As my world turns…

 Last Sunday I drove to Salt Lake City. My parents came with me because lately I haven’t been sleeping well and I get so tired about 2:30pm that it’s dangerous for me to drive.
I was surprised that the trip went smoothly, and they didn’t argue or fight… as much as usual.
The roads were clear, (I was scared about that because they can be really dangerous this time of year) but it was colder than… well I won’t repeat the phrase that comes to mind. Let’s just say it was damn cold.
Salt Lake is a beautiful city. I hadn’t been there since I was about 18 or so. My friend Melanie was going to college at BYU. I went down to visit her, and we took a bus into Salt Lake City, and she showed me around. The Mormon Temple is really pretty. We drove around the old part of the city. I LOVE old houses, and they have some fantastic examples of ostentatious living. Huge mansions that are so ugly they are beautiful. I had a great time. We stayed in the Sugarhouse area, but I couldn’t find anyone who knew why it was named that. I wanted to know!
The reason for the trip was to pick up some antiques I had bought from an antique store down there who also sells on Ebay (gotta love ebay). It was really expensive to have them ship the stuff to me, so, we drove down, rented a truck, loaded it up and drove it home. Worked for me!
 
I’m feeling pretty depressed even with the new "pretties."
My younger son is getting ready to move to Northern California. He’s leaving in the morning.
When my boys were little we did everything together. It was just me and my boys. My older son lives about 30 minutes from me. Having my younger son move so far away, well, it’s hurting. A LOT!
It’s going to kill me if my girls move far away… I’m not going to think about it.
 
 
Happier note… Lil Man is almost 5lbs now! Here’s a picture taken a few weeks ago. Sorry about the quality. I’m expecting better ones soon. Please keep him (and his parents) in your prayers.
 
 
BIG HUGS, Steph
 click on the picture to enlarge

9 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Nooner™
    Jan 19, 2007 @ 21:32:31

    Hi Steph,
    Lil Man is looking pretty good .. Yay!!!!
    Sorry about what you are feeling with your younger son\’s move😦
    I enjoyed the read about Salt Lake City!
    ~Nooner~

    Reply

  2. Litespreader
    Jan 20, 2007 @ 05:49:02

    hey steph.  the baby looks great!  he\’ll be fine.  the parents.. that\’s the ones who need the prayers.  and they have mine.you too.  i know there\’s nothing like the feeling of missing your children.  as your boy takes wing, i hope you\’ll follow hisexample.  it\’s another window being opened, for both of you.  he\’ll always fly back to you, maybe only briefly, but he will.especially if he knows you are taking wing too, because he\’ll forget how to fly occasionally, and he\’ll need to see you do it again.  after all, you\’re the one who taught him to do it to begin with, right?  you\’re awesome.  love,tree

    Reply

  3. Greg
    Jan 21, 2007 @ 09:55:01

    Hooray for “Little-Becoming a Big Man"
    Went on a SLC trip eh… Sugarhouse! I lived in that area. Did all my running (jogging) all over those neighborhoods. Also, ran a lot on the East High School track. Great neighborhood and close to everything in SLC. You took me down memory lane today.
    Stay warm and I understand that children leaving thing. Not fun.
    Take care Kitty

    Reply

  4. Brad
    Jan 21, 2007 @ 10:27:05

    Hey!
     
       Yeah, I don\’t mean to be such a no-show kinda guy, just been reeeeeaaaaalllllyyy busy.
    Taking over the world.
    You know?
    So, you were in Salt Lake????? Just the other day?? No kidding….. I was in St George! And Hurricane! Yeah, it was sooooo damn cold down there. When the wind blew (as it so often does in \’Hurricane\’) it froze and dried the moisture out of my skin,…yeah, like \’freeze dried\’! It sucked. I don\’t know if you know but that is in southern Utah by Zion. You probably knew that though…heh heh…….
    Just got back home last night. Left through Vegas. They got $30.00 bucks from me in the airport slots…bastards!
    I\’ll be back……
    To look at your Hawaii pics!!!
    Never been there..😉

    Reply

  5. Leah
    Jan 21, 2007 @ 19:28:36

    glad you had a nice trip. Glad the baby is doing better. I am doing good, updated my blog the other day, and am going to update it tonight too. Don\’t have pics yet but I will.

    Reply

  6. Bob
    Jan 22, 2007 @ 18:47:01

    So sorry about your youngest son leaving the nest but I guess we all do at some point.  He\’ll be back many times, and on the bright side, he\’ll be bring \’Little Man" with him!!  I\’ll be on Messenger if you need a shoulder!
     
    Nice description of SLC!  I\’ve never been there!!  Too COLD!!!  LOL  But sounds like an interesting city!!
     
    Talk to you soon (tonight)
     
    xoxo   Bob~

    Reply

  7. Harold
    Jan 22, 2007 @ 21:33:54

    Hiya hun …
    Glad you had a good time in SLC  N Bob was right… Little man WILL be back. with littler man with him.
    I will keep you all in my thoughts.
     
    Peace…
    ZePp

    Reply

  8. Chipperla
    Jan 23, 2007 @ 19:09:38

    GREAT SITE!  I enjoyed your cub scout invitations.  I worked as a Scoutmaster for a troop down here for two years. 
     
    Have a Wonderful day!

    Reply

  9. David
    Jan 24, 2007 @ 17:59:13

    I\’d say, just in case the girls wind up doing something ungrateful, like getting married or something – It can happen – that it would be wise to have a plan ahead of time for something to center on – or at least be darn into.  Good going with the little one.  Man, them kids are tough.  Gotta run, gotta pack ot head north as the entire area drops into the deep freeze.  See?  No planning…

    Reply

Leave a Reply

