The week, and weekend in review… part of it anyway

 It’s been one of those weeks. I woke up with two eyes that make me look like some alien creature. One is red blood shot and the other has a burst blood vessel. I have no idea how I did it… in my sleep?
 
I’ve noticed that some of the people I visit in Blogville have been posting about dreams, or embarrassing moments.
Dreams… I don’t really remember most of my dreams. I prefer it that way, when I do, they are, less than pleasant.
Once in awhile I do have one that I enjoy. I’m running from someone or something, and suddenly I realize… I can fly! Why run when you can fly?
Thing is, I’m terrified of heights, so, instead of really taking off up into the wild blue yonder… I float, about a foot or two off the ground. Either way it makes for an easier escape.
 
In the summer, the evenings are my favorite time to be outside. Depending on the area, the farmers are either cutting the alfalfa, or, my favorite, peppermint. I LOVE the smell of peppermint on a warm summer breeze.
 
This week has been our own little county fair. My girls have gone every night. I finally went today.
Each year as I survey the dwindling number of entries for crafts, cooking, sewing etc. I make a promise to myself to use the coming year to make a bunch of things to enter….
I made that same promise to myself today. lol
 
This morning I was scoping out the food vender’s so that I had an idea what I was going to buy for dinner. One place is doing Cajun/southern food. Smoked ribs, smoked chicken, brisket, pulled pork, dirty rice, beans, jambalaya, crayfish ettoufee…
I was hooked the minute I saw their menu. It’s not something we can get around here.
One of the gentlemen asked if he could help me, and I told him I was planning dinner.
He said that the hottest thing on the menu was their Cajun potatoes. I told him I like hot and spicy, to which he says, "Wanna try our hottest hot sauce?" The other guy rolled his eyes when I said, "YES!" LOL
 
I thought maybe he would put a drop or two on a cracker or something similar… he hands me a toothpick. He opens the bottle and dips just the tiny tip of it in the sauce and gives it to me.
I’m thinking how bad can this be? I love hot and spicy, and I’m no light weight. Well…. I started sweating almost immediately, and my mouth was burning for about a half hour.
They thought it was pretty funny, and told me one guy came and put 8 drops of it on his food. They told him there was no way he was gonna be able to eat it all. About half way through he finally admitted they were right. lol
 
I don’t think it’s a hot sauce so much as a chemical weapon of war! (I hope I remember where I wrote the name of that stuff down. I have a few family members…..)
 
There’s been a rodeo going on every night of the week. Tonight is the night they crown the Queen and Princesses.
They have all kinds of entertainment going on during the day.
As I was leaving it was a group of young men in traditional kilts, long hair, pulled back in pony tails, some with tattoos… I must say, there is something very sexy about a man in a kilt, especially when he has good legs and muscular arms….
Just an observation…
 
How’s your weekend going?
 
OH, as for the embarrassing moment. I’ll post that at a later date. lol BIG HUGS, Steph

20 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Leah
    Aug 04, 2007 @ 21:27:55

     Well you already know how part of my week has been. I have to post some new pics cause Mama got her\’s ears pierced. They are in my myspace but I will blog about my weekend right now for you cause so far it SUCKS DICK!  Figuratively and litteratlivly.

    Reply

  2. R U Serious
    Aug 04, 2007 @ 22:01:14

    You know how much I love fairs and I know you do too!  I was hoping the tile people would show up there :(   Did that hot sauce have the words \’Habanero\’ or \’Dutch Bonnet\’ anywhere on the bottle???  And did you buy a bottle for Dennis??  LOL!  You could slip it into everything!!!!
     
    Talk soon,
    xoxo  Bob~

    Reply

  3. Laoch
    Aug 05, 2007 @ 01:43:39

    I crave jambalaya now.  I am not sure about this concept of "too spicy".  How could such a thing be possible?

    Reply

  4. Jane
    Aug 05, 2007 @ 09:54:35

    Mmm, etoufee!  I am hungry now.  I love spicy, but things in the habanero neighborhood are too much for me.  I like flavor, not just pure BURN!!!!
    As for my weekend… fair to partly boring.  Except for the fun I\’ve been having terrorizing Bob.  That always makes life worth living.  ;o)
     

    Reply

  5. Jane
    Aug 05, 2007 @ 09:56:17

    Mmm, etoufee!  I am hungry now.  I love spicy, but things in the habanero neighborhood are too much for me.  I like flavor, not just pure BURN!!!!
    As for my weekend… fair to partly boring.  Except for the fun I\’ve been having terrorizing Bob.  That always makes life worth living.  ;o)
     

    Reply

  6. Jane
    Aug 05, 2007 @ 09:57:35

    And Spaces said "Whatever that genius Jane has to say must be DOUBLY important"… 

    Reply

  7. Harold
    Aug 05, 2007 @ 12:47:10

    Well hun they shut down my space…..
     
    Will see u around tho 😀
    ZePp 

    Reply

  8. Yours Truly
    Aug 05, 2007 @ 16:43:59

     
    Hi Steph,
    I\’m glad you had fun at the county fair.
    ~Truly
     

    Reply

  9. BH
    Aug 05, 2007 @ 21:37:12

     You like hot and spicy?  NO!
     
    There\’s a funny BBQ joint out here where one of the proprietors walks around at lunch literally harassing the customers.  He barks at them all with his Low-Easy-Anne accent and asks everyone if they want to meet "The Man".  The Man is a wicked potion of some nasty habanero nuclear acid similar to your toothpick sauce.  Nasty. 
     
    Kilts.  Well, if a man is gonna wear one he\’s gotta be able to, well, wear one.  We like to going to highland games once in a while.  Fun to watch the goings on.  I don\’t have much hair to do the ponytail bit though ;-) 
     
    Most embarassing moments?  My list is way too long.  I\’m a walking embarassment to myself and all around me.  I cringe at myself.  *shudders*.
     
    Cheers,
    BH
     
     

    Reply

  10. Lou
    Aug 06, 2007 @ 00:56:08

    The county fair sounds like fun…but I think I would have passed on the hot sauce.  Can\’t wait to hear about the embarrassing moment!
     
    It\’s official–you\’ve been inducted into the "Sidewalk-Of-Fame"!  Congratulations.  Just think…you\’re only one of three people in the entire world who belong to that elite club.  (feel free to celebrate!) 

    Reply

  11. Nooner™
    Aug 06, 2007 @ 04:22:59

     
    I think I\’ll go shopping for a kilt today. HaHaHa.
     
    ~Nooner~
     

    Reply

  12. DragonBoy
    Aug 06, 2007 @ 07:55:01

     
    Wotcha Steph… Bit of a lightweight when it comes to the hot stuff although I do like my friday night curry… just not too hot and spicy…. although normally I\’ve already filled up with starters to eat too much curry…
     
    samosa\’s… chicken penang bites…. pakora\’s… onion bahji\’s…  ***mouth starts to water***
     
    Aaaaaah man… wanna curry now…
     
    Thanks steph!!!!!!
     
    **Cheeky grin**
    DB
     
     
     
       

    Reply

  13. Kat
    Aug 06, 2007 @ 10:26:54

    Mmmmm pony tailed muscly men in kilts…purrrrrr purrrrrr
    *sorry….I drooled on your blog*
    *wipe wipe blush blush* 

    Reply

  14. Litespreader
    Aug 06, 2007 @ 10:56:11

    Pony tails, muscles, and kilts.. oh my!  In Oklahoma, where I saw the only rodeos I\’ve seen, none of the guys had kilts on…  oh!  Did I not read that right??  My dad used to grow every kind of hot pepper, and ate a few atlunch and dinner..   He\’d sit there, sniffling, and sweating the whole time.He had read they were good for your heart, so he dove into it.  Oh, well.At least he had some experiences in dining that relatively few people do!Missin ya, Stephie.  I\’m off to work again..😉

    Reply

  15. Greg
    Aug 06, 2007 @ 16:08:23

     
    Meow!!!
    I love the smell of cut grass or alfalfa.
    Now cut peppermint…That must smell wonderful.
    I love hot and spicy food too. However, not where it takes away the taste of the food.
    This is kind of a side note…I heard on the radio the other day where a chef was telling about the time he was preparing salsa and forgot to was his hands before he took a whiz. Ummm…That’s all I have to say about that.
    Now Kitty don’t be looking up men’s skirts. Well, at least don’t be so obvious.
    Fun as always to visit. You all be well and safe, Greg 

    Reply

  16. Jean
    Aug 06, 2007 @ 22:50:08

     OOhhh! Men in kilts! Woohoo! Love  \’em! I love the new mown hay, grass, peppermint.. smells like summer. And love rodeos. Men in tight jeans is almost as good as kilts! I like hot stuff, but I\’m fairly lightweight. Not too hot. I do love a good jambalaya, though..and good dirty rice. Now you\’re makin\’ me crave some cajun. May have to make some. Can\’t wait to hear the embarrassing moment!
    hugs,
    Jean

    Reply

  17. ...
    Aug 08, 2007 @ 16:12:26

    Dirty Rice? Jambalya? etoffee? See I can t even spell them let alone know what the heck they are. Kilts. Now there is something I can tell you all about lol.
     
    Be safe
     
    Hugs
     
    Chris

    Reply

  18. Maria
    Aug 08, 2007 @ 18:53:51

     You should never agree to ty the hottest sauce!  I did that once at a shop (they gave me a little on a pretzel) and I thought I would die!  I then, out of desperation, got a bottle of water, which of course only made it worse.  I was miserable for at least 20 minutes. I think I might have killed some taste buds!

    Reply

  19. Delete52Mitch
    Aug 08, 2007 @ 21:37:02

    I went to college at the University of Southwestern Louisiana so I\’m crazy for Cajun food, too. You gotta watch out for that hot sauce, though.  Hope your eyes are in the pink again, figuratively that is.

    Reply

  20. KatSoup
    Aug 10, 2007 @ 18:00:38

     The dreams I remember are usually of me being chased too, but i can\’t fly.  I put a haberno <sp> pepper to my mouth and had to paste my face with sour cream!
    Being Irish I have seen men in kilts all my life.  Good thing they only let certain ones out in public. 
     
    BTW- Drew Carey looks like a giant penis wth glasses! 

    Reply

Leave a Reply

