It’s November already?

I hope everyone had a great Halloween.
 
I love handing out the candy and seeing the little ones in costume.
 
My favorite are the ones that are 3-6 yrs old. They are so excited. They love showing me their costume, and I had one little boy about 5, sing me the whole "Trick or Treat" song. You know the one that says, "Trick or Treat, smell my feet, give me something good to eat"….
 
I watched some movies between answering the door. I saw, Spider man 3, and License to Wed.
Spider man 3 was not my favorite of the series, but it was OK. I have a problem with Toby being Spidey. He has a "Jack Nicholson" type of persona. I never really believe that either one is feeling anything real, and Toby would do better in movies where he plays some kind of perverted psycho. He always has this weird look in his eyes. (Just my opinion)
 
License to Wed, was funny, but, I found myself really wanting to hurt Mandy Moore’s character. From an older woman’s point of view, she was self centered, controlling and suuuuch a stupid little witch!
Here she has a guy who’s easy going and laid back, and she doesn’t appreciate it until some of her family and her best friend tell her to. She wasn’t even smart enough to come to the conclusion herself.
Robin Williams and the little kid who plays as his ‘side-kick’ were funny, although, having a Priest being a mentor to a young boy…. well…
 
The other night I rented, "Transformers" and I liked it. My boys were huge fans and I would watch the cartoons with them. The movie didn’t really stick to much from the cartoon, but it was a fun, escapist, blow things up, wise crackin, type movie.
 
I admit it, some times I enjoy a good mindless, "blowing things up, shooting everything that moves, tough guys who should be dead after the beating they took, but, no, they get up and keep going", type of movies.
 
On a totally different note…
I finally found a gentleman who does drywall. This house was a rental before we bought it, and had some holes in the walls that my children, animals and grandson have made much bigger (and added a few of their own). This man comes highly recommended and has been in the business for over 30 years.
I finally got him to stop by and take a look at the damage… (and this is what I love about living in a small town) I have about 8 holes to repair, and some of them are huge! I just had my 3 yr old grandson spend the week with me. He not only made some bigger, but, I’m going to have to make sure I get all the toys (food, marbles, lego’s, hot wheels, candy, etc. etc…) out of the wall before the guy starts fixing them! lol
He took a look at all of them and told me it would be no problem to get them all fixed.
 
He then went on to say that IF I was willing to wait and have him work me into his schedule when he could get to them that he would be willing to do them for me in return for me making him some goodies!
I love people who are into the whole barter system. lol
I said YES!
 
I snagged the video below from DragonBoy. I LOVE these guys (Flight of the Conchords) they are from New Zealand. The second one is an old favorite… you may want to turn it down if there are children around. Enjoy!
 
 
Here’s hoping everyone has a great week. BIG HUGS, Steph
 
 
 
 
 
 

     

14 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Teri
    Nov 01, 2007 @ 11:17:46

    Oh wow – bartering – how awesome!!  Ask him if he wants to come to Lousiana to fix a bathroom – I\’ll be like the Willie Wonka chocolate factory!!  Just kidding, though as we near Thanksgiving and Christmas that is basically what my kitchen becomes anyway! Huggles and God Bless!
    Teri

    Reply

  2. R U Serious
    Nov 01, 2007 @ 15:18:42

    What a deal!!!  For HIM!  I\’m sure he\’ll love your goodies and youwill finally get those holes repaired. 
     
    Halloween was a little strange here this year.  Our first trick or treaters didn\’t arrive until nearly 7:30.  The they came in waves until 9:30!!!  110 of them in all.  We have 5 pieces of candy left!!  MINE!!!!  lol
     
    Talk to you later today!
    xoxo

    Reply

  3. R U Serious
    Nov 01, 2007 @ 16:13:20

    That video was Great!!  Too funny!

    Reply

  4. David
    Nov 02, 2007 @ 04:13:24

    Yeah – bartering – the best thing about returning to a small town.  I traded my old ride-mower for carpentry required on the outside of my house.  But you should be ashamed you can\’t fix your own drywall!  Get a book.  It is one of the easier things to fix. 
    Actually, I thought Tobey was a brilliant choice for Spiderman.  He has some depth.  And you have to think what Peter Parker was really like in his non-batman character in the comics.  He tends to play roles of people who are shut down a bit from past trauma – fills the bill.  I like mindless stuff – though not so much the bang-bang kind.  I hate when characters are super-human – like the Bond stuff.  Give me stuff like H. Ford in "Frantic" – a person whose reactions are believable and whom you get to see figure things out, instead of just knowing everything.  By the way, having a priest mentor a boy makes perfect sense if one approaches it as one does anything else.  But if people are blinded by faith in authority, they\’ll make the same blunder with coaches, teachers, doctors.  And relatives.  Some folks who love kids, just love kids – in the right way – and you don\’t want your kid to pass up the chance to meet such positive people.  Everyone is trying to bring up a terrified generation that is afraid go outside, do Hallowe\’en, climb high, swim far – let\’s make them terrified of adults, too.  It is, of course, easier to teach blanket fear (ask GWB) than to teach intelligent responses and discernment – and we know nearly every parent wants easy above all else – well, that and the appearance of being a good parent without the effort required to be the real thing. 

    Reply

  5. Laoch
    Nov 02, 2007 @ 20:06:51

    Since Tobey likes to play poker I have to give a thumbs up even if he is a mediocre actor. It is kind of hard to see why Mandy Moore is a star though.

    Reply

  6. KatSoup
    Nov 02, 2007 @ 21:24:20

    I wonder if I can get the tv repairman to take a pot pie.
     
    The buffering is too bad.  I am going to you tube and look up nut bra.  wish me luck there.

    Reply

  7. Gill.
    Nov 03, 2007 @ 08:27:35

    Hi Steph,
    Thanks for popping by and thankyou for your lovely gift. I have sent you an invitation and I hope we can become good space buddies. I have made alot more friends through the halloween event.
    Glad you like my song, I just love Gary Barlow who is singing it. lol. I\’m old enough to be his mum well not quite.
    Have a fab weekend and hope to speak soon.
    Love and hugs Gill. xx

    Reply

  8. Greg
    Nov 03, 2007 @ 16:28:23

     
     
    I see Kitty is being silly and wild.
     
    You goofy cat…
     
    Stay warm, Greg
     
     
     

    Reply

  9. Gill.
    Nov 04, 2007 @ 01:09:16

    Hi Steph,
    Yep that is Gary Barlow from Take That. I love him, I know it\’s sad but when you get to 47 yrs old I think you need a little fantasy in your life. lol.:)
    I went to seet them live a couple of years ago with my daughter they were absolutely brilliant,
    Well best get ready for work now. I finish at 5pm and then I am going to my Steph\’s to babysit Maisie while she and her husband take Billy to the firework display. It is guy fawkes night tomorrow. Do you celebrate it at all?
    Enjoy your sunday, Love and hugs Gill. xx

    Reply

  10. ...
    Nov 04, 2007 @ 05:06:49

    Hello
     
    I got the job of taking the older kids around the town, whilst my youngest went with another mum in the younger group. His treat was to tell jokes which were the standard kids jokes, oldies but goodies which force a laugh from the adult handing out the goodies.
     
    When the two groups met up at the end of the night the mum said that perhaps I should vet my sons jokes a little before letting him out. When I asked him what he had been saying all night he replied. All I said was, how do you make a pool table laugh. You tickle its balls. After I finished choking on my sherbet lolly I asked him if he got any laughs. He responded that a lot of the mums covered their mouths with their hands and said JACK out loud, and added, but I knew they liked it really.
     
    But then thats another story.
     
    Happy belated halloween to you and America.
     
    Hugs
     
    Chris
     
     
     
     

    Reply

  11. Brad
    Nov 04, 2007 @ 19:03:37

    So you saw the Transformers movie?? And only LIKED IT??
    Are you absolutely sure it wasn\’t THE BEST MOVIE IN 30 YEARS!!!!????? hUH..HUH…HUH????
    Yes, that\’s what I think you meant to say…………heheheheheh……..
     
    I made a trip down to Seattle Center to watch it at the IMAX THEATRE! Yes! It was awesome…… I am the A-hole who yells at the movie screen "Go Optimus Prime!!!! WOOOOOHOOOOO!!!!!!!". I think \’Bumblebee\’ should get this years academy award for \’best actor in a kick ass movie\’. Optimus Prime should win \’Best supporting actor\’. And then MEGATRON (who is actually a cousin of mine) should win \’Best Evil villian in a totally awesome movie\’.
    Uh huh.
     
    And then after we watched Transformers, we took the monorail. I never rode it before, so it was kinda cool. Did you ride it when you were here? That \’Gameworks\’ place is about a block from where the monorail ends, and we wanted to check it out. It was kinda cool. The restaurant is weird. They put eggs on pizza there…! Yeah…. I told them to hold the egg on mine… 😉

    Reply

  12. Sissel
    Nov 05, 2007 @ 02:41:47

    Hi Steph

    _____$$$$$$$$$___ ._____  .____$$$$$$$$
    ____$$$$$$$$$$$$__._____.___$$$$$$$$$$$$____$$$$$$$$$$$$$,_\’.____.\’_,,$$$$$$$$$$$$$____$$$$$$$$$$$$$$,, \’.__,\’_$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$____$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$.@:.$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$______***$$$$$$$$$$$@@$$$$$$$$$$$****__________,,,__*$$$$$$@.$$$$$$,,,,,,_____,,$$$$$$$$$$$$$* @ *$$$$$$$$$$$$,,,____*$$$$$$$$$$$$$*_@@_*$$$$$$$$$$$$$___,,*$$$$$$$$$$$$$__.@.__*$$$$$$$$$$$$$,,_,,*___*$$$$$$$$$$$___*___*$$$$$$$$$$*__ *\’,,*____,,*$$$$$$$$$$_________$$$$$$$$$$*,,____*______,;$*$,$$**\’____________**\’$$***,,____,;\’*___\’_.*__________________*___ \’*,,,,,,.;*____________—____________ _ ____ \’**,,,,*.°º…°Fly in to wish you a lovely monday.
    Love from Sissel

    Reply

  13. Jade
    Nov 05, 2007 @ 17:28:37

    Thanks for the tunes- I saved it -YES!
     

    Reply

  14. Lena
    Nov 05, 2007 @ 19:57:14

     
    I\’ll fix \’em for some goodies.  I have an opening at 10:30 tomorrow!  I like banana bread.
     
    Take care!
     

    Reply

Leave a Reply

