Thank you ma’am, may I have another???

This has been an unusual weekend… I’m actually glad it’s over.
 
I’ve had a head cold from heck, which has turned into a sinus infection and, I spent most of Saturday with my oldest daughter and the girls fast pitch softball team, making Christmas wreaths.
 
They needed new uniforms and some genius had the idea to have the girls sell, then make Christmas wreaths.
 
I’ll be nice and say… it’s a good thing that most of the wreaths were purchased by and going to the girl’s family members.
 
We had to make 5 of them. The raw materials were real fir, pine, cedar, and holly branches, which we had to wire onto a frame. By the time we were done, my hands and fingers were sore and cut to shreds.
 
It’s for a good cause…. it’s for a good cause….. lol
 
From there I went to our local ER.
 
A few days before I had stepped on a piece of glass (cat on counter, cat knocks glass off of counter, Steph thinks that she got all the glass cleaned up but was sadly mistaken)
 
I had a small piece that I couldn’t get out, and it was driving me crazy.
 
It was my lucky day… "Nurse Ratched" was working!
My love and apologies to my dear friend Jean, but, I’m thinking that most nurses are sadists!
 
First she has me soak my foot… no problem. Then she has me turn over on my stomach and she says, "Well IF I have to do much digging, I’ll numb you up." 
I’m thinking… IF??? DIGGING???
 
She proceeds to dig for the piece of glass in the bottom of my foot.
 
I’m pretty tough, but after a few deep digs I let out a, yelp, to which she says… "Yep it’s in too deep, I’m gonna numb you up."
 
Sheesh, YA THINK???
 
She comes back in the room and gives that ol, "You’ll feel a slight prick and a sting…"
 
HOLY #$%&!!!!  SWEET @#$$#%^&#$!!!  SON OF A #%$(*!!!
 
One of the nurses that knows me personally says, "Steph, I think you left nail marks in the vinyl of the bed!"
 
She’s lucky I didn’t leave a foot mark in the face of that other nurse! Giving birth was less painful than that shot.
 
I was told later that she went in the cut, under the glass and was for all intents and purposes digging and wiggling the needle.
 
They are just lucky that I’m not big on swearing or the poor little boy on the other side of the curtain would have heard some really nice words!
 
I was thinking them though….
 
Once I was numbed up they got the glass out fast and easy.
 
Then before I could have a really righteous pity party, I hear that they have an x-ray on it’s way back for them to look at…  It seems that there was a gentleman there who had shot a huge nail into his foot… Kinda ruined  my feeling sorry for myself… lol
 
This week has got to be better… right?? BIG HUGS, Steph

28 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. t i m
    Dec 02, 2007 @ 23:57:56

    I\’ve it on good authority that seeing one\’s favourite football team lose a big game is far more painful than childbirth let alone a teeny weeny glass in the foot.:)

    Reply

  2. Litespreader
    Dec 03, 2007 @ 03:43:55

    You poor, poor girl!  That is aweful, Stephie.. I\’m glad it\’s over.There are so many nerve ending in the bottom of the foot.. andthey\’re covered by thick skin, so we don\’t feel them.  Unless someone digs a needle in there.  Ouch.  Glad you\’re done with thewreaths, too.. is your house decorated yet?  I\’ll bet you make itreally beautiful.. have a great time.. love,t

    Reply

  3. suzy
    Dec 03, 2007 @ 08:36:30

    oh, gad, Steph…it\’s making me queasy just readin it.  *bleah*
     
    thanks for the favor…I DO appreciate it.
     
    luv and hugs…
    ps~if we don\’t hear from Kay today, I\’m calling tonight.

    Reply

  4. Jade
    Dec 03, 2007 @ 16:30:53

    Grrrrrrrr!!!!!stupid unfeeling -!!!!!Been there.me-water on the knee-Huge syringe  -crying hystericallyNASTY cold doctor. even the nurse was shocked at her attitude.HUGsss -glass is mean

    Reply

  5. R U Serious
    Dec 03, 2007 @ 16:48:20

    \’Nurse Ratchet\’!!  HAHAHAHA!!!  But seriously, I would think it would be standard procedure to numb you up BEFORE the digging started.  I do hope it\’s feeling much better today and that nasty cold is gone.
     
    XO, Bob~

    Reply

  6. Jane
    Dec 03, 2007 @ 21:55:50

    Did you and that nurse ever have man-trouble?  Sounds like she was out to give you yours.
    As for the man with the nail?  If someone else shot it, feel sorry for him.  If it was self-inflicted, just assume he is a little smarter now and move on.
    Hope you are hopping around in no time!

    Reply

  7. White
    Dec 04, 2007 @ 09:43:48

    I am back writing…where is Mikey?

    Reply

  8. David
    Dec 04, 2007 @ 13:50:41

    I never found that awareness of anyone else\’s difficulties made my own any less.  There is one BIG palliating factor when someone shoots a nail into his foot.  It is not MY foot. The tiniest pain or cut in my body ois far worse in my scheme of things than the wiping out of a small nation of other people.  The fact that your ordeal was cused by a cat leaves me with a number of thoughts, none o which I will share and many of whiich you will intuit.  As to wreathes, i thought they were sort of easy – glad to be warned so i don\’t undertake any such effort.  Glad a weekend is over…wonder what that would eel like…

    Reply

  9. David
    Dec 04, 2007 @ 13:54:09

    Will I ever learn to proofread these things?

    Reply

  10. Jim
    Dec 04, 2007 @ 14:05:08

    Looks like you are tugging at everyones heart strings! Maybe except Tim, I\’m not sure about football pain, or did the foot thing get confused.
    Jim

    Reply

  11. Litespreader
    Dec 04, 2007 @ 18:56:16

    Hey Stephie.. have you heard anything on Edgie??

    Reply

  12. ZePp...
    Dec 04, 2007 @ 19:42:59

    So THATS where ya been huh girlie ?
     
    Have you ever heard of a product called "Smile\’s PRID" Its a homopathic salve.  It happens to be a GREAT drawing save…. means it will "draw" things out of your body.  If you ever get something like that stuck in a foot or something again… put a little dab of this salve on a band-aid… place band-aid over the wound.. n within 1 – 2 days at most it will be atleast where you can reach it with tweezers if not on the band-aid when you change it.
     
    Remember those old protractors they gave us in scholl back in the old days… small piece of pointed metal in a clamp.. with a small pencil in the other end….???  I found one of the small pointed metal pieces in a shag carpet back in the 70\’s.. with my middle TOE … jammed it in so far tweezers couldnt get to it.  PRID broght it out far enough to get to it.
    Also can use it on pimples to help bring them to a head.. small cuts is also good for..boils.. it draws the infection to the surface.  NOT to be used on any deep gashed open wounds… See a Dr. for that😉
     
    Sorry for the length n I didnt even get to tease ya about ur interest in the Stooge question I posed.. LMAO
     
    Hope ur feeling alot better now hun.  If you cant find any PRID in the drugstores let me know.. I will send ya some😉
     
    ZePp

    Reply

  13. ZePp...
    Dec 04, 2007 @ 19:50:08

    sorrry… forgot to answer your ?   
     
    Doing pretty good hun.. always kinda bad time of year for me.. but overall cant complain😀
    I survived that wreck.. no perm damage..  ( I was always this crazy ;)    ) So overall.. been a great yr for me.. smashed.. ummm .. motorcycle ( couldnt say the other things that got smashed :(   ) and all    LOL

    Reply

  14. jenna
    Dec 06, 2007 @ 00:29:46

    Hey there!
    car gallery, huh?
    those cars have nothing on my Porsche Boxster, though.
     
    Lol!

    Reply

  15. EdgyKay
    Dec 06, 2007 @ 12:10:26

     
    Steph! It\’s good to see YOU haven\’t lost the zest! I\’ve enjoyed catching up on you, your life, and your loved ones. Daffodil Mouse told me you\’d asked for my phone number, and of course I gave her my permission. I look forward to hearing from you, if you so choose.
     
    Thanks for your concern — unnecessary though it was. Take care of yourself, and kick that sinus infection. Were you at least able to pick up some decent pain pills at the ER? Sometimes, that makes it allllll better.
     
     

    Reply

  16. Vicky
    Dec 06, 2007 @ 16:30:08

    Hi Steph,

    Just stopping in to drop off a little gift for you. It\’s not the one that I am using for the guestbook event. This is one that I made today while I had a little time on my hands. That\’s something that I\’m not used to having these days. But I really need the practice in PSP…lol. Hope that you enjoy it.
    Hugs!!

    ~~Vicky~~

    Reply

  17. Gordon
    Dec 06, 2007 @ 17:39:30

    Speaking of Nurse Rached; American Movie Classics has been runing One Flue Over The Coco\’s Nest." It had been decades sence I had seen the movie. I\’ve known a few nurses like her before too.
     
    Here in LA "Lower Alabama" we don\’t have to worry about snow..lol…
     
    I just finished watched "Tin Man" on the SCI Fi Channel. I wonder if my old friend would like a copy of it. The old frined I never see on line anymore. The one who didn\’t want me to disapear…lol..
     
    In The move "The Christmas Story" The curse word of edited.. "Oh Fudge" now isn\’t that  better then the other F word…lol

    Reply

  18. Greg
    Dec 06, 2007 @ 18:29:55

    That foot story made me skittish to read …But I must admit you laying on your stomach with foot able tickle would be tempting with me in the room.Tickle … Tickle…Swoosh!!!Stay well Kitty Cat … GregFruit baskets work good for charitable events too.

    Reply

  19. Stephanie
    Dec 07, 2007 @ 10:43:25

    Tim, Spoken like a true sports fan. I\’ll arrange for you to have a baby… then we can talk! lmao
     
    Rain (Sis), I had no idea there were so many nerve endings in the foot. I go barefoot a lot, so I wasn\’t prepared for how much it would hurt! I have some decorations up, but, I have Dekeon with me this week and I\’m waiting to put up the tree. He\’s probably old enough to leave things alone, but, I\’ll wait. lol
     
    Mouse, Never a problem doing you a favor! TY for calling her and letting her know how much we miss her. Have you emailed me her number?
     
    Jade, You would think that they would have some compassion, and yet, there are those that don\’t. I wonder how kind they would be if WE got to stick them with a big needle!? lol
     
    Bob, That\’s what I thought too!
     
    Jane, I don\’t think I\’ve had anything to do with her man, or any man before…
    My first thought was that the nail was self inflicted. You know, men and their power tools. lol
     
    White Roses, As far as I know Mikey is in yahoo 360. It\’s been awhile since I\’ve heard from him, and I miss his crazy sense of humor. I\’ll try to let him know you are looking for him. (I think he\’s trying to get his poetry published)
     
    David, "The tiniest pain or cut in my body is far worse in my scheme of things than the wiping out of a small nation of other people. "  Spoken like a true man!  OH, your thoughts on the cat causing it… I did indeed "intuit." I know very well what was going through your head.
     
    Jim, HEY! Good to see you\’re alive! I wasn\’t going for sympathy as much as monetary donations… Dang lol
     
    Rain, She finally posted!
     
    Zeppers, Yep, that\’s where I\’ve been.
    I\’ve never heard of "prid" but I\’ll check around and see if I can find it.
    I found out that "Moe" had 2 children, a boy and a girl, but I couldn\’t find any pictures, which pissed me off, I wanted to see what they looked like!
    Glad you are doing better!
     
    Jenna, I\’ll take a boxter… lol
     
    Kay!!!!! I\’m so happy you\’re back! I will indeed call (as soon as I get the number.)
    I didn\’t get any good pain pills, BUT, I had a few on hand from another time… so, it was all good.
     
    Vicky, Thanks for the \’pretty!\’ It\’s great! I used to have psp. I\’m not sure what happened but, all I have left is animation shop. I wanted to make something the other day and couldn\’t, so, I guess I\’m going to have to get on the ball and find my CD.
     
    Gordon! I havn\’t been online much, between not feeling well, having a 3 yr old around, and a few other things that well, it\’s easier to be quiet when I\’m sick or scared.
    As far as OZ, you know me too well! I saw the advertisment for that and was sick that I wasn\’t going to be able to watch it. YES please, I\’d love a copy!
    I found a web site that has let me watch "Sliders," and "Firefly." I\’m now going to start watching "Farscape"… I\’m addicted. I\’ve always wanted to see those. Heck I may even watch Battlestar! I liked Firefly and I\’ll probably try and rent the movie, Serenity that goes with it.
    I\’m fine, dear friend, and I hope you are too.
    Oh Fudge IS better than the F word. lol
     
    Greg, Sooo you\’re a dangerous "tickle monster?"
    I hope you and your "little ones, who aren\’t so little any more" stay well, warm and loved.
    I\’m going to pass that idea on. I\’d much rather decorate a basket of fruit!
     
    BIG HUGS, Steph

    Reply

  20. ...
    Dec 08, 2007 @ 03:25:17

    You made me laugh out loud when I read about your response to the nurse taking out the glass. Sorry I knbow its not funny to have that happen to you but you described it so funny.
     
    Thank you for making me smile first thing in the morning, or where you are, last thing at night.
     
    Have a Christmassy week…….
     
     
    Love and hugs
     
    Chris

    Reply

  21. Lola
    Dec 08, 2007 @ 19:25:02

    You are very funny.  That was an hysterical post.   I have a freaky foot quirk. **shiver **  I want no one–I repeat, no one– to touch my feet or get near them because I am extremely ticklish there.  So the entire time, while  reading your post I got a case  of the heebie-geebies.  **shivers again**

    Reply

  22. Seth
    Dec 08, 2007 @ 22:23:12

                     .——-.               ( #-. . . .\’`\\                \\  #          |             _  )"====" | _           (_`"======"`_)             /`""""\’\’\’"""`\\            |               o _o\\            |                 (_>|             \\            \’.___/—#               \’.          ;-._:\’ \\                 )`===| <)_/     __      .—""`==== `–\’ \\__.\’   `|            I made myself a snowman    /                       ()\\            /            As perfect as could be.    \\___ .. —               \\ _  .-\’                I thought I\’d keep it as a pet           |                    () |                      And let it sleep with me.              ;                         ;                      I made it some pajamas            \\                  ()/                       And a pillow for its head.              \\             \’.  /                        Then, last night it ran away.          _.\’`\\             `;                   But first — it wet my damn bed!        (        `\\            \\_         \\       .-`\\            `\\           \\___)   `.______.\’
     

    Hello to you Cutie, from across the many miles… and snow banks!!!  Sorry that I have not paid your space a visit in a while.  As soon as I unthaw from these -36°C temps, I shall return to check your space out some more. 
    In the mean time… keep well my friend!  (((hugs)))

    Reply

  23. Unknown
    Dec 09, 2007 @ 02:17:01

    Megabrad is Mega Defeated!
    He brought it on himself with all the booze and the Drugs!
    Poor Brad……pooor, poor Bradley!

    Reply

  24. suzy
    Dec 09, 2007 @ 06:23:38

    Reply

  25. Jess
    Dec 10, 2007 @ 08:11:20

    Dude I would have totally dug that thing out myself lol. That poor guy and the nail, damn, but seriously people have to be careful with that shit !
     
    Hope your cold is gone and you foot and fingers are all better !!!

    Reply

  26. Jade
    Dec 10, 2007 @ 09:26:50

    LOL, right after I wrote that entry, and before I read any comments, an old friend called me & asked if I would like to get together.
    I wish he wasn\’t living in that town- it\’s a small town & the gossip is thick!

    Reply

  27. KatSoup
    Dec 11, 2007 @ 20:12:23

    hahaha I hate being at the Mercy of someone who may help me OR hurt me.
    Take care of that cut.  Seriously!

    Reply

  28. Nooner™
    Dec 12, 2007 @ 06:18:20

     
    Hi Steph,
     
    It was not fun to go through, I\’m sure, but you did have a good time writing about it .. lol. Too funny!
    The \’nail in the foot\’ reminds me of a military prank some of my friends played on another friend one day. He left his boots on the floor (instead of putting them away in his locker) so someone got the bright idea of taking a Nail Gun and shooting it through one of the boots and into the flooring. It was both mean and funny at the time.
    Happy December to ya!
     
    ~Nooner~
     

    Reply

Leave a Reply

