Are we there yet?

 My oldest daughter has been a tomboy for many, many years.
 
 This meant when it came to school clothes, she was happy with graphic t-shirts and jeans… up until this year.
 
She’s 16 now, and becoming a beautiful young woman, who’s decided that she likes to dress nice for school. This means, shopping at some of the more expensive stores, like Ambercrabie and Fitch, yes I know it’s really Abercrombie and Fitch, but I enjoy how it pisses them off when I mispronounce things (it’s the little things).
 
This is the first year that hubby has had to pay for new bras for all of us (I like to get in on the gravy train once in awhile), and they didn’t want undies from Fruit of the Loom, but ones from the dept. store we bought our bras at. Quality is not cheap.
 
Let me preface this with… I think my hubby is probably THE tightest man when it comes to money, so this year when ‘back to school’ was a lot more than what he had figured, he spent the whole day moaning, groaning, bitching, whining, complaining, telling anyone he spoke to, how he was being taken advantage of. Let’s just say his mood was not a pleasant one.
 
My father has a defibrillator for his heart, and if hubby had one it would have gone off almost constantly the past few days. 
 
If it were just me, he wouldn’t have spent a dime, but because it’s the girls he pretty much has to. lol
(This is the only time of the year I can get new bras etc.)
 
By the end of yesterday, having to spend more money and…. actually having to take us to lunch, I was expecting to have to take him to the ER with a heart attack! lol
 
I pointed out how lucky he’s been, starting out with 2 boys, and how up until now having girls that didn’t really care much about clothes, BUT, then I delivered the coup de grace,…. I reminded him that our oldest daughter now has a boyfriend, and is a junior in high school which means….. PROM!!!!!!!!!! (bwahahahahahaha) I get my jollies where I can. BIG HUGS, Steph
 
 

14 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. R U Serious
    Aug 21, 2007 @ 11:53:13

    HAHAHA!!!!  Your poor hubby,,, well not really!!  But in a few days when his heart rate lowers, you know what will happen!!  He\’ll be bragging to everyone about how generous he is!!  Tell me I\’m wrong!!  Oh, and good thinking jumping on THAT gravy train!!
     
    Take care and stay cool,
    xoxo  Bob~

    Reply

  2. Kat
    Aug 21, 2007 @ 12:03:47

    If he were my husband–he wouldnt have to wait for his heart pump to keel out.  I\’d smother him in his sleep… ;) 

    Reply

  3. Laoch
    Aug 21, 2007 @ 15:33:00

    Every day is a good shopping day.

    Reply

  4. Delete52Mitch
    Aug 21, 2007 @ 16:08:34

     Congratulations on your new wardrobe! Things are looking up! To show your husband that you, too, have a frugal side, you could cut the old ones in half and make beenie caps out of them. Complete with chin straps!

    Reply

  5. KatSoup
    Aug 21, 2007 @ 16:23:50

    New Bras whoo hoo!
    I remember buying Jon 100.00 tennis shoes for school.  That was his thing. 
    When I was in high school my dad didn\’t want to hear about braziers and such so he gave me a credit card with a limit.
    Which I never took advantage of.😛

    Reply

  6. David
    Aug 22, 2007 @ 04:24:59

    So bras are sold on gravy trains?  Who knew?  The vagaries of womanhood are  always a mystery.  Boyfriend!  Prom!  And then the wedding!  Thanks for reminding me how much i like being single.

    Reply

  7. suzy
    Aug 23, 2007 @ 10:43:41

     i cant decide if i like Mitch\’s suggestion or Kat\’s best…time to flip a coin.

    Reply

  8. Faerie
    Aug 23, 2007 @ 12:17:43

    Hee hee hee…I just keep that sort of information away from the hubby…truly as far as money is concerned, what he doesn\’t know, won\’t kill him! Although I have to remind him sometimes….and he did purchase all of the school supplies this year (he is STILL moaning!!) That doesn\’t even include the undies, socks, bras, shoes, tennies, band instruments, soccer gear, or any of the other extra curricular activities…  Once I made him go grocery shopping with me, so he could see how calculated and time consuming it is….and when we filled two carts (I shop once a month) and checked out for just under $500, (after $40 in coupons!) I thought he would have a coronary right there!  He\’s never gone again, he goes weak in the knees when I even mention it!  A little perspective is a good thing every once in a while!!

    Reply

  9. tressie
    Aug 23, 2007 @ 18:31:33

    OH MY……I sat in HOllister the other day for HOURS – then it was A and F – by the way I saw a GREAT shirt that said it just about the way you did – it was GREAT!!  My daughter wouldn\’t even look at me when I tried it on.  Party Poopers.  ugh!  She\’s about the same age as your daughter.  and BRAS! for cheer they had to get a specific VICTORIAS SECRET bra at the cost ofo $55 buckaroos – hellshitdammit!!  WHEW!  I didn\’t buy those things till I was in my 30\’s!  What is WITH this world??  lol  ttfn ~ tressie  your comments cracked me up – glad you liked the music – first time i heard it I was HOOKED!

    Reply

  10. Leah
    Aug 23, 2007 @ 22:13:26

     Well when i need a new bra, i hit the victoria secret sale online baby. Then I manage to charge my credit card bill up to a undisclosed amount….

    Reply

  11. Jane
    Aug 24, 2007 @ 10:34:38

     Wow, I wish I could get my tight-wad hubby to spring for new bras.  I\’m having big problems with the hiking-up today.  I bought new ones for the 4 other boobs in the family and have no money left for my own.  Sad story, I know.  My daughters were sweet to point out that it\’s really too late for me, anyway.  Apparently after 40 you can just let them droop to your knees because life is pretty much over.  Who knew. 

    Reply

  12. Jess
    Aug 24, 2007 @ 18:24:27

     Ha if I mention the words "bra or panties, or anything girlie"  to my husband he throws money and says " here go do it and don\’t talk about that shit anymore !" lmfao….Only one time I went to buy "tampons" and spent ALOT, that took some talking to get out of but he finally realizes that the newest type of sanitary products are top secret-expensive and only sold at department stores…..

    Reply

  13. Seth
    Aug 25, 2007 @ 21:18:22

    Of sacrifices I recall,One stands out clear to me.Like when my wife asks me to come,With her on shopping sprees.
     
    A man knows what he wants to get,And buys it on the spot.But a woman must deliberate,If she should buy or not.
    I tag along from store to store,And hope she soon will find.And item that at last she likes,So she\’ll make up her mind.
    I may be treading on thin ice,With this analogy,But anyway, I\’ll take a chance.It seems so right to me.
    It\’s much like when I\’ve walked my dog,And waited patiently, For him to to pause and sniff and scratch.Then try out every tree.
     
    I feel I\’d rather walk the dog,Than plod through stores and shops.With him, at least, I have a leash;To cut down on his stops.
    Man has will, but woman has her way.  Bwhahahaha!  There\’s so much truth to the saying "… If women didn\’t exist, all the money in the world would have no meaning…"   Bwhahaha!   But we still love you all!  (((smiles)))

    Reply

  14. Jerry
    Sep 08, 2007 @ 07:55:28

     You may want to rent a defibrilator when the first daughter presents her wedding plans to Dad, especially when she breaks the news that she wants him to wear a tux. Speaking from personal experience. I only have one daughter; he will have it to go through twice.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

