Happy Spring thoughts

I am sick to death of sickness and death. Losing loved ones and friends is never easy, I just wish it hadn’t been so often and close to each other.
My dear friend Mary Ann died last week. She’s been fighting cancer, and the last time we visited, I asked what I could do. She told me that she was ready to go home, and to pray for God to take her. I know she’s happy and no longer in pain, but the selfish part of me misses her and is feeling sorry for myself.
I could go on, there are more deaths, and serious illnesses in the family and among friends, but I’m not going to.
 
I hereby forbid any of you from getting sick and or dying. There now, you don’t want to upset me, so, you all have to stay healthy and alive! lol
 
I’m trying to focus on the positive. Hence the goofy music I’ll be playing on here. I hope that no one will be offended, especially by Monday’s song of "Mama’s got her boobs out."
 
Sooooo…. Today is gorgeous and should get up to 65 degrees!
 
Yesterday I got a phone call from my bank. I won a Nintendo Wii! My hubby is pissed because he was the one that put my name in, (after he put his in) but I won. lol
 
I see all kinds of bulbs and flowers getting ready to bloom.
 
My children are all healthy and happy.
 
I live in a beautiful world with friends that are even more beautiful, wonderful and loving.
 
Please add to my list, and tell me something positive, fun or funny. Laughter is the BEST!
 
BIG HUGS, Steph

8 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Jean
    Apr 12, 2008 @ 14:20:28

    You read my funny.. made ya laugh!! But I\’ll give you more.. you have several bloggy friends that love you and are here for you.. Gauge is a walking miracle, getting bigger and more beautiful every day.. Dekeon may exhaust you, but at least you get to see him.. many grandparents don\’t. You got to be with Mary Ann and know how precious the time was…
    And you just finished a fun road trip with kids to see kids..you\’re just blessed all over with kids!! Even if they\’re not always such a big blessing! Many people would give their right arm to have the kids you have, because they have none, or none left… 
    I agree, I\’m just sick to death of depression, crime, illness, death.. it\’s SPRING!! And time for all things new!
    BIG OL\’ SQUISHY HUGS!!
    Jean

    Reply

  2. Teri
    Apr 12, 2008 @ 19:07:49

    I could give all the platitudes in the world, but only platitudes of Heaven can really heal!  Think of Mary Ann as having left her cocoon and is now a butterfly flying free and beautiful!
    God Bless
    Teri

    Reply

  3. Ms Noanie
    Apr 13, 2008 @ 09:33:17

    Steph, I\’m sorry for your loss.  Have a good cry and do what you need to do to get through.  You are in my prayers.  Peace.

    Reply

  4. DragonBoy
    Apr 14, 2008 @ 04:51:59

    Wotcha Steph… Thanks for the bite… HEHE… I am slightly bruised so not so hard next time ok?… Perhaps in my case it should be \’NIBBLE ME!!!!!\’ except it doesn\’t scan in the song so we\’ll leave the song as it is and I\’ll just have to shout over the top of it when listening to it… which is normally when I\’m driving or walking round the shops… or at work… I may be able to get away with shouting \’NIBBLE ME!!!\’ while driving cos I can zoooooooooooooooooom on my merry little way… walking round the shops or at work may not be so good…. although if I was ever in your neck of the woods (wherever that may be), or you mine, you\’d be left in no doubt that it was me and then you could rush up and do it in person… we may get arrested for lewd behaviour but I can\’t think of many people I\’d prefer to spend time doing porridge with so job\’s a good \’un…. I\’ll be round shortly…
     
    Something positive…. hhhmmmmmmmmmmmm…. well, this weekend I was introduced (mainly by myself while wandering around the supermarket looking for something new to try) to Ma Braeburns Pancakes.  Now I looooooooooooooove pancakes but I normally only have them once a year… bet you can\’t guess which day… that\’s right… June 16th…
    Well I couldn\’t wait this year and I saw them and they were staring at me with wide-eyed sadness and whimpering \’Buy Meeeeee… Buy Meeeeee…\’ so how could I refuse.  Anyhooops…
     
    Whacked them in the microwave for 30 seconds…
    Smeared on some Natural Greek Style Yoghurt…
    Also put some Greek Style Yoghurt on the pancake along with some chopped up peaches
    Rolled it up…
    Et Voila!
     
    Darn good eatin\’…  Once we\’ve been released on bail you\’ll have to come back to mine and I\’ll make you some…  I have trouble eating all 6 in one sitting (I managed it though… good job I had my trousers with the elasticated waistband on) so you can help me out.
     
    ***Hugs***
     
    DB x
     
     
     

    Reply

  5. Lola
    Apr 14, 2008 @ 17:12:58

    Oh my….I am so sorry to hear about your friend. 
     
    Upon relfection, you so right when you wrote about all the things that make you laugh, smile  and feel joy.  It is all about the simple things in life.  Try to be a good person and love those in your life the best you can… and I would say that is a beautiful life, no?  I do. 🙂
     
    One of the things  that makes me happy are lovely songs….like  the Carpenters, "Close to You".  I have to get happy, silly and giddy when I hear it played. 
     
    Btw, it was nice to talk to you on Messenger.  A pleasant surprise.
     
     

    Reply

  6. Litespreader
    Apr 14, 2008 @ 17:18:34

    Oh boy, Steph.. weeeee!  Glad you won, especially with his pen.You deserve so much more by his doing.. just my opinion.Let\’s see.. fun, or funny..    A couple lived near the ocean and used to walk the beach a lot. Onesummer they noticed a girl who was at the beach almost every day. Shewasn\’t unusual, nor was the travel bag she carried, except for onething; she would approach people who were sitting on the beach, glancearound furtively,then speak to them.Generally, the people would respond negatively and she would wander off.But occasionally someone would nod and there would be a quick exchangeof money and something she carried in her bag.The couple assumed that she was selling drugs and debated calling thecops, but since they didn\’t know for sure, they just continued to watchher.After a couple of weeks the wife said, "Honey, have you ever noticedthat she only goes up to people with boom boxes and other electronicdevices?"He hadn\’t — and said so.Then she said, "Tomorrow I want you to get a towel and our big radio andgo lie out on the beach. Then we can find out what she\’s really doing."Well, the plan went off without a hitch and the wife was almost hoppingup & down with anticipation when she saw the girl talk to her husbandand then leave.The man then walked up the beach and met his wife at the road."Well, Is she selling drugs?" she asked excitedly."No, she\’s not," he said, enjoying this probably more than he shouldhave."Well, what is it then? What does she do ?" his wife fairly shrieked.The man grinned and said, "She\’s a battery salesperson.""Batteries?" cried the wife."Yes …" he repliedSCROLL DOWNOOO OOOOH – You\’re gonna dislike me for this…She sells C cells down by the seashore.

    Reply

  7. Raven
    Apr 15, 2008 @ 19:18:36

    I\’m not wearing pants.
    What? That\’s not postive, fun or funny?  I guess that depends on where you are sitting…
    You\’re awesome!!  Let\’s dance!
    Much love~R

    Reply

  8. Laoch
    Apr 18, 2008 @ 02:00:28

    Each day since I almost died I try to find something beautiful in the ordinary and eventually I realized that the beauty is in the quest.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

