Bit in the butt by my own words…

 Not too long ago, I was reading my friend Jim’s blog. He mentioned that his son had brought home a stray dog (they already had 2) and I being the kind, sweet, supportive, friend that I am, (after I finished laughing), commented that what’s one more? Just one more to love!
Well… as most of you know, I feed and love 12 cats, to which I’ve added a kitten who’s mother never really got the knack of being a mother, and, yesterday my youngest daughter brought home… a DOG!
 
He’s a purebred "mutt" and very sweet. Two years old,has been abused, and neglected. The first owners used to hit him a lot. They moved and gave him to some people who left him chained in the yard all the time. Now, they are moving and say they can’t take him with them. Their solution to that… they were going to shoot him today. My daughter heard about it and brought him home.
He’s already bonded with her. What sold me is, he pays no attention to my cats. In fact the cats are up in arms, but he totally ignores them.
(You should see the dirty looks I’m getting, and a few refuse to come out from under my bed!) lol
 
So, my flippancy and enjoyment at Jim’s expense has come back to bite me on the butt.
 
13 cats, 60 gallon fish tank full of fish, 10 gallon fish tank with goldfish, 1 bunny, and now a dog… It’s a good thing I have wonderful neighbors.
 
OH, how’s my husband taking all of this? Let’s just say, I might have to grind up some Xanax and put it in his food or drink for awhile, say… a couple of years? lol
 
How did your week go? BIG HUGS, Steph
 Meet, Romeo… (we already have a cat with that name, but, we didn’t get to name the dog) It does fit him though, he’s very sweet.
An addition, in answer to Rain’s question, and Bob’s amazement. I live in Idaho, a small rural town. There are many here who think nothing of shooting, poisoning or trapping animals. There’s one old man who traps cats then takes them up in the mountains. People know, and yet he still does it.
I have to admit to having a brother that shoots animals. He lives in the country, and has almost 5 acres. If any of his neighbor’s dogs, cats, chickens, ducks…what ever they may be, get on his property, he takes great enjoyment of shooting them. I can’t tell you how sick this makes me, and my family know, and yet say nothing. He even took his own dog out and shot her when he was going into the Marines. I’m considered a ‘freak’ in my family because I love animals, and will speak up against wrong doing.
Sad thing is, my sister is his neighbor, and he kills her animals too. I never could understand how someone could say they are an animal lover and then act that way, but, there are many who do.
It’s my secret wish that what happened to a man in Parker, Idaho, happen to my brother, or any and all who do things like that. The man had gotten angry because dogs were allowed to run around town (town is a word used lightly) it’s a one small grocery store, a school, a tiny post office and some houses. His solution, was to start shooting the dogs. One day in his shooting rampage, he shot and killed a lab, that had been just let out to run and play. This lab was special though, it was a seeing eye dog, and he was in deep shit. Thoroughly deserved.
 

10 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Leah
    Mar 03, 2007 @ 15:47:53

    wow you have a farm going on… I don\’t think I could handle it either.. I am not much of a animal person.

    Reply

  2. Jane
    Mar 03, 2007 @ 17:32:57

    THIRTEEN CATS?!?!?!?!?  Woman you are a saint.  I can\’t believe the cost of feeding my two – and one supplements her meals with wild vermin.  Romeo is a real cutie, tho, I can see how he charmed you! 

    Reply

  3. Nooner™
    Mar 04, 2007 @ 07:58:08

     
    Hi Steph,
     
    He sure is a cutie! I can\’t get over how many cats you have. It is awful when you think there are people out there who mistreat animals. Yet there are wonderful loving people (like you!) who take extra animals into their care, which is just great🙂
     
    ~Nooner~
     

    Reply

  4. SAAM
    Mar 04, 2007 @ 08:15:49

    The dog is sweet but i\’m not a cat person.  But you rock

    Reply

  5. Litespreader
    Mar 04, 2007 @ 14:46:30

    Oh Steph!  He\’s awesome..  I can\’t imagine how people can be cruel to animals.  Shoot him???  Where in the heck do you live?  I wish I could have cats..  And more dogs and other critters.  I\’d have a farm if I could.  The more, the merrier. I didn\’t know you were married, either.  I\’m sure somewhere I must\’ve read it, but usually husband hasn\’t come up here.. .  hmmm.  That eases my mind.  I thought you were raising your kids alone. 

    Reply

  6. Bob
    Mar 04, 2007 @ 22:12:37

    GREAT looking dog!!!  Glad that he\’s mellow around the cats, otherwise, UH OH!!!!  Was surprised that you gave him the same name as one of your cats, but with that many pets I guess you were running out of names, huh???  lol  Do your fish have names too???  Hmmmm…… thought so! lmao!!   I can\’t beleive his last owners (and I use that term loosely) were gonna shoot him!!  What kinda Hillbillies are they!!  Hope they\’re NOT moving here!!  I hope your cats get used to him!!
     
    xoxo   Bob~

    Reply

  7. David
    Mar 05, 2007 @ 18:05:56

    I have a realy good idea for the man\’s neighbors (and mine, too) – keep your animals home.  I am always astonished at how folks think we should all cater to their carelessness with their animals (and kids).  On the other hand, you\’ll have the last laugh if there is ever a serious food shortage – you\’ll have something to snack on long after the neighbors are eating each other…

    Reply

  8. Harold
    Mar 05, 2007 @ 20:16:24

    Welllllllllllllllll … I have to admit to having shot a dog. BUT before you get outraged… I was visiting some family out in the country. They had a dog that was foaming at the mouth n going crazy. They couldnt bring themselves to putting him down.. n couldnt afford the vet doing it. So.. along comes ZePp … He hunts.. he will do it. (felt a little like "Mikey" for a minute :(        ) But when I saw the dog.. I couldnt stand to see it in that condition.. so I had to do it.
    I dont even want ot tell you the things I have heard of people doing to animals. Wonder if humanity will ever evolve to the point of overcoming the need for cruelity ??? I doubt it.. because its opposite is Compassion … and you seem to be full of that.   ;)  After all … you seem to put up with me   ;) 😛
    ZePp …

    Reply

  9. Jock
    Mar 06, 2007 @ 11:10:04

    You know my feelings on the subject of animal cruelty, and you know how I feel about angels on earth who put themselves out for furbabies. A few more cats and you and I will be tied in the crazy department. God love you, Steph.

    Reply

  10. Jock
    Mar 06, 2007 @ 11:11:16

    oh, and beautiful dog.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

