Small world or life is strange

When I was in second grade, we moved to a town in Eastern Oregon. One of our neighbors had a daughter my age and a son who was a year older than us.
We moved many times but we would always move back to that neighborhood, so, their family were our neighbors and those two were my friends.
The son, Dan (not his real name) was the first boy I kissed. Had we not moved away at one point in my life he probably would have been the first of something else.
He was a great guy.
Fast forward to now.
He is very successful in his business. He, his wife and family live in the same town I do.
 
Two weekends ago, my oldest daughter and her boyfriend broke up.
There were a few tears and bonding with her female friends. Other than that I didn’t pry.
 
A week later, a young man from her school asks her out. Actually he painted it on the car windows… Will you go out with me?
 
They went to the movies on Friday night. He got to take his father’s corvette (Greg, you gonna let Jr. drive yours on dates? LMAO)
 
Saturday a bunch of their friends were all going to go explore some "haunted" caves.. (uh huh) I know how that goes, but they ended up playing ping pong and X-box at his house instead. (Safer and a better idea.)
 
What makes this a "small world, kinda strange" thing is, he’s the son of my old friend "Dan."
 
Our families have not kept in touch, so I think it’s kinda great and yet odd in a way. lol
 
So, in other words I had a quiet uneventful weekend. I hope you all had a great one. BIG HUGS, Steph
 
 
 
 

8 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Laoch
    Sep 10, 2007 @ 11:04:07

    That is eerie!

    Reply

  2. ZePp...
    Sep 10, 2007 @ 11:36:53

    Hmmmmm …. OK   ok  ok.. I wont ask first other….😛
    I would suggest NOT to let on to your daughter that the boy in question coulda been  a   ummmmmmm
     None boyfriend type material…. they look down on that kinda thing. 😉
     
    Had a quite weekend around my place also..
    Check ur email… I had a qeustion for ya to answer !!!!
    I am going to teach u Cribbage if its the last thing I do !!!!!
     
    Peace my friend
    ZePp 

    Reply

  3. Jade
    Sep 10, 2007 @ 17:22:59

    First of all LOVE low rider!
    second.. god I would love to get together with my \’first\’ – he moved into his parents old house right down the street… He was my first everything from age 6 up to 18😛
    sorry, got alittle carried away– that type of stuff happened in my small home town all the time..adults & thier kids all growing up here- I mean there- in the same school w/the same teachers… all connected… in more ways than one. 

    Reply

  4. R U Serious
    Sep 10, 2007 @ 17:24:15

    Wow!!  I hear Twilight Zone music!!  It\’s a little eerie but very cool actually!  What ever happened to the good old days when the guy would PHONE the girl to ask for a date or (Gasp!!) actually ask her face to face??  Hope it wasn\’t real paint!!  LOL
    xoxo,  Bob
     

    Reply

  5. Jess
    Sep 10, 2007 @ 18:35:54

    Aw that is so cool !
     
    Dude I LOVE LowRider !!!!! I always request this to the band when we go out  hahahahaha, that and the best songs ever Mustang Sally and Blackwater !
     
    Hey make sure you come by so you can see my lil\’ game, and dress me !

    Reply

  6. David
    Sep 11, 2007 @ 16:05:45

    I am sure there is a sick and twisted element here somewhere and I am pondering it like crazy.  Gotta say though, the Corvette clnches it – the guy\’s a definite keeper.  It is always odd to re-connect with someone from the long-past however peripherally.  One the one hand it is cool to see how they turned out; on the other hand, one more thing that is so over.   

    Reply

  7. Terri
    Sep 11, 2007 @ 17:39:13

    wow…but so sweet!!
    :) 

    Reply

  8. BH
    Sep 12, 2007 @ 22:16:21

    WOW!!!!  What  a great story.  Isn\’t it just amazing how small the world becomes day by day?
     
    Cheers.
    BH

    Reply

Leave a Reply

