Just Thinking, and a Recipe

I’ve been enjoying these sunny fall days.
It makes me kinda sad to be getting my roses and other garden plants ready for winter, but, I guess that’s why I look forward to the coming spring.
 
Things have been hectic here, and yet, when I sit down to blog, I can’t think of a thing to write about!
 
Ever notice how hard it is to understand a little child when they talk, and yet, when they learn a swear word, there’s no mistaking it? The enunciation and volume are beyond perfect! Why is that?
 
Telling them that they can’t use words that you use, doesn’t usually work. At least that’s what I told my son and Dekeon’s mom. If they want their 3 year old to not drop the F bomb, then chances are they will need to stop dropping it around him. They DO listen to what’s going on around them ya know! lol
 
I some times wonder about myself. Case in point… the movie, "Silence of the Lambs" Very scary, great movie, and I admit I find the character of Hannibal Lecter to be very likable, interesting even. Then the other night "Con Air" was on TV. They have a character that is a serial killer on board, Garland Greene, played by Steve Buscemi, and… I like his character. Yet in real life I come from a family of ‘bad boys’ and have no attraction for real life bad guys.
 
I have no point, just letting my mind wander.
 
My older son lives in a neighborhood that has a "pet, mascot, neighborhood ambassador" that’s a wild turkey. I got to see him for the first time the other day. I didn’t have my camera, but from now on I’m taking it with me. I’ll post pics when I get them.
 
Well, I’m off to make cookies. It’s my first installment for the drywall guy. He’s going to stop by tonight.
 
 
OH, my younger son made me a wonderful dessert the other night, and I thought I’d share it with you.
1 Bottle of a good white wine
2 cinnamon sticks
1 vanilla bean
 
4 pears, halved and cored
 
In a saucepan pour the wine and add the cinnamon sticks, and the vanilla bean, which you have cut open and scraped the seeds into the wine, then tossed the bean in too.
(Hope that makes sense)
Poach the pears in the spiced wine. Remove the pears when poached and set aside.
Cook the remaining wine liquid, making a reduction. It should get to a syrup like consistency.
 
To serve, place a pear half on a plate or shallow bowl. Top with a big scoop of vanilla ice cream and top with the wine/pear reduction.
 
This is soooo good! I hope it all makes sense, he was just told how to do it from a friend who’s a chef. If you have any questions, just holler.
 
 

24 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Laoch
    Nov 06, 2007 @ 15:12:17

    That\’s a mighty tasty sounding dessert.

    Reply

  2. Jean
    Nov 06, 2007 @ 16:28:46

    mmmmmmmmmm.. might have to try that one. Sounds delish. Hope you\’re doing ok, and having fun again with Dekeon. Fall is sometimes sooooooo depressing.
    hugs,
    Jean

    Reply

  3. g
    Nov 06, 2007 @ 19:34:23

    That sounds great!!
     
    g.j.

    Reply

  4. David
    Nov 07, 2007 @ 13:59:56

    You are right that the only ay to stop a kid cussing is to stop yourself.  If you can\’t be bothered to be disciplined, why shoud he?  You learn young what is they wqay to be – this probably accounts for your attraction to bad guys like your sibs.  What you learn young sticks with you.  And you follow those rules that matter to your folks, not just the ones to which they give lip-service.  If cussing isn\’t bad enough to stop yourself from doing it, it isn\’t bad enough for the kid to stop doing it – you have already signalled your wink and nudge.  Hmm – if I didn\’t loathe the taste of wine, I might try this – I wonder if it would work with Coke (the kind that comes in a bottle). 

    Reply

  5. David
    Nov 07, 2007 @ 14:00:35

    It is my typing that is illiterate, not me…

    Reply

  6. Stephanie
    Nov 07, 2007 @ 19:34:46

    Laoch, It is mighty tasty!
     
    Jean, I\’m doing OK, and Dekeon always makes me laugh, he\’s a special lil guy. I like spring soooo much better than fall, but, it is a beautiful season and I\’m enjoying it\’s beauty.
     
    g.j., Try it, you\’ll like it! lol
     
    David, Yep, you and I both know that, "Do as I say, not as I do," just doesn\’t work.
    Coke huh? Welllll, I\’d try white grape juice first, but, to each his own.
    Are you a Coke fan or do you like Pepsi too?
    OH, and we all know that when we make mistakes on here, it\’s the keyboard\’s fault. It\’s a conspiracy by the computer companies!

    Reply

  7. Jim
    Nov 08, 2007 @ 06:40:17

    Hey Steph,
    I\’m just a little busy so I\’m doing more reading than writing, but I am trying to keep up with everything.
    Happy Holidays!
    Jim 

    Reply

  8. ZePp...
    Nov 08, 2007 @ 07:29:20

    Morning all ….
     
    I know when I do typos it had to be lil gremlins coming in during the middle of the night and rearranging the keys on my keyboard !!!!
    Thanks for dropping by… yep.. still looking for a good stuffed pepper recipe ..hint hint.. wink wink  LOL
    Had to come by and see if the shock was still with u or had worn off yet  :P:P
     
    Ahhhh kids .. got to luv em !!!!  If there is anything u can look at in a family and tell what kind of parents they are… look at the kids.  Monkey see monkey do 😉
     
    Will have to try that dessert… might make a good one for work at our Xmas party !!!!!
     
    Good thing I am one of those innocent sweet angelic type guys….. HUH ???   ;):P:P  ROFLMAO
     
    Exit stage left… chaps and all  😉😛
     
    ZePp

    Reply

  9. ...
    Nov 08, 2007 @ 12:06:52

    Ok so why am I , a guy, taking down the details on how to make cookies? Change from making beans on toast perhaps? Or just getting in touch with my feminie side?
     
    Hugs
     
    Chris

    Reply

  10. Jade
    Nov 08, 2007 @ 15:18:50

    My step son had to \’earn the right\’ to swear= be 17
    We kept our swears down till then.
    I love your music🙂

    Reply

  11. Stephanie
    Nov 09, 2007 @ 12:18:22

    Jim… SLOW DOWN! (once in awhile any way) It was great to see you.
     
    Zeppers… IF I wasn\’t still in shock. Your last remark would have put me right back IN shock! YOU? Innocent, sweet and angelic???
    (Choke, cough, cough)
    OH, I posted a few links to some really good recipe sites. They all have some great sounding, stuffed peppers, recipes. Enjoy!
     
    Chris… Beans on toast??? You gourmet cook, you!
    Yes, you DO need a feminine side to get in touch with, and if she\’s nice, and things go well, she\’ll get in "touch" with your masculine side! Win, Win! (I\’ll tell her you need to be chased!) LMAO
     
    Jade… Good for you guys on cutting back. I hear so many who don\’t and then get upset when the kids repeat it!
    Glad you like the music, (I do too) it\’s Timbaland, and the song is called "Apologize"
     
     

    Reply

  12. Litespreader
    Nov 09, 2007 @ 22:19:33

    I WILL be making the pears.. for Thanksgiving, if not before.Sounds so scrumptious.  I think Dekeon looks like you, in the face, Steph.. his eyes have that mischievous look, like I\’ve seen in you here.  My dad said a swear word in front of usonce, in my life with him.. but mom cussed up a storm.  It\’s been hard for me to not use those words casually.  I did teachmy kids that words have the power you put into them, and demonstrated that by making up the \’shit game\’.  We tookturns saying \’shit\’, until it was obviously just a word, withno real meaning or power.. but it was agreed that this wasa game that not everyone could appreciate, and somethingwe didn\’t do in other company.   Well, Steph, I hope thiswinter isn\’t too harsh for you.  We are so enjoying havingsome temps in the 70\’s, instead of the upper 80\’s mostyear \’round..  take care, sis.  T

    Reply

  13. Nooner™
    Nov 10, 2007 @ 00:00:30

     
    "I have no point, just letting my mind wander" <—– LOL. Sometimes that makes for a better read!
     
    ~Nooner~
     

    Reply

  14. Lola
    Nov 10, 2007 @ 19:39:43

    Love the "letting my mind wander" comment.  Free-form thinking is the best kind…..where you just see where it takes you.  And it is usually to a great place…… and the journey was pretty nifty as well.

    Reply

  15. Schizo
    Nov 10, 2007 @ 21:14:01

    your friendship with megabrad will be your downfall. he has been defeated.
    dont thank me, thank the mole

    Reply

  16. Seth
    Nov 11, 2007 @ 00:35:31

    …·´¨¨))  -:¦:-    ¸.·´ .·´¨¨))  ((¸¸.·´ ..·´  -:¦:-  -:¦:-   Hello to you!  Just thought that I would stop by your space and give you a big and long over due HELLO!  Sorry that I have not had the chance to pay your space a visit sooner.  Aaaargh!Usually children begin swearing when the hear adults doing it.  We all know that kids are like sponges who absorb everything that they see and hear in their environment.  I had an experience with my youngest nephew, and he\’s only five… He said the s word."Please don\’t say that, it\’s a swear word," I said."S*** is a swear word Uncle?" he asked."Yes it is.""So you don\’t want me to say s*** anymore?""No I don\’t.""Okay, I won\’t say s*** anymore.That boy knew exactly what he was doing.  Have have no idea where he picked that sh*t up from either.  :-]

    Reply

  17. Seth
    Nov 11, 2007 @ 00:37:35

    …·´¨¨))  -:¦:-    ¸.·´ .·´¨¨))  ((¸¸.·´ ..·´  -:¦:-  -:¦:-  Back again… by the way… that dessert sounds very good!  Thanks for sharing!
     
    Here\’s hoping that all is well with you and that you are enjoying the weekend.  Cheers to you and yours!

    Reply

  18. Stephanie
    Nov 11, 2007 @ 09:41:58

    Sis T, I have been told that Dekeon looks like me, and I couldn\’t be prouder! He\’s a "Grandma\’s Boy" hehe When he gets in trouble he comes running to me, or if he\’s sad, he, "wants his Grandma."
    My girls tell me I\’m spoiling him… but, that\’s my job!! LOL
    Too funny you mention the mischievous look in his eyes… yep it\’s there, and just the other day I had a gentleman ask me what I was up to because of the look in mine. I\’m innocent I tell ya! LOL
     
    Nooner, Thanks! It\’s not quite as fun as letting hands wander, but hey! lol
     
    Lola, Thanks to you as well! Some times it\’s so hard to come up with things to post, (that won\’t put people to sleep!) lol
    I love your name. Every time I see it I hear the song.
    OH, and the journey\’s, I\’ve found, have always been fun! Most just have to remember to relax and enjoy it.
     
    Schizo, Friendship will never be a downfall for me. The only way you could "defeat" MEGA is if he chooses to let you. Admittedly you all have been a huge pain in the ass, but, seriously, if I assume that causing crap for others is all you have in your life, then, I feel sorry for you. OH, and I wasn\’t going to thank you, or that hairless rodent.
     
    Seth, Your welcome on the recipe. I love the "S" story… he did indeed know exactly what he was doing. Smart lil guy… and I\’m sure he never ever hears naughty words from his Uncle Seth! LMAO
    It\’s good to see you "out and about." I hope you\’re feeling a lot better.

    Reply

  19. ZePp...
    Nov 11, 2007 @ 20:42:35

    Well thank you for not dying from chocking :P  And Thank you for the links.. going to look them over tomorrow.
     
    Just got my computer fixed tonight… with MSN help.. and you KNOW how it galls me to admit THAT one !!!
    I placed a link on my last blog to a malicious software removal free 90 day trial download.. fixed my ailing puter right up n running smoothly now !!!!!  Found trojans that Geeksquad couldnt find !!!
     
    Ummm quick question thou ….
     
    dont ALL US Innocent sweet angelic devils wear chaps as parts of the uniform ???  They even gave me the matching boots, vest, gloves, n jacket to go with em !!  Hmmmmm       ;)   😛
     
    ZePp

    Reply

  20. R U Serious
    Nov 12, 2007 @ 13:58:19

    Don\’t see your \’\’Pimp Yo\’ Ride\’ pics here!  Are you sure you saved??  Funny thing is, I can see them at Spaces Home. Hmmmm…
     
    Talk today,
    xo, Bob~

    Reply

  21. Delete52Mitch
    Nov 12, 2007 @ 21:29:14

    Nice recipe. You could always skip the pears, the cinnamon stick and teh vanilla bean and just drink the bottle of wine. Best wishes from Alabama. Mitch

    Reply

  22. DragonBoy
    Nov 13, 2007 @ 01:54:18

     
    Wotcha Steph… you\’ve changed your background… thank goodness for that.  It was slightly scary and a little creepy and was putting me off my commenting.  It also reminded me that I see dead people… that\’s right… dead people.
     
    Actually, it\’s pronounced Dedpeepal… they\’re an albanian couple that live a few doors down from me but I\’m sure I saw their faces in that last background you had… it\’s all very strange.
     
    Anywho\’s… sorry for the lack of visits.  Time seems to be running away with me at the moment.  It\’s a real git cos sometimes I just want to be alone but everytime I turn around… expect me to be there… cos one day… you\’ll turn around… and i will be there… and i\’ll kill you….
     
    Sorry about that… bit of a Clint Eastwood moment… i think… s\’from one of his cowboy movies…. i think… it may not even be Clint Eastwood… but it sounds like the sort of thing he\’d say… not the bit about the lack of visits though… that was me… and the time running away bit… that was me too….
     
    Am I making sense?… NO?… Good…
     
    I\’m going to go now… I can sense you edging away from your computer…. **sniggers**
     
    Catch ya later Steph…
     
    **Hugs… bordering on gropes**
    DB xx

    Reply

  23. Jane
    Nov 13, 2007 @ 17:11:58

    Um Steph?  That wine is going to have lost all the good stuff by the time you have reduced it to a syrupy consistancy.  Just saying… seems a shame.
    :o)

    Reply

  24. Litespreader
    Nov 13, 2007 @ 22:02:20

    God bless you, Stephie.. I love you.  Lots.  T

    Reply

Leave a Reply

