The Inner Drill Sergeant

Today is one of those days that you have to ‘hit the ground running.’
I have so much to do and time is running out (it’s already 12noon.)
IF I accomplish everything I will have made 2 birthday cakes, delivered one, the other is for home.
I have a big pot of soup cooking for dinner and still have to make the dinner rolls to go with it. I’ll post the recipe, they are honey oatmeal, and really good.
 
My Mom called. She and my dad are going to a cousin’s 50th wedding anniversary party, it’s going to be a huge luau, and she’s looking for a Hawaiian shirt for my dad to wear.
 
I have a bunch, it’s just looking for them.
 
I have to run by the library and pay for my stuff. Then when I’m delivering the cake, my son wanted some of the soup sent to his place. While I’m over in Boise I have to exchange some pajamas I bought for Dekeon (who just turned 3) and a UVB lamp that we bought for our newest family member, (it isn’t working).
She’s a red eared slider named Typhoon Tess. Her shell is about 5 inches by 6 inches and yesterday I bought her 6 feeder gold fish… I’m not sure if they are hiding in the rocks, but I don’t see any of them! lol
 
I’ve never had to care for a turtle before, so, this is a new experience. As you can see from the photos, Miss Molly is fascinated by her. The neighbor kids are too. I’m thinking about charging admission… especially when they come in the house and I’m not dressed. LOL
 
Well, I guess I better get frosting the cakes. I hate regular frosting, so the recipe I use is more like frosting your cake with chocolate mousse. I’ll post that recipe too… later.
 
OH I almost forgot I have to make banana bread for my oldest daughter’s class tomorrow morning…
Good thing I’ve written this down. If I forget, I’ll just come back here. lol
Now, what else am I forgetting?
BIG HUGS, Steph

16 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Laoch
    Oct 10, 2007 @ 13:28:51

    I fear that I could not remember all of this.The luau sounds like fun though.

    Reply

  2. David
    Oct 10, 2007 @ 14:15:05

    Absolutely charge these kids to see you undressed!  A girl has to get it where she can.  I just read \’50th wedding anniversary\’ and now I am so depressed I don\’t know what to do – even the Guantanamo folks have only done 5 years, so far…  What DID these people do? 

    Reply

  3. Raven
    Oct 10, 2007 @ 15:35:46

    Mother\’s are the original "Armies of One"!!!   We should form a union!
    Love to read about another\’s masterbaking…good to know it\’s not just me that likes to fill their home with the smell of home baked goods…
    XXX~R

    Reply

  4. ZePp...
    Oct 10, 2007 @ 16:55:51

    Ok my dear…. I just dropped by to give you some grief… catch up what ya been up to.. and what do I see ??
     
    U being a naughty girl.. shame shame.          ( I know your shaking ur head and asking where da hell he going with this one…. )
     
    Ummmm.. lets see… charging for attractions.. when ur not dressed…. ummmm      Sounds like were not showing off the turtle anymore   :P:P   LMAO
     
    Sorry.. seen that n   well… U know me   lol
     
    Now.. the other reason I came by…
    This "No Hunting" signs all over the place….
     
     
    Just where do U live and did the Pheasants send a reply as to when they will arrive ?? 😀
    Wouldnt be the first time I lied to a bird😉
     
    Wow… no wonder I never had kids.. sounds like they woulda wore me plum out.
    I still need to whip u at some pogo games..  whenever your busy schedule allows😉
     
    Peace my friend !!
    ZePp

    Reply

  5. Jade
    Oct 10, 2007 @ 17:49:44

    Yes, send me food!😀

    Reply

  6. Jade
    Oct 10, 2007 @ 17:51:38

    OH I see a turtle!!!!!

    Reply

  7. BH
    Oct 10, 2007 @ 21:22:57

    What are you doing to the cakes?  LOL.I\’m tired just reading this!  The new photos of the young lad are great.  He\’s gonna be a handfull!!  Looks like I did when I was his age.  Go get \’em tiger!  Damn, you made me hungry with all this talk of cakes and bread and luau stuff.  Thanks a lot!!!Cheers,BH

    Reply

  8. Greg
    Oct 11, 2007 @ 10:00:46

     
    Soups on!!! Great!!!
    Are you sure you are not starting a petting zoo???
    I bet you are the biggest purer?
    You all be well, Greg
     

    Reply

  9. KatSoup
    Oct 11, 2007 @ 14:23:30

    oh man, cakes, cats, library, banana bread and we are doing all it with no clothes.  God, can I move in?
     
    I Neeed a good choclate frosting recipe, Ill be waiting.

    Reply

  10. KatSoup
    Oct 11, 2007 @ 14:25:47

    oh yea, turtles too. 
    at first I thought you were calling a family member Typhoon Tess.ha ha  Then I read on.

    Reply

  11. Jane
    Oct 11, 2007 @ 14:38:29

    If you\’re letting the neighborhood kids in when you aren\’t dressed that probably only a misdemeaner… if you charge admission, I think you might be talking felony… just something to think about…
    I just read Raven\’s comment and I thought I missed something… then I REread it.  Masterbaking!  hahaha

    Reply

  12. Jess
    Oct 12, 2007 @ 07:41:51

    Oy….I think I\’d just skip everything and go to the luau with your mom and dad lol….
     
    Now about that chemical that dissolves bady parts………

    Reply

  13. Jim
    Oct 12, 2007 @ 10:53:09

    hey turtle soup!

    Reply

  14. ...
    Oct 12, 2007 @ 12:55:01

    Hi busy lady. Hope you remembered everything. Umm, unusual choice of music, Jack has had it playing non stop over and over for about an hour, so thanks for that!!!!!!
     
    You be safe
     
    Hugs
     
    Chris

    Reply

  15. Shannon
    Oct 21, 2007 @ 20:56:55

    Hi there, coming here from Carlos Halloween GB event
    Have a frightfully enchanting Evening
    Happy Halloween!!
     
    Here are some gifts for you…


     

     
    ~ Sass ~

    Reply

  16. Seth
    Oct 29, 2007 @ 13:47:38

     Sounds like quite the busy agenda… I am sure it was a very hectic day… but were you able to stay with it?
     
    KUDOS to you Steph, how I have missed visiting your space.  I am just happy that even though you have been so busy… you still managed to blog for us.   (((smiles)))   – Seth!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

