reply

  6. Jess
    Jun 01, 2008 @ 07:48:06

    Step–
    im sorry that you have been through such hell lately ! I am glad that you\’re back though , we missed you ! and bob obviously needs a chaperone lmao.
     
    hey i love this song—its my myspace song !
     
    hugs
     
    jess

    Reply

  7. Ms Noanie
    Jun 01, 2008 @ 13:54:30

    Wow, have you had a chance to breathe yet?  I love your pictures – beautiful waterfall!  And you further bolstered why I like you – your kindness to the homeless person.  It takes a big person to do what you did.
     
    Thank you for your kind and encouraging words.  I\’ve been through this stage before when I went through my divorce and I just hate it.  Its as if my emotions have taken control of me and I\’m helpless against them.  I\’m coming back as a man in my next life for just that reaon!  Oh yea, and so I can pee standing up!  I haven\’t lost my sense of humor – yet.
     
    Peace

    Reply

  8. nodope
    Jun 03, 2008 @ 10:30:40

     
    \’morning Steph,
     
    Thanks for the encouragement. My pics are of things that catch my eye and most often things about which I know nothing. That would explain why your comment taught me what Honeysuckle looks like :o)
     
    You never know who\’s looking/listening and what they might learn from you. I\’ve seen you around – primarily at Bob\’s place – and am glad you ventured over to mine. Welcome!
     
    Joel
     

    Reply

  9. R U Serious
    Jun 03, 2008 @ 12:12:44

    You are always so kind and warmhearted!!  What you did for that homeless man will be remembered!  Glad you had fun in Seattle!  You deserved it!!! 
     
    I saw you on IM this morning and accidently blocked you! Damn!! I NEVER want to do that!!  Sounds like things are going better for you!!
     
    Later (K)(L)
     

    Reply

  10. Ms Noanie
    Jun 04, 2008 @ 12:42:19

    I don\’t remember checking out public bathrooms when I was a kid, but my son, oh boy, EVERY place we went he was in the bathroom.  When we\’d eat out he\’d be in there for 1/2 hour sometimes – usually playing in the sink.  When I was a kid my younger sisiter had to check out the bathroom everywhere we went and when she came out she\’d give us a full description of it.  Too funny.

    Reply

  11. m.
    Jun 04, 2008 @ 13:24:55

    Hey Steph,
     
    The machine is still around.  Hows your family – all good I hope
     
    Was in New York and New Jersey last month – great…………
     
    Storm………………x

    Reply

  12. DragonBoy
    Jun 05, 2008 @ 08:26:41

     
    Heeeeeeeeeeey Steph… A man likes to keep a bit of mystery about him sometimes…. drives the ladies wild… so does the peg leg… don\’t tell anyone it\’s fake and I have the rest of my leg folded back and hidden up my trousers… the ladies would never go for that and I\’d be run out of town as a fake and a fraud…
     
    No worries about using the last of the milk… FREEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEZE… and the choccie cake had your name on anyway.  Glad you found it.
     
    ***HUGS RIGHT BACK ATCHA***
     
    DB

    Reply

Leave a Reply

