Is it me or O.C.D.?

Is there an etiquette, or some kind of unwritten law that I can follow that would tell me when it’s appropriate to pluck a wild hair from the face of another person?
My family and close friends know, if I see one of those suckers growing out of a part of their face where it doesn’t belong, I’m gonna yank it out!
That brings me to one of the butchers in our local grocery store. OK, I’ve stared and fought the urge when I’ve seen wild hairs growing from his forehead and ears. It’s been hard, but I haven’t said or done anything, but… last week I was asking him a question about the steaks that were on sale and I noticed a really, really long white hair growing out of the tip of his nose!
It’s like a bad wreck, you want to look away, but can’t! I stared and stared, hoping he would get my subconscious message.
This morning I went in and he was there… so was that long distracting hair.
I said a quick hello and got out of there before the urge to pull it took over.
Where’s Miss Manners when you need her?
BIG HUGS, Steph

11 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Greg
    Jan 25, 2007 @ 19:51:33

    I like the turtle invite.
    What is up with guys not properly grooming themselves.
    Makes me wonder about their hygiene for sure.
    Every once in a while I will find one of the ear hair antennas.
    Actually, I always make sure I do not have any everyday.
    Too much info eh?
    Have a good weekend and stay warm, Greg

    Reply

  2. Nooner™
    Jan 26, 2007 @ 05:55:42

     
    Hi Steph,
     
    I don\’t understand people who can let things grow and grow like that. Eeewwww.

    And a butcher no less! Eeewwww again. lol.
     
    Many years ago I had this boss I just hated. He would drag me along on coffee breaks. I hated watching how his ears were yellow with things. I\’m sure he never owned a Q-Tip in his life. Though he was well-dressed, his nails never saw a brush, or even a good washing. Dirty! Then I had to witness the same thing over and over again. I\’d sit with a cup of coffee as I watched up with his toasted roll. He\’d unwrap a pat of butter from the foil, and with the bottom half of the foil would use it instead of using a knife and would smeer the butter pat from the foil to his roll. It was so disgusting to witness .. lol.
     
    ~Nooner~
     

    Reply

  3. Bob
    Jan 26, 2007 @ 13:42:51

    Whoa!!  My wife has a thing about wild hairs too !!  I do a thorough \’inspection\’ everyday because if she spots one she will attack it without mercy!!  She also gets upset if I cut one off instead of letting pluck it.  I pray for the day when I discover one poking out of her someplace!!  LOL
     
    xoxo   Bob~

    Reply

  4. KatSoup
    Jan 26, 2007 @ 20:26:50

    You must remember i live in the mountains where these wild out of ordinary hairs run rampant.  I too can not look away.  I would never touch them without gloves and alcohol.
     
    But – fun post🙂

    Reply

  5. Chipperla
    Jan 28, 2007 @ 10:08:17

    I try to keep those "wild hairs" part of me under control.  How many times have you seen someone with a zit, or a nose that has an "error" visible, and wanted to say something?
     
    Now the inner "wild hairs" that make up me…nope…let those puppies grow! hahaha
     
    Gary

    Reply

  6. Rogue
    Jan 28, 2007 @ 12:36:26

    There on the chin of my love stood the offensive keratinous filament.  It was staring at me; I swear it was.  It tried to look away; it followed my gaze.What…what is that on the table…a pair of tweezers?  Noooo, the temptation!!!   Stay back vicious instrument!  Stay away from my hands…hands that are reaching for you …Nooooo!!!!RIIIIIIIIIIPOUUUCCCHHHHH!!!!  My love crumples to the floor.  The smallest drop of blood oozes from the once infested region.  Her heavily-lidded and tear-filled eyes stare up at me…"WTF do you think you\’re doing Dumbass?!?!?!"I still sleep on the couch.I would recommend ignoring the hairs

    Reply

  7. SAAM
    Jan 28, 2007 @ 12:57:10

    I SO agree with you.  I check myself!!!!!  No stray hairs for me!!!
     
    Bargains are the best thing!!  Marissa and I sure did have fun that day!!have a good day
     
    SAAM

    Reply

  8. Litespreader
    Jan 29, 2007 @ 08:22:26

    gotta love that gorilla tape!  people don\’t even suspect what you\’re doing.  tell em it\’s a new therapy that\’ll make em feel like a new person..  no, actually i usually will tell someone to go look in the mirror at whatever surface it is that holds the item in place.  if they say they don\’t see anything, then i will show them, and ask if they need help with it.  they most often don\’t.  i\’ve missed you steph..  hope you are well, and feeling fine!  love,t

    Reply

  9. Leah
    Jan 29, 2007 @ 15:33:39

    I told Paul about this and he laughed. Partly because he has long nose hairs he pulls out himself and the other part cause it grosses both us out too. But then I am one to pick his nose for him or pop a zit. Things like that don\’t bother me with him just other people. Oh your comment about Booties, ARGHHHHH!!!

    Reply

  10. Greg
    Jan 29, 2007 @ 15:40:57

    Meow!!!
     
    I just like saying that when I come here. Meow!!!
     
    Did you get that nose hair plucked yet?
     
    Stay warm, Greg

    Reply

  11. Jim
    Jan 30, 2007 @ 11:34:43

    A hair plucker are you, and what are these pictures!  Its winter for us poor people, now I feel left out and the winter blues are at my door step!  Help you move, let me see, in Idaho you have a river call snake river, but there are no snakes there, if you came to Arkansas and a river was called snake river you better stay out of it.  Besides I hate moving stuff, I had to move 12 times in the military, and it is the last thing on my list.  But go ahead and pull that hair, you will be a hero in the town!
    Jim

    Reply

Leave a Reply

