Weekend Fun

My Saturday was a lot of fun. I went to our local rec. center and took a bunch of classes. Most were free, and if they weren’t free it was a minimal charge.
 
The first class was all about making Trifles. She made up 5 different kinds, "Joy’s Prize Winning Trifle", "Chocolate Trifle," "Three Berry Lemon Trifle," "Ultimate Chocolate Trifle," and "Carmel Apple Trifle." We got to taste them all! YUM!
 
Then it was a class on making bath salts. I made 3 different scents, sweet orange, vanilla lemon, and peppermint.
 
I snuck into a class that I hadn’t signed up for. It was on all kinds of different soups, and they had them to taste test. Some were really good! All the printed recipes were gone, but, I knew several of the ladies in there, and I will soon be getting copies of those.
 
My 4th class was a gift giving idea class. Have you seen where the ingredients are all layered in a quart canning jar, and has a pretty top tied with a ribbon, and has a recipe attached so they know how to make it.
She had 3 different recipes, Granola Spice Muffins, Lemon Raisin Quick Bread, and (I did this one) Rocky Road Brownies.
 
Just so you know, that I wasn’t just eating all day, I did go to a serious class.
 
It was on being prepared for disasters.
We ended up with hand outs on making your own, Car Emergency Kit, A Personal Emergency Kit (foods, water, etc. for if you don’t have access to electricity or water for 3 days)
A list for making your own First Aid Kit and for those who had babies, a list to make a Personal Emergency Kit for an Infant.
 
If you are interested in any of the recipes or emergency lists, just ‘Holler" at me, OK?
 
I had a great time! What more could I ask?
 
 

25 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Raven
    Oct 21, 2007 @ 20:40:32

    YUM!  What a great way to spend a Sunday.  Everything sounds delicious, especially the sweet orange bath salts and the rocky road brownies!
    Apparently, Southern California is on fire due to the Santa Ana winds and scorching heat.  Those emergency kits would come in handy out here.  Thankfully we\’re not in an evac zone-whew!
    XXX~R

    Reply

  2. Sarah
    Oct 22, 2007 @ 05:26:42

    Hello there,
     
    Just dropping by for Carlos’s HALLOWEEN event.
    >>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>> 
    First you take a pumpkin, big and fat and round.Then you cut the top off, that will make a hat.Then you hollow out the nose and mouth and eyes.Now you have a Jack-O-Lantern Halloween Surprise!
    >>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>> 
    HAPPY HALLOWEEN! &CLICK.
    Here’s a joke;
    >>>> How do witches keep their hair in place while flying?
    >>>> With SCARE spray! 😀
    Take care my friend.
    >>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>> 
    To scare some folks on Halloween, I\’ll tell you what I\’ll do. I\’ll hide behind this pumpkin face, and then I\’ll yell… BOO!
    >>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>> 
     
    Lots of love, xxx. Sarah

    Reply

  3. Jade
    Oct 22, 2007 @ 09:37:34

    That sounded so fun! All kinds of differant ideas-neat!

    Reply

  4. Jade
    Oct 22, 2007 @ 09:37:51

    That sounded so fun! All kinds of differant ideas-neat!

    Reply

  5. Coco
    Oct 22, 2007 @ 15:45:16

    Hi Steph,Came by via Carlos Halloween GBE
    Happy Halloween Ba hahahaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaa
    <><><><><><><><><><><><><><><><><><><><><><><><><><><><><><><><><><><><><><><><><><><><><><>
    Five little pumpkins sitting on a gate,The first one said,"Oh my, it\’s getting late."The second one said,"But we don\’t care."The third one said,"I see witches in the air."The fourth one said,"Let\’s run, and run, and run."The fifth one said,"Get ready for some fun."Then whoosh went the wind,and out went the lights,And five little pumpkins rolled out of sight!
    <><><><><><><><><><><><><><><><><><><><><><><><><><><><><><><><><><><><><><><><><><><><><><>
    <><><>Hallo\’s Gifts <><><> http://i158.photobucket.com/albums/t92/sunrayscoco2/carolinegift-1.gif                    <><><> http://i158.photobucket.com/albums/t92/sunrayscoco2/ball-1hand1car.gif                    <><><> http://i158.photobucket.com/albums/t92/sunrayscoco2/flyingwitchhh3.gif
    Dont eat too much candies hehehehehehe…
    Caroline xo(((Hugs)))
     

    Reply

  6. Yours Truly
    Oct 22, 2007 @ 17:43:35

     
    Hi Steph,
    That sounds like so much fun !!!  I wish I had such a community center near me.  I\’d take all the fun classes.
    Thanks for your visit and nice comment.  I wasn\’t able to load your main page but will try to take a look later at your photos.  I saw one of your photos on my "home" page.  I hope your day is going well.
    ~Truly
     

    Reply

  7. Yours Truly
    Oct 22, 2007 @ 17:43:41

     
    Hi Steph,
    That sounds like so much fun !!!  I wish I had such a community center near me.  I\’d take all the fun classes.
    Thanks for your visit and nice comment.  I wasn\’t able to load your main page but will try to take a look later at your photos.  I saw one of your photos on my "home" page.  I hope your day is going well.
    ~Truly
     

    Reply

  8. Yours Truly
    Oct 22, 2007 @ 17:44:09

     
    Hi Steph,
    That sounds like so much fun !!!  I wish I had such a community center near me.  I\’d take all the fun classes.
    Thanks for your visit and nice comment.  I wasn\’t able to load your main page but will try to take a look later at your photos.  I saw one of your photos on my "home" page.  I hope your day is going well.
    ~Truly
     

    Reply

  9. Leah
    Oct 22, 2007 @ 19:46:29

    hello lady,
    baby and toddler, need i say more?

    Reply

  10. sus
    Oct 23, 2007 @ 11:35:29

    Hi there Steph
     
    Thanx fore your message with me YEAH it\’s soon halloween BoooooooH
    Hello my friend   
     
                 =,    (\\_/)    ,=             /`-\’–(")–\’-\’\\            /     (___)     \\           /.-.-./ " " \\.-.-.\\
     
    I am the Autumn scarecrowWho\’s just here to hang aroundWith birds singing over my headAnd pumpkins on the groundI sit here every Halloween nightWhere there\’s no shining sunI watch all the people walk byAnd smile at everyoneI\’m not here to scare any oneSo please don\’t be afraid of meI really am enjoying myselfBy laughing at everything I seeBut I will wish you a Happy AutumnOn this Halloween nightAnd look around for many colorsWhere there\’s a beautiful sight
                                                       ………                                                    C C  /                                                   /<   /                         ___ __________/_#__=o                        /(- /(\\_\\_______       \\                        \\ ) \\ )_       \\o            \\                        /|\\ /|\\        |\’             |                                        |            _|                                       /o          __\\                                     / \’             |                                    /    /          |                                   /  _/\\______|                                  (      _(    <                                   \\      \\       \\                                    \\       \\       |                                     \\____\\____\\                                   __ __\\_\\__\\_\\                                  /`      /`        o\\                                  |___  |_______|
                =,    (\\_/)    ,=             /`-\’–(")–\’-\’\\            /     (___)     \\           /.-.-./ " " \\.-.-.\\
    Have a nice week and do take care
    Hug from
    *SUS*

    Reply

  11. Sarah
    Oct 24, 2007 @ 16:35:51

    Hello,
     
    thank you for cheering me up.
    I already feel a lot better now😀
     
    How are you doing?!
    Oh, and thank you so much for that halloween comment !
    I really liked it!
     
    xxx. Sarah

    Reply

  12. Unknown
    Oct 24, 2007 @ 20:34:12

    By the powers invested unto me by Bill Gates, I hereby declare this Space at : http://unklebobosaurusrevised.spaces.live.com, abandoned and therefore subject to the Internet Salvage Laws; giving me – Cap\’n Qwaylood, full ownership of this Space!
     
    Recorded this day: 10-24-2007

    Reply

  13. Jane
    Oct 24, 2007 @ 21:13:43

    Mmmm… put me down for the Rocky Road brownie recipe.  Not for me, of course.  For gift-giving!

    Reply

  14. ღ_BabyEvelyne
    Oct 25, 2007 @ 11:54:26

    Hi Steph ! X
    thank you for visiting my space & thank you for the great poem🙂
    Jump into my space whenever you want, always welcome !
     
    Have a nice day !
    Hughs & x-x-x
    BabyEvelyne

    Reply

  15. Delete52Mitch
    Oct 25, 2007 @ 22:42:49

    Sounds like you had a blast! Trifles? I\’m not even sure I know what they are. But if they\’re good, and I\’m sure they are, I\’ll eat \’em! Much love from Alabama. Mitch

    Reply

  16. Greg
    Oct 28, 2007 @ 19:44:19

     
    Hi Steph…
    Golly it feels like I have not been here for ages.
    I’d better help you fold some laundry or something eh?
    Vacuum???
    Make some chocolate chip cookies.
    Hey…I’ll go to the Rec Center with you.
    I like the soup class.
    Hey…I’m really thankful for being my blogging bud.
    You are like one of my first friends and still around.
    Many have come and gone…In a way you encouraged me to share.
    Thanks…Now can I look in your fridge.
    You all be well out there…Greg
     

    Reply

  17. R U Serious
    Oct 28, 2007 @ 20:04:03

    Hi Stevie!  I\’ve missed your comments and even more, our chats!  I know you are busy with your grandson but I hope to see you online soon!
     
    xoxo,  Bob~

    Reply

  18. R U Serious
    Oct 28, 2007 @ 20:07:24

    Oh!  And I see that Captain Qualood is still on spaces!! 

    Reply

  19. Lena
    Oct 28, 2007 @ 20:23:22

     
    did you say brownies?  YUM!
     
    Sounds like ya had fun.  Christmas will soon be upon us.  Waddaya say ya put together a few of those jars and sell \’em to ya friend Lena?  That\’s me!😀
     
    Happy Halloween Steph!
     

    Reply

  20. Seth
    Oct 29, 2007 @ 13:03:27

    Holy Moly Great Queen of Scotch!  Sounds like you had quite the busy Saturday.  Sounds like the perfect date to me.  I am assuming you just simply forgot to send me an invite??!!  Huh?  Huh?  You bet I am interested in those trifles.  Since I am not good at the \’baking\’ thing… how\’s about I just send you my complete mailing address.  Hint!  Hint!  Yes?  How much more blunt could I be…. bwahahaha!
     
    Here\’s hoping that all is well with you.  Sorry that I have not been by your space in a while.  Just know that I have been thinking of you and really appreciate your comments and visits to my space.  KUDOS to you sweetie!
     
                         .—-.                       .—-.                    | = o  \\                   | = o \\                    \\= =_/                   \\= =_/                      )= \\____                )= \\____                     ; =  _|__ -\\            ; = _|__  -\\                     |=  —-.\\               |=  —-.\\                     ( \’.==|                   ( \’.==|                   / \\=\\=\\                / \\=\\=\\                _.\’  /=/\\=\\_         _.\’  /=/\\=\\_     ___..-\’    /__)   \\__)__..-\’    /__) \\_ _)    
     
    …… Just passing thru with some friends to wish you a spooky Halloween!

    Reply

  21. BH
    Oct 29, 2007 @ 16:59:07

    You always bake the most mouth watering goods!  When are you going to send me a care package.  BH very very hungry.  BH want Steph cookie.  (thumping chest)Cheers,BH

    Reply

  22. Lena
    Oct 30, 2007 @ 17:11:34

     
    Happy Halloween Steph!
     
    hugs!

    Reply

  23. Aisha
    Oct 30, 2007 @ 23:05:27

    Now that sounds like a lot of fun. Yeah, I didn\’t think snails were attractive creations either. I\’m not even sure why I bought it, but I do admit it makes the aquarium more interesting. My twins like to play "where is the snail hiding" until they see it\’s face sucking on the glass. Your space is all decked out for ghouls and creepy crawlies so Happy Halloween!!!Have a fantastic week!!!

    Reply

  24. KatSoup
    Oct 31, 2007 @ 16:09:39

    What fun comments you get and some cut links.  Happy Halloweenie.  Sounds like your day of classes was a blast.  I would love to go too.

    Reply

  25. Laoch
    Nov 02, 2007 @ 12:13:48

    It i interesting but living in a big city finds that no one tricks and treats here.  I guess the parents are too worried to let their kids out.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

