Library Fund Raising

Usually our library has a huge birthday party and auction to raise money. This year they are having a huge yard sale.
The last time we tried one, I ended up being the only person sorting and pricing the crap, umm, items, that came in.
At least this year there’s been a lot more help.
One older lady has been especially entertaining. She has a sense of humor that I enjoy, and that seems to elude a few of the other ladies.
One lady was complaining about having to go to a funeral for Jean So and So. It was messing up her day.
Kathleen’s come back was, "Well, I don’t imagine it’s made Jean’s day either."
I thought it was very funny, and was thinking something along those lines too… that and "quit bitching."
It made me laugh even harder when I saw the look of total confusion on the other ladies faces.

I enjoy helping with these fund raisers because when I was little, growing up the oldest of 7, in an Italian, Portuguese house, there was no quiet. Yelling and screaming was pretty much a 24/7 event.
I would escape to the library where, it was warm in the winter, cool in the summer, and what I thought had to be heaven on earth… it was Quiet!
I’ve always loved reading, and so, this is my way of making sure that children in this community have a library. There are many towns around us who don’t.

So, what are your plans for the weekend?(Yes, I’m already looking forward to the weekend) lol BIG HUGS, Steph

20 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Jane
    Oct 03, 2007 @ 14:21:12

    I agree – Jean gets the Most Crappy Day award.  I hope you and the good humor lady make it through the yard sale.  Like you say it\’s an excellant cause.  I LOVE my library but they never need fundraisers.  My ginormous late fees keep them in the black.

    Reply

  2. Jade
    Oct 03, 2007 @ 16:01:06

    HAHAHA!!  My kind of humor!!Man, I am in the kingdom of oldies here…I have never seen so many walkers & of course I had to get my own folding grocery cart to push-blah! Well, this weekend I hope to get the courage up to go on a shoreline bird walk :)I loved volunteering at the library putting books away!  mmmm, quiet…. sometimes I would go there just to get a book & curl in a chair & pretend to read and fall asleep-zzzzz-sooo nice.

    Reply

  3. Jade
    Oct 03, 2007 @ 17:00:55

    oh Kat, I just read your other replies- I could just hug you!!!!

    Reply

  4. R U Serious
    Oct 03, 2007 @ 17:41:00

    Oh cool!!  I remember how much fun you had last year!!  And of course how much you love sales!!  Even if you\’re doing the selling!!  LOL  Have fun with it and good for you for volunteering!!
     
    Is your IM working yet??
    xo,  Bob~

    Reply

  5. Seth
    Oct 03, 2007 @ 19:47:06

    Hundreds of books can be found in a library.  But it never fails, the one I want to read is always out.  Aaargh!Good luck with the fund raiser.  No doubt that you will do well.
    As for this weekend… no big plans.  Yet!!! 
     
    In the mean time, till I return for yet another visit and some more laughs… take good care of you and yours.  -Seth
     
     
     

    Reply

  6. Raven
    Oct 04, 2007 @ 00:08:21

    HI!!  Thanks for stopping by my little patch of insanity…I love your comeback, we will get along fabulously I imagine!  Too bad for the rest of the planet.
    My weekend is filled with karate, the swap meet and then on Sunday, I\’m sparring in a training exhibition…so, more karate!  I fear I might have an addiction to it?  Is that a bad thing?
    I\’ll be back
    XXX~R

    Reply

  7. Nooner™
    Oct 04, 2007 @ 09:09:03

     
    Hi Steph,
     
    How nice that you give back to your community and help with your library! Three Cheers for you!
     
    ~Nooner~
     

    Reply

  8. ZePp...
    Oct 04, 2007 @ 11:49:21

    Ahhhhhhh I see the Queen of comments has reappeared😀
    LMAO.. damn it woman.. it would be the day U come by my place that I accidently publish my new 101 when it wasnt finished:\'( I MEANT to save it as a draft ….. But thanks for the ideas on some of the things I can add to it :P:P
    I hope ur system is back to running right…
    ttyl
    ZePpers.. the King of the Q 😉😛

    Reply

  9. Lena
    Oct 04, 2007 @ 12:23:40

    Happy Thursday-wishin-it-were-Friday, Steph!The best sense of humor is a dry sarcastic one. She sounds like my kinda lady too. Good luck getting through the yardsale. Take care.

    Reply

  10. KatSoup
    Oct 04, 2007 @ 15:58:10

    I love the library.  I visit often.  I am so happy that you are doing this.
    have fun too.  PS A friend named kathleen, you can\’t go wrong.

    Reply

  11. Litespreader
    Oct 05, 2007 @ 11:07:25

    One of the most important discoveries I made as a child, was the library.  I think I was able to get my own card at 9, andI walked the mile back from there, always carrying lots of books.. I couldn\’t stay there long, had to get back home.. butI escaped in the books.  Great endeavor you\’re involved in!No surprise..😉

    Reply

  12. Angie
    Oct 05, 2007 @ 15:28:02

    Right on, Right on!
    I\’m on the other end of the scale. Youngest of 6 erm…adults (much younger) so the yelling yadda yadda italiano thingy, yeah, I know it all too well!
    Oh, lordy on the yard sales………..but I wish you all the luck darling! At least your sense of humor will get you through the day, by laughing !!

    Reply

  13. BLOGGER
    Oct 05, 2007 @ 16:29:02

    Hi KItty,
     

    We have the news! Doc Blood and Clason are out to clean up Spaces!
     
    Thanks,
    Diane

    Reply

  14. CAP'N
    Oct 05, 2007 @ 19:27:45

    Greetings,
    I can expertly assist you in preparations and transfers of inheritance, endowments, insurance matters and other monetary assets. We can safely transfer your assets to offshore accounts in the Caribbean and West Africa. The IBTC Chartered Bank Plc Offshore Fixed Deposit is ideal should you wish to invest in a tax-exempt deposit paying a fixed, competitive rate of interest. Our Foreign Exchange desk trades in major currencies. I am a registered, licensed Solicitor.
     
    I can help 24/7/365
     
    Feel free to contact me,
    mailto:osujiben27@myway.com 
    Sincerely,
    Osuji A. Benson.esq

    Reply

  15. Greg
    Oct 05, 2007 @ 20:31:48

     
    Plans for the weekend?
    I’m coming by here to see if you have any good munchies and treats in the fridge.
    Do you have a comfy chair for me to plop down with my laptop?
    Other than that I’m going to just chill and watch football.
    You put your feet up and chill too this weekend.
    Be well Kitty Cat
     

    Reply

  16. Litespreader
    Oct 05, 2007 @ 21:06:00

    I just love you, Stephie.

    Reply

  17. Nooner™
    Oct 06, 2007 @ 07:29:53

     
    Just here to wish you a successful fund raiser today, Steph!
     
    ~Nooner~
     

    Reply

  18. Jade
    Oct 06, 2007 @ 18:14:41

    good music & creepy background🙂

    Reply

  19. KatSoup
    Oct 06, 2007 @ 22:02:40

    I hunte dup this old story of mine.  Your font is microscopic!
     

    I went back to school in 1992. When home computers were a luxury many students didnt have.  There was a girl in my class from Iraq her name was Feri, short for something she thought we could not say. I really liked her, and will never forget her. She had very shiny, beautiful, black, curly hair about shoulder length. She took a 6 wk crash course on speaking English. She spoke English well. Feri was always warm and friendly. She was very funny. She was always telling us funny stories about her new american life.
    Our Instructor gave an assignment once, and
    Feri said “Where do we find The information in our book ?”
    The teacher said “Its not in the book.”
    Feri got very upset, how would SHE find this information.
    The teacher said with a degrading tone “You’ll go to the Library“.
    Feri “ The What ?”
    We all began explaining it to her, and telling her where it was. She thought it specialized in only this info. We said No, No, you can learn about airplanes, animals, how to build a radio……anything you can think of, to look up. 
    Feri was stunned, she could not believe it. That America has a place in every county where ANYONE could go, and find out ANYTHING they want to know, and its FREE !!! This was a concept she did not understand. She did not believe she would be allowed in such a place.
    That was a life changing moment for me.
     

    Reply

  20. Seth
    Oct 07, 2007 @ 12:32:03

           _—- _    /OO|       \\   /OOO|     |  \\__
      |OOOO|              \\  |OOOO|               |�   \\OOOO/ ______ /               \\OOO/                           ~~~~~~     Hello there.  Just stopping by your space to say hello.                           /        \\     I would have dropped by sooner, but it\’s been one of those  
        |   |_     \\     weeks.  Aaaargh!              
        \\___/     |    Here\’s hoping that all is well with you.  I see that you have
      ==\\         /    been busy making changes to your space.  GREAT!  I like \’em!!! 
         _|    |  |___         Well, you will have to excuse me for
     (______)______) now.  It\’s Thanksgiving Day here in Canada and I am off to grab
                             me some breasts & thighs.   ::wink wink::  Bwhahaha!  Cheers!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

