Just thinking, and remembering

I’ve been thinking of my beloved Hawaii.
Certain songs, sounds, and smells remind me of being there.
I love the people, and the gorgeous islands.
I think it’s wonderful that they teach children to sing and perform as part of school curriculum. I’ve been the happy recipient of "Hawaiian serenades" (Art K. you have NO idea what you did, when you sang to me.) LOL
This week I’m playing "Iz" (Israel Kamakawiwoʻole).
I’m sure most, if not all of you have heard his version of "Somewhere over the rainbow."
I adore his voice, and it’s so sad that we lost him too soon. He had so much talent, but, died too young.
To me, his voice IS Hawaii… beautiful, soothing, gorgeous. BIG HUGS, Steph

14 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Jane
    Jan 31, 2008 @ 16:25:21

    *Sigh*

    Reply

  2. Jade
    Jan 31, 2008 @ 17:24:00

    Hugs… I don\’t blame you for missing paradise..

    Reply

  3. Teri
    Jan 31, 2008 @ 17:55:18

    I had no idea that your roots were in Hawaii – how you must miss it!! Maybe one day you will return.
    Hugs and blessings!
    Teri

    Reply

  4. Delete52Mitch
    Jan 31, 2008 @ 18:15:33

    What about "Tiny Bubbles"? Don Ho will live forever!

    Reply

  5. Greg
    Jan 31, 2008 @ 18:26:22

     
    Oh how I need to get back to Kona.
     
    I can tell you tired of winter and all your snow!!!
     
    Stay warm,
     
    Gregster
     

    Reply

  6. Litespreader
    Jan 31, 2008 @ 19:58:49

    I\’ll see it some day, even if only in my dreams..😉

    Reply

  7. ZePp...
    Jan 31, 2008 @ 20:04:19

    Never been but sure want to go.
    Even want to temp my luck by bring back some volcano rock.  I have heard they get tons of the stuff shipped back to them every year from tourist that suddenly have "bad" luck, after bring it back from vacation. Intersting to find out just how true it is.
     
    Stay warm !!! I feel ur pain about the cold n snow..😉
    I even stood outside and held my bic lighter up in the air.. didnt do a damn thing to warm things up :-(  LOL
    What can I say…. I was desperate !!!!
     
    ZePp

    Reply

  8. Nooner™
    Feb 02, 2008 @ 07:43:12

     
    Hi Steph,
     
    I\’ve never been to Hawaii, but understand how captivating those islands must be to all who visit. Hey, it is Groundhog Day as I write this, so let\’s hope for an early Spring to all of us in variouis parts of the northern United States!
     
    ~Nooner~
     

    Reply

  9. Unknown
    Feb 02, 2008 @ 13:42:08

    Hello,
     
    I would think twice about going to Hawaii! Its not all its cracked up to be! More like an over expensive, tacky tourist trap with people that just want your money, if they dont get it-then you are just a \’mainlander\’ or a \’haole\’.
     

    Reply

  10. JUDGE
    Feb 03, 2008 @ 00:56:38

    Greetings, For Indictment # 008-1-A in MSN Internet Court; by the power invested unto me by Bill Gates, I hereby pronounce the following: In lieu of the fact that OXIGEN is in Germany, cannot be extradited and can\’t translate into English worth a shit; the Court has tried him in ABSENTIA and found him Guilty! May the lord have mercy on Oxigen!!! The SENTENCE will be carried out by the "HEAVYWEIGHTS\’!!! Judge C. Qwaylood presiding

    Reply

  11. t i m
    Feb 04, 2008 @ 09:28:32

    As the saying goes, the good die young.

    Reply

  12. JUDGE
    Feb 04, 2008 @ 18:14:50

    I\’ve got a high profile trial in my courtroom! Come and watch.

    Reply

  13. Kim
    Feb 05, 2008 @ 09:21:17

    I\’m with ya sister!!!  I cried when it was time to come home from our honeymoon.  It\’s truly heaven on earth! ….Although a bit expensive.  And IZ?  LOVE him!  We bought the cd while we were there.  Isn\’t it amazing how many movies/tv shows "Over the Rainbow" shows up in?  Take care Chica~
     

    Reply

  14. suzy
    Feb 07, 2008 @ 08:57:12

    I\’ve never been to Hawaii…but I\’m planning to make it a priority soon.  I LOVE \’Brother Iz\’…his \’rainbow\’ is one of my \’happy\’ songs.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

