Oh the fun!

 My refrigerator has been going out. The bottom part isn’t staying cold, and I’ve thrown away, I don’t know how many gallons of milk that have gone bad.
 
 I’m finally fed up, so, armed with Consumer Report’s ratings on refrigerators, and printed pages of Sears online sales, I’m off to find (hopefully) a great deal on a big fridge.
This time I’m going for the freezer on the bottom, and as long as it’s not white, I’ll be a happy camper.
 
 My girls want the ice and water in the door, which, I’m not all that sure about. I can see it now, the neighbor kids over here, holding the button in and laughing as the ice goes all over the place… or, my girls teaching the cats how to push the water button in, and I come home to find my kitchen flooded with water, and no one else (but some innocent looking cats) around. They might blame the dog… it’s just how they roll. lol
 
 Anyone wanna come traipse around stores with me today? My oldest gave me a definite NO, and my youngest is going to a party at the recreation center. It’s a "meet miss gem county", make a crown, and have lunch. I was SUPPOSED to be able to go, but, I’m in my "Bobby Hill" mode. Did you ever see the episode where he was on medication, and he says, "The milk in the refrigerator will go bad in , 5… 4….3… 2… 1……"
 
Have a fun weekend. BIG HUGS, Steph
 
Update… Can someone tell me why having a freezer on the bottom is so much more expensive? I almost went with a ‘side by side’ but at the last minute saw an Amana in their mock kitchen. It said, "Last one" and was marked down from 2300.00, to 1650.00. I asked Mike, my sales guy, if it was the last one will they be willing to come down even more. He said he’d ask. They came down to 1325.00. It’s a 23 cu ft. one big door on top, freezer on the bottom. It’s black. I really wanted stainless steel, but, black is nice too. I like that it has the filtered water dispenser on the inside. The ice maker is in the freezer. It’s NICE! They are delivering it Tuesday.
 
Oh, I also bought a new lawn mower. It’s a Toro, and has an electric start. Toro was one of the best rated by Consumer Reports. They were having a good sale, what can I say? LOL
 
Now, I hear there’s a party over in the tools section…. or is it the big screen tv section? What the heck let’s do both!
BIG HUGS, Steph

13 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Bob
    Apr 14, 2007 @ 17:55:54

    ooooooo!!!!!!!!!!!   I\’ll go with you!!!!  We going to Sears???   Can I look at tools???  (makes monkey sounds!)   You sound like you are very well prepared to fridge shop.  Sears almost always has some on sale!!  Pick a winner😉
     
    We got one with the icemaker and water dispenser INSIDE!!
     
    Talk to you later!
    xoxo
     

    Reply

  2. Greg
    Apr 15, 2007 @ 18:40:09

    You have to have water and ice in the door as long as you have a water hook-up behind where your "new" fridge will go?
    I\’m with Bob…I\’ll be in the tool section or big screen tv\’s…
    Have a splendid week, Greg
     

    Reply

  3. Litespreader
    Apr 15, 2007 @ 20:20:18

    I love Bobby Hill..  so funny you brought him up.  There are sooo many coolappliances these days.  Clothes shopping, I hate!  But I can get excited aboutappliances..  by the way, I\’ll be hangin out in the tool section with Bob and Greg, too.  Heck, let\’s just make it a party! 😉

    Reply

  4. Harold
    Apr 15, 2007 @ 22:22:44

    Nice choice.. n sweet deal on talking them down more !!!!!! WAY TO GO !!!!
    I will be looking for a couple of different mosses to cover a hillside the next couple of days as I am replacing the grass so I dont have to mow it   
    ;-) 
     
     …now if I could just get someone else to take care of the other 2 1/4 acres.. I would be a reallll happy camper   lmao
     
    ZePp

    Reply

  5. Sher
    Apr 16, 2007 @ 09:23:26

    Oh how weird! My fridge died on Saturday as well. I\’ve been packing it with ice since then – about 15 bags so far. I\’m pretty sure mine just needs freon as the fans still run – should run me around $60.00 – cant afford a new one yet! (Certainly couldn\’t afford a repairman\’s weekend fees either!)
     
    Now, I have fridge envy.
     
    Alas.

    Reply

  6. Jade
    Apr 16, 2007 @ 17:06:29

    I reallyy like black appliences, They don;t show all the finger prints like the steele…
    I thought ice dispencers were a waste until we got one, now I have my bourban & cherry coke on ice with a straw ;P
    I drink more water now also with it…

    Reply

  7. tressie
    Apr 16, 2007 @ 19:03:27

    haha – another sucked in by the kenmore giant!!  (just teasing – we bought and died in the Sears home department too – thought my husband would DIE !!  before we got out of there it was adding up so fast -THEN i forgot to send in the rebates DAMN!!)  i forgot i was in a parenthesi there – is that the singular of parenthesis?  we love our new (old now really) fridge.  NEVER enough room – but DANG that milk is soooooo cold it all but freezes – and THAT is how i like it – *smack*  ttfn ~ tressie

    Reply

  8. Jess
    Apr 16, 2007 @ 19:40:32

    Ohhhhh you\’re all fancy schmancy with the freezer on the bottom now ain\’t ya !?!?
     
    I have black appliances too and lemme tell you that I love it ! My cousin went and bought all stainless when I bought ours. Hers are always messy…smudges, fingerprints, water drops all over, and even when you wipe it down the cloth leaves streaks unless you use the cleaner every 5 minutes ..oy..that\’s too much work for me –I have 70 fingers in this house to leave fingerprints ! lol…oh and a big dumb dog that will put his nose all over shit too !
     
    Oh the Toro…my Grandpa wouldn\’t be caught dead in anything but a Toro baby !😉
     

    Reply

  9. Jane
    Apr 16, 2007 @ 20:35:21

    Am I the only one who has no idea what Tressie said…..? 
    But congrats on the new coldbox.  We had one of the old freezer on the bottom ones.  I loved it!  Unfortunately it died before they made a comeback.  You are right, they do think a lot of them price-wise.  Ouch.  Ah well, next time, but I won\’t give up my ice and water in the door.  So much more sanitary when you have rugrats around – no grubby fingers in the ice.  Yum.

    Reply

  10. Brian
    Apr 17, 2007 @ 11:10:17

    Oh yeah baby.  Appliance shopping is so damned sexy.  Sounds like you got a sweet deal!!  I know when we redid our kitchen last year we got all kinds of discounts without even asking. 
     
    And you bought a Toro too?  Holy crap!  You\’re a dream date!  ;-)  Toros rock.  If you take care of it it\’ll last forever.  Even if you don\’t take care of it it\’ll last almost forever.  I love my Toro.
     
    Cheers,
    BH

    Reply

  11. Nooner™
    Apr 19, 2007 @ 06:35:34

     
    Getting new equipment in one\’s house is exciting! Good for you that you are getting such a nice new fridge. Enjoy it!
     
    ~Nooner~
     

    Reply

  12. Shari
    Apr 19, 2007 @ 16:07:38

    Hey Steph, just checking in.  Congrats on your new "toys".  The fridge sounds real nice.  Have a great weekend.
    Shari

    Reply

  13. Unknown
    Aug 18, 2008 @ 10:38:07

    Welcome (wow gold) and (wow power leveling) trading site, (wow gold) are cheap, (wow power leveling) credibility Very good! Quickly into the next single! Key words directly to the website click on transactions!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

