Books and Movies

 Yesterday I read, "Eragon" and today I rented the movie.
 I really enjoyed the book, and was looking forward to the movie.
 
 I know from the past that movies are never as good as the book. My imagination and the writing is better than a director’s ‘vision’.
 
 The movie was OK, but they took too many liberties, changing things, adding things that weren’t in the book.
 
 I am impressed that the author is a young man. Very young. I think he was about 19 when he wrote it.
 
 I’m looking forward to reading the next book in the series.
 
 Oh and I enjoy ruining certain things for my kids, especially movies. Since they hadn’t read the book and knew the clues, they had no idea that Eragon and Murtagh are brothers.
 
 OK, I do that for TV shows too. I watch CSI or Law and Order with them and can usually tell them who the killer is within the first 15 minutes or so. lol
 Most of the time I get, "Mom HOW do you do that?" lol  
 
 There was a, Werecat in the book, and those stupid movie makers left him out… one of the best characters. I was looking forward to seeing that special effect.
BIG HUGS, Steph
 
My music is again from the summer of 1970… what can I say, it was a good summer.
Mungo Jerry, "In the Summertime"
 
 

9 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Harold
    Apr 11, 2007 @ 17:28:54

    will have to check that one out. looked decent for a movie.. but will read the book n get the "good" story
     
    ZePp

    Reply

  2. Greg
    Apr 11, 2007 @ 18:00:32

    Glad to know you are a reformed boob-flasher.
    Nice pic\’s and sounded like a wonderful time.
    Steph I recognized what you said on my blog and I will take that to prayer.
    Your kids have a awesome mom and you are an awesome person.
    God see\’s your faithfulness.
    Be well, Greg
     

    Reply

  3. Litespreader
    Apr 11, 2007 @ 19:34:15

    Thanks for the song, Steph.. brings back so many memories..

    Reply

  4. Nooner™
    Apr 12, 2007 @ 05:27:08

     
    How right you are that In The Summertime is from a delightful time – 1970-ish. I was a bit frisky back then, but then again, some people still claim I\’m a bit frisky … at least in my writings .. lol.
     
    Happy Springtime to ya, Steph!
     
    ~Nooner~
     

    Reply

  5. Bob
    Apr 12, 2007 @ 16:01:58

    I hate when the story has been changed so much between the book and the movie.  The best transition from book to film I\’ve seen was \’Dune", but it was the 350 minute version!!  Maybe that has something to do with it!!  lol
     
    Now I wanna see a Werecat!!!!!😦
    xoxo  Bob~

    Reply

  6. Aimee
    Apr 13, 2007 @ 11:02:00

    L O V E CSI so much it\’s pretty much all i watch…
    :o) smiles are free and contagious…so pass one right now to the people you love and those you don\’t…soon everyone will be smiling… :o)

    Reply

  7. Shari
    Apr 13, 2007 @ 11:18:20

    Hi Steph, it\’s been awhile since I\’ve stopped by to see you, I\’m glad to hear you\’re doing well.
    Love the pics of your spring break trip.  Have a great weekend!

    Reply

  8. Jane
    Apr 13, 2007 @ 13:22:10

    Seriously, who names their kid Mungo?

    Reply

  9. tressie
    Apr 13, 2007 @ 15:49:12

    Hey Steph –
    Thanks for mentioning that book – i have wanted to read it for a long time and just never DID it.  is it ok to read with my 9 year old?  i think it is but just had that thought pop through my measly brain.  There are two books that i recently stole from my daughter (15) and read and they are WONDERFUL  about a family of GOOD vampires and the girl that falls in love with one of them – amazing story – one is called NEW MOON and the other is TWILIGHT – your daughter would probably love them – here\’s a link if you are interested in taking a look-see http://amazon.com/s/ref=nb_ss_gw/103-3191455-1950250?url=search-alias%3Daps&field-keywords=twlight
     
    I love your tv watching antics – nothing better than reminding those darn kids that we DO know everything!!  ttfn ~ tressie

    Reply

Leave a Reply

