Life and Love

 I always tell my children that I love them. I know it’s a shock, but, I’m a big believer in hugs and give them hugs too.
 
I grew up in a family where you didn’t really hear it said, and most of the time weren’t sure you were loved. There were and still are strings attached to my extended family’s love. I try very hard to never ever put strings attached to my love. I don’t have to love the things they do (when they are wrong) but I will always love THEM.
 
Life is short. For some it’s too short. This past Tuesday, our small town lost 5 young people in a car accident. Two families and a community grieving. They were all on their way to school, went off the road (it was slick and snowing) into a pond that is 20 feet deep. The two girls were the same age as my oldest daughter. She was friends with them both, played basketball with one of them. The other 3 were the girl’s brothers. In one brief moment, a family lost 3 children, another lost 2.
 
I wasn’t going to post about this, but, then there was the tornado that hit Alabama, and more families have lost their precious children.
They are precious, there’s nothing on this earth more valuable or beautiful than a child.
 
I believe in life after death, and I know that these families will be reunited, but, I also know that those who are left behind for what ever period of time, are feeling pain, and loss.
Please have prayer for them all. (I know most of you already are)
Tell your children, and other people in your life that you love them. Never let it be assumed.  I love you guys! BIG HUGS, Steph

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Jane
    Mar 02, 2007 @ 10:22:54

    Hugs are the best.  Growing up I don\’t really remember getting hugs from my parents, which may be why I am such a hugger.  Sometimes my family acts like they are \’putting up\’ with my hugs but I KNOW they love \’em!

    Reply

  2. Leah
    Mar 02, 2007 @ 13:22:07

    I mentioned this to my friend in North Carolina and she said she read about it on AOL. It made it all the way across the country. I hope the girls are doing better today?

    Reply

  3. Bob
    Mar 02, 2007 @ 15:27:49

    I hope your oldest girl is doing better, and you too!  It\’s a terrible loss, especially for the families who lost 3 children and two.  I\’m sure they will never really get over it but I hope they realize it was God\’s will and I pray they find the strength to go on.
     
    (((((((BIG HUGS))))))))
    xoxo   Bob~ 

    Reply

  4. Nooner™
    Mar 03, 2007 @ 03:26:36

     
    Hi Steph,
     
    Such a tragedy! I\’m sorry for your daughter, for other friends and family affected, and for your community. It pains me to hear of these kinds of accidents.
     
    ~Nooner~
     

    Reply

  5. Greg
    Mar 03, 2007 @ 10:29:20

    Amen…The cruelties of this world suck.
    Every day we need to take a deep breath look at those around us and say I love you.
    Have a weekend enjoying all the little things in life, Greg
    PS- We have been blogger buds for some time now.

    Reply

  6. SAAM
    Mar 04, 2007 @ 08:19:37

    Hugs and \’I love yous\’ are SO important!!!!!
    My heart goes out to everyone involved

    Reply

Leave a Reply

