Are we having fun yet?

 It’s been 10 years since I had a 2 year old in my home (full time).
I’m amazed at how fast I forgot some of the basics, and how my home is no longer toddler proof.
There’s a good reason people have their kids when they are young. It’s so that they can keep up with them! lol
 
Here’s a few things I’ve learned, or been reminded of this past week.
 
Two year olds have tons of energy, and hair trigger tempers.
 
They know enough to try and communicate, but get easily frustrated when their language isn’t understood.
 
Candy is a great motivator, as is going outside to see the bunny. (I know I’m terrible!) LOL
 
Fish tanks are a magnet that can’t be ignored or left alone.
 
Fish like, honey,Teddy Grahams. Fish don’t like, jelly beans. (No matter how many time’s I tell him that, as soon as he gets a chance, he puts them in the tank)
 
Gold fish and Betta’s are stupid enough to let a 2 year old scoop them out of their tank with his bare hands. 
 
My toilet can handle a lot more toilet paper than I previously thought.
 
The other day a gentleman came by to pick up my old fridge. He busted a hole in the drywall by the door. That hole is now full of small toys, pieces of sandwich, lego’s and anything else he can fit in there.
 
Shopping with a two year old is exhausting. Trying to get him to try on new sandals is futile. (This is where candy works miracles)
 
When you are at a park with toys and a sandbox, and take off your little one’s shoes and socks so he can play in the sand barefoot, you find that every other little boy and girl expect you to then take off their shoes and socks.
 
Trying to get a 2 year old to take a nap… frustrating (so I made sure he was worn out by the end of the day!)
 
Nothing stops tears as fast as a promise of a bubble bath.
 
I know there are many more things, but, I’m just too tired to remember them. lol
 
Last but not least…
It’s amazing how 11 cats can hide all week, yet still manage to get fed.
So far none of them have shared their hiding place with me… the little farts! lol
 
I hope you all have a wonderful holiday. BIG HUGS, Steph
 

9 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Jade
    May 25, 2007 @ 15:52:04

    YAAAAAAY!!!!!!!!  You\’re BAAACK  :D😀 :DDDcrap, I missed you!!lol about the hole stuffed with toys….BIG hug (arrrg)

    Reply

  2. R U Serious
    May 25, 2007 @ 17:23:54

    WOW!!  Are you having a fun week or what?!?!?  LMAO at the cats hiding for w week!!  And the hole stuffed with toys and pieces of sandwich!!  Maybe that\’s the cats\’ hideout, inside of the walls!
     
    Hope you have a great holiday weekend!!
    xoxo

    Reply

  3. t i m
    May 26, 2007 @ 08:06:57

    Aww, kids are meant to create plenty of mischief.😉
     
    You have 11 cats? Wow, do you ever forget which is which?
     
    I\’d hate to be called by someone else\’s name if I was a cat.🙂

    Reply

  4. Greg
    May 26, 2007 @ 13:18:47

    Teehee!!! Eleven smart cats know how to hide. Too funny!!!
     
    This little toddler has not found the little chocolate treats in the sand box yet???

    Reply

  5. Nooner™
    May 26, 2007 @ 17:12:27

     
    HaHaHa
    This was so enjoyable to read, Steph!
    Have a great Memorial Day Weekend.
     
    ~Nooner~
     

    Reply

  6. Jane
    May 29, 2007 @ 11:33:29

    Fun times!  Brought back some memories.
    I\’m kind of stuck on the 11-cat part, too.  How do you keep track?  I have trouble with TWO.

    Reply

  7. TheSpeedofLife
    May 30, 2007 @ 21:25:37

    ROFL!!!  That\’s hilarious….my SIL just asked me two days ago whether or not we were planning to have more kids…I\’m like are you CRAZY???  Two is plenty and mine are at the age where I won\’t be reported for child slavery hahahahahaha.  I like it, I dole out chores; if they are done, the kids get paid if not I take away the PSPs.  No toddler tantrums or dirty diapers although occasionally (yet very, very rarely) do I get baby blues.

    Reply

  8. Leah
    May 31, 2007 @ 19:40:33

    You spent a week with two 3 year olds and a baby and you still forgot all this???? Are you out of your mind? I agree with Kat, I am DONE!

    Reply

  9. Alien Purlo
    Jun 04, 2007 @ 08:36:49

    hi
    nice blog there !
    i don think i\’ll hve kids any soon , an ( i don think i\’m intending to, any far , … )
    but i liked this entry , it\’s funny :]
    i guess it\’s not the worst thing in life after all !
     
    hve great WEAK !
    ^^

    Reply

Leave a Reply

