Back to School Memories

I was reading BH’s latest post, and it seems that he believes when his car is washed and clean that it goes faster…
 
That reminded me of when I was a little girl, and it was ‘back to school’ time.
 
My brother and I (he is 2 years younger than I am) would always get a new pair of shoes for school.
 
They weren’t Keds, but they looked like Keds, you know the rounded toe that had the tip covered with rubber.
 
Once we had these new shoes, and could wear them, we would go outside and have various contests. 
 
You see, our thinking was that, because they were new shoes, that those shoes made us run faster, jump higher, and made us look cooler than the other one.
 
So before the actual races, we would do what most professional athletes do, we would attempt to psych each other out… you  know…. "I’m going to run faster because MY shoes are red!"
"No, I’m going to run faster and jump higher because mine are plaid and have all the colors."
 
Then we would brag at how fast we would actually run and how high the other could expect us to jump.
 
He was always more athletic than I was, but then again I was always  better at drawing and coloring… so I guess it came out even. lol
 
We both were pretty good at running from the teenage boys that were bully’s in our neighborhood.
I probably shouldn’t have been such a smart ass with them. lol BIG HUGS, Steph
 

7 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Laoch
    Aug 24, 2007 @ 23:35:22

    I am going to run slower because my shoes are dark black.

    Reply

  2. R U Serious
    Aug 25, 2007 @ 13:21:47

    So you\’re saying if I wear red Keds and take a shower I\’ll be able to run fast??  Maybe I\’ll shave my head and grease up the old body too!!  Then you could call me \’Flash\’ !! 
     
    xoxo,
    Bob~

    Reply

  3. Seth
    Aug 25, 2007 @ 20:57:08

    When I was in grade school, my friends and I would play “cops and robbers” during recess. Most of time I was Jim Rockford. We would “bust” other kids for doing illegal things. Until they got tired of us bothering them and threatened to kick our asses.Sometimes we would be regular cops out on patrol after school… burning rubber on our bikes. If somebody was running we’d take off after him or her with our siren going (…that siren would make us go faster it would seem) and pull them over and tell them to slow down. My manual siren was pretty impressive too!  I could be heard clear across the neighborhood… so that made me the fastest.Of course, if we weren’t doing those things we were busy being the Bionic Man. Running in slow motion and making sound effects Na-na-na-na-na-na-na-na-na.  …… sound effects made us stonger, faster and meaner.  Grrrrrrr.  :-[Guess you had to be there.
     
    Great blog Steph, thanks for the chuckles.

    Reply

  4. Jean
    Aug 26, 2007 @ 17:44:27

     TAG!! You\’re it! Come read my blog to find out about it!
    hugs,
    jean

    Reply

  5. ...
    Aug 27, 2007 @ 02:19:05

    Isnt it great how, when you really believe in something how it turns out to really be true or work? Now wheres that lottery ticket??
     
    Hugs
     
    Chris

    Reply

  6. Jane
    Aug 27, 2007 @ 13:15:43

     You?  A smart ass?  I\’m sorry but I just can\’t see it.  Next thing, you\’ll be claiming I\’M a smart ass.
    Well, then again, isn\’t it better to be a smart ass than a dumb $hit?
    I think so.
    ps – MY car definitely goes faster when it\’s clean.  Wanna race?

    Reply

  7. Jade
    Aug 27, 2007 @ 14:17:38

    I\’m busy running away from "flash" down there! Yipes! 

    Reply

Leave a Reply

