Don’t forget your gloves and parasol Miss

 My oldest daughter just turned 16, and is now, "legal" dating age.
 
There is a young man who’s liked her for a long time, and they have gone on group dates before.
He’s a nice kid and I was really impressed that his father actually called me to make sure it was OK with me.
 
In a conversation the other day she says, "Mom?" "I’m old enough to date now right?" I said, "Yes, as long as he’s a nice boy and treats you with respect."
 
She says, "OH he is and don’t worry, I can beat him up!" LOL
 
Funny how all it takes is my daughter ready to date to turn me into Ms Victorian.
 
"When will Master Cody be calling on you, Miss Alaura?"
 
She’s lucky she doesn’t live during the time of my Italian great-grandparents.
 
 He was not even allowed to touch her hand, and they had to always have another person with them.
The story goes that one day she was not wearing gloves, and he, seeing an opportunity, gave her some almonds, and thus touching her hand.
By doing so, he was obligated to propose… which he says was his plan anyway. lol
 

14 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. ...
    Jul 11, 2007 @ 15:31:30

    My daughter is just 11. Just lets say when she starts dating (35) I will be somewhat like you in my attitude. He had better come prepared for some serious questioning alos. By the way you think 35 is too early to let her date?
     
    Be safe
     
    Yellow

    Reply

  2. Jean
    Jul 11, 2007 @ 17:13:42

    Well, I think Yellow\’s daughter may have his number! She\’ll probably be too scared to bring anyone around!
     I think it\’s great the boy\’s father actually called to check. That\’s really a good sign they\’re on top of his activity! Good luck with the nerves…lol
    hugs,
    Jean

    Reply

  3. Litespreader
    Jul 11, 2007 @ 21:02:55

    ".. I can beat him up."  Classic.  I love this girl…

    Reply

  4. R U Serious
    Jul 11, 2007 @ 23:32:31

    I can\’t beleive that Alaura is 16!!  Wasn\’t she 9 or 10 when we met??  So do I call you Ms. Victorian Kitty? LMAO!!  I feel soooo like Rhett Butler!!!  Glad you liked the pics of Baxter and Buzz!!  I just posted pics of the tree removal and of the \’sand man\’ dumping in our yard! LOL!  Like 78 pics!!
     
    So when do the gloves and parasol arrive?!!  "I can beat him up"!!  ROFLMAO!!!!!
     
    xoxo,  Bob~

    Reply

  5. Jade
    Jul 12, 2007 @ 07:35:58

    Fantastic that the father called-wow!
    Sounds like she has a good head on her shoulders like her mom😀
     

    Reply

  6. Shari
    Jul 12, 2007 @ 10:09:32

    Hi Steph,
    Thank you so much for the kind words on my site.  It\’s great to have that positive support.
     
    And, I\’m with you all the way on the dating thing.  T is only 8 right now, but I dread the time.  I\’m pretty sure she could handle herself too!  lol  Funny about the old Italian tradition; I used to date an Italian and we weren\’t allowed to hold hands outside in the yard.  It was so funny, so I thought…  But they were dead serious.  Oh well.
     
    Kudos for your daughter, keep up the good attitude girl.  ~hugs~ right back at ya

    Reply

  7. suzy
    Jul 12, 2007 @ 13:44:57

    "Alaura"?  What a beautiful name.  And smart girl…one should always keep a man at arm\’s length unless he is offering chocolate.  Then it\’s every woman for herself!

    Reply

  8. Allissa
    Jul 13, 2007 @ 00:01:18

    Try here…http://flyingpurplemoose.blogspot.com/I am just setting it up now so it is not fun and exciting yet. I am finally at a point where I do have a lot to write about and want to get going again. But now on windows live. My computer at home has one hell of a time loading spaces.

    Reply

  9. DragonBoy
    Jul 13, 2007 @ 01:34:41

     
    Hiya Kitty… Just a-zoomin\’ by to wish you a great weekend.
    ***crazy wave***
     
    DB

    Reply

  10. BH
    Jul 13, 2007 @ 10:37:44

    Great story!  I\’m sure your daughter has a solid head on her shoulders and won\’t get into trouble.  I think it\’s great that the boy\’s dad called.  That\’s a great lesson for the young lad to learn about respect.  It pisses me off to no end when a guy treats a woman with zero class.  It all starts at home.  I try to set the best example I can at home with my wife.  I don\’t always succeed when BH-The-Jackass personality shows up but hopefully my boys will be gents when they get older😉
     
    Stay cool in that hot weather you got up there.
     
    Cheers,
    BH

    Reply

  11. J W
    Jul 13, 2007 @ 16:01:58

    Wonderful story about your daughter now at dating age.  Now, how about you with all of this?  If I had a daughter I would probably chain her up until she was at least 30.  Oh yeah, I would surly show all her male friends my gun collection!!  Don\’t worry mom, I\’m sure she was raised to be a true lady.
     
    J.W.L.

    Reply

  12. Jane
    Jul 13, 2007 @ 18:43:11

    Good luck, Mom!  I don\’t care what people say – teenage girls are so much fun.  I wouldn\’t trade mine for anything.

    Reply

  13. Yours Truly
    Jul 14, 2007 @ 15:12:30

     
    Hi Steph,
    This is a cute story about your great-grandparents. 
    ~Truly
     

    Reply

  14. SAAM
    Jul 14, 2007 @ 19:24:13

    "I can beat him up!"
    I love it!!!!!!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

