The start of summer

 Today was the last day of school for my girls, and just like the past 19 years, on the last day I made, cream puffs.
 
 
 
It started innocently enough when my oldest was in kindergarten. He wanted me to do something special for his class at the end of the year, and he’s always loved cream puffs, sooooooo, the year was 1988.
 
 He remembered and wanted me to do the same for his first grade class.
 
When my second oldest, Nick, started kindergarten, he was ready with this same request.
Hence a tradition was born.
 
Some of the most difficult years were when I had 3 in school at the same time, and had to make approx 130 of them.
This year was easy, my youngest is in a class of 24, and my oldest daughter just picked her favorite teachers and coaches.
 
My youngest is moving up to Jr High this next school year, and I thought I was permanently done with, last day, cream puffs… that is until my oldest reminded me that my grandson will be starting school in 3 years, and guess what???? LOL
At least I’ll have a break!
 
 
Other than making cream puffs and making sure our new fence was installed, we went to my oldest daughter’s softball bbq. She, lettered, and made all conference team, for our district. OK, I have no idea what that really is, but I do know it’s a nice honor. 
 
 It was up at the dam, with lots of good food. The water was too cold to go swimming (for me anyway), but most of the girls jumped in.
 
I hope you are all safe and enjoying your summer.
 
Now, I wanna hear about any of your traditions and how they got started. 
 BIG HUGS, Steph
 

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Delete52Mitch
    May 31, 2007 @ 22:47:26

    Dear Steph, Thanks for all the kind comments you had about the stories on my Web space. You have quite a space here, and those creme puffs look devine. (My mom never made them!) May I add you to my list of friends? Mitch

    Reply

  2. tressie
    Jun 01, 2007 @ 00:42:40

    oh man!  i love cream puffs – i used to make them when i was a teen – back when i usesd to cook now and again.  I had to stop ~ on the way to read your blog ~ to see those hunky doods again – yum yumm – so sad when we are to old to control the drool at the side of our mouth isn\’t it?   heehee – your food looks yum  too!  have a great weekend – ttfn ~ tressie  (i\’ll come back for the tradition thing – i\’m on pain killers right now and imight just open up and embarrass myself in that state of mind lol)

    Reply

  3. Jane
    Jun 01, 2007 @ 17:21:03

    Oh my, I just drooled ALL over my keyboard.  I LOVE creampuffs!  Luckily you can\’t buy good ones very many places and it\’s a pain to make them otherwise I would look EXACTLY like one of those little babies…. only larger… very MUCH larger.
     
    You are a rockin mom – if they had been for my kids they never would have made it to school!

    Reply

  4. SAAM
    Jun 16, 2007 @ 08:44:32

    Ok, they look good!!!!
    From Junior Kindergarten until Grade 6, I used to make little Christmas bags for everyone in Marissa\’s class. They had some chocolate and Christmas treats, gum, Christmas pencil and whatever else I could find. She says she was too old for that this past Christmas.  I liked making them

    Reply

Leave a Reply

