The “S” Word

Well, it finally happened. I woke up this morning to find… SNOW!
Those of you who know me, will understand that this is NOT a good thing. Yeah, yeah, it’s beautiful, yadda, yadda, yadda, but, people drive like idiots in it, especially when it’s the first snow of the season.
I hate driving in it, and I hate the idiots who not only endanger their lives but mine.
Here’s a tip… Having a 4-wheel drive, what-ever it is, doesn’t mean you can’t wreck. Bottom line, 4 wheels on black ice or 4 wheels on a slippery road, is just as bad as when a 2 wheel drive is on it. Thing is, YOU think your safe and drive like a fool!
 
OK, deep breath…. I’m over it now…. lol
 
When I lived on the other side of the state, which has even more snow and no road maintenance, I saw so many wrecks of 4 wheel drives, and was run off the road more than once by them. I understand road rage.
 
I’m much better now… Thanks for letting me vent. We return you to your regularly scheduled program. In the event of a real ‘Steph hissy fit’, you would have been instructed to tune into your local radio station… and listen to some really good music, until said hissy fit was over.
 
Here’s hoping you have a great week, without snow! BIG HUGS, Steph
 
 

16 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Teri
    Nov 27, 2007 @ 10:47:42

    Now if you think people drive bad in the snow where you are – try snow in Louisiana!!!  We get it probably once every 10 years – God takes pity on us the rest of the time.  i am sure that the car dealerships love it for their sales are bound to increase due to the amount of vehicles totalled during a snow.  One year is snowed on Christmas day which I loved because we were all home safe and sound and it really was beautiful!
    God Bless You!
    Teri

    Reply

  2. Jane
    Nov 27, 2007 @ 12:14:31

    Must be a regional thing – I could have written the exact same thing! 
    The other thing I LOVE is people who head into winter with NO TREAD on their tires.  Mo.  Rons.

    Reply

  3. ZePp...
    Nov 27, 2007 @ 13:04:44

    All I will say is AMEN.
     
    you KNOW you dont wanna get me started on road rage…😉
     
    Peace my friend.
    ZePp

    Reply

  4. Gill.
    Nov 27, 2007 @ 14:25:54

    Hi Steph,
    I am jealous I love the snow, probably due to the fact that we don\’t get much over here and when we do it only lasts for a day or two. Mind you I don\’t drive and I don\’t think I would like to anyway in the snow.
    Anyway Steph here is my recipe for curry, you are going to laugh lol🙂 as it\’s really easy.
    cubed left over turkey,
    one jar of curry sauce to your taste,
    Add turkey to sauce and heat through, serve on a bed of rice with a nan bread. Ha ha I am a lazy so and so aren\’t I?
    Apart from xmas day I don\’t believe in slaving away in the kitchen, I like to enjoy my few days off lol🙂
    Even on xmas day we all go to the pub between midday and 2pm and then we come back all abit merry and chip in with the dinner it\’s real good fun, by the time I have had wine with dinner I am sozzled and that is when I start the singing and dancing. One of the kids usually pipes up " oh no is that my mother I can hear " lol:) I don\’t care life is too short to worry about what other peole think.
    Good luck with your recipes, sorry I wasn\’t more help.
    Love and hugs Gill. xx

    Reply

  5. Laoch
    Nov 27, 2007 @ 15:17:29

    brrr

    Reply

  6. David
    Nov 27, 2007 @ 15:43:15

    But look on the bright side: Surely some of them killed themselves.  Slowly, the gene pool improves.  Have you seen anyone texting while driving in the snow?  You will…

    Reply

  7. Brad
    Nov 28, 2007 @ 12:29:57

    Hey!
    Happy Thanksgiving😉
     
    Yeah, it snowed here too, just a little. The damn lying Seattle weatherman said "rain", and it snowed. Of course. Now all the weathermen put snow, rain, sun, clouds, and wind in their graphics to predict the next 5 days!!! That way no matter what happens, they will be right.

    Reply

  8. R U Serious
    Nov 29, 2007 @ 01:13:03

    Heck!  You should see people in Los Angeles driving in the RAIN!!  If it ever snowed here, I\’m afraid it would be the end of life as we know it!  Oh, and I swear!!  I did NOT send that snow your way! lol  Hope it\’s gone soon!
     
    XO,
    Bob~

    Reply

  9. Nooner™
    Nov 30, 2007 @ 05:22:02

     
    Are you still Deep Breathing?🙂
    It\’s not my time of year either, Steph. We\’ve had some dustings already in southern New England. A real groundcover is inevitable and due anytime, I\’m sure. Stay indoors and safe if you can!!
     
    ~Nooner~
     

    Reply

  10. suzy
    Nov 30, 2007 @ 11:31:59

    i LOVE snow!  welll, i THOUGHT i did til I went to Boston last January…lving in Texas 25 years has taken its toll.  But,yeah, it\’s still cool (no pun intended) and beautiful.

    Reply

  11. ...
    Nov 30, 2007 @ 12:02:34

    Sing……….Snow, ha, what is it good for…………….
     
    Igloos, skiing, snowmen, snow angels, snowballs, warm nights by the fire
     
    What you thought I was gonna say nothing???
     
    Hugs
    Chris

    Reply

  12. Lena
    Nov 30, 2007 @ 16:53:19

     
    Oh, I hate snow too!  There\’s always some clown who thinks it\’ll be really fun to wrap himself around a telephone pole, not only endangering himself and those he\’s spinning around in front of, but inconveniencing the hell out of phone customers who are powered to that pole.  ARGHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHH!!!!!!! How many days til summer? :( 
     
    Have a great weekend girly girl!  Hugs!

    Reply

  13. KatSoup
    Nov 30, 2007 @ 23:03:22

    Thank you so much – move over cuz Im getting on the soapbox with you.  I ahte it when people say southerners can\’t drive in winter weather. 
    1. It rains here, then it snows.  This means roads are a sheet of ice.
    2. We do not have road equiptment in the south like other places do.
    3. No one can drive on ice!
     
    I do love snow and like i always say, I hope I get some.

    Reply

  14. Nooner™
    Dec 01, 2007 @ 07:27:24

     
    Happy December, Steph!
    The snow you sent East finally arrived! lol
    At least I thank you for sending the big fluffy flakes that look kind of kewl when they fall🙂
     
    ~Nooner~
     

    Reply

  15. Greg
    Dec 01, 2007 @ 14:04:10

     
    Good Saturday Mustang Kitty,
    Snow!!!
    Yep, black ice is a bad thingy.
    When I moved here we got stuck in Pendleton for a day with everything ice over. But I must admit I can motor in the snow and a person can get decent traction in it. It’s ice that there is no car control at all.
    Just breath girl and take in less cat nip.
    Fortunately for us here the snow is staying north of Kansas City.
    Stay cool you goofy cat, Greg
     

    Reply

  16. KatSoup
    Dec 01, 2007 @ 20:47:04

    I wonder why your profile pic does not show up on my space 😦

    Reply

Leave a Reply

