A day with the girls.

 As their Christmas Present, my youngest daughter took her friends ice skating. I drove, she paid. They had a good time… I went shopping, so I did too! I hit a few stores that still had some, after Christmas sales going. Gotta love 75% off! Then there was a book store going out of business. Hardback books, 2.00, paperback books 1.00! I was in heaven! They still had a good selection of children’s books, tons of fiction, travel books, some ‘how to’, and a big section on raising different kinds of animals. I love books, my sister loves books and we have the big family Easter Egg hunt coming up, sooooo.
They were out of my favorite ones, cookbooks!
 
When we were all finished, they were hungry. (Not a surprise) They wanted to hit an "all-you-can-eat" buffet.
They bascily ignored the food, and pretty well demolished the dessert bar! Who knew 12 year old girls could pack away so many sweets!
Me??? I was trying very hard to behave. I love their clam chowder, and homemade rolls. I did have a rice crispie treat for dessert.
After about an hour, I rolled the girls out the door, and headed home. They all fell asleep almost as soon as we hit the road…. ahhhh sweet silence!
 
How’s everyone doing? How did your New Years Eve go?
 
Oh, my friend Melanie sent me the book, "Chicken Soup for the Cat Lover’s Soul" for my birthday. I’ve started reading it, and so far have cried through every story. It’s wonderful! We’ve been friends since High School, (I knew her in grade school, but, didn’t like her, LOL) She’s the smartest, funniest, kindest person I know, and does she know me or what?? lol
 
Our Little Man is about 3 & 1/2 lbs, and learning to nurse! I’m so thankful for all of your prayers and support… keep’em coming! BIG HUGS, Steph

7 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Greg
    Jan 04, 2007 @ 07:11:52

    Look at that little man grow!!! Before you know it, he will be crawling around.
    Holiday\’s were very quiet for me. My oldest daughter Jade was around with her boyfriend.
    However, Emma was in Virginia, and my son JR is in Oregon returning on Sunday.
    I could have went to Minnesota, however it was not in my heart. Looks like I will be going up there in March and not only that, I usually spend my summers up there.
    Did you watch that football game? WTG Boise State!!!
    Before you know it, Spring will be upon us and you will be out in the garden.
    A year full of blessings to you and your loved ones…Greg

    Reply

  2. Jess
    Jan 04, 2007 @ 07:50:21

    Oh good it sounds like that boy is gonna be a tank here soon ! I am SO glad to hear that !
     
    I tried to have her the 27th..even went to the hospital ! But it was the 28th …I really did try ! lol
     
    Jess
    xoxo

    Reply

  3. Aimee
    Jan 04, 2007 @ 11:01:28

    wow you are sounding like quite the busy person…
    :o) smiles are contagious…and free…as well as a great start to the new year…pass one to people that you love and those you don\’t…and soon everyone will be smiling… :o)

    Reply

  4. Bob
    Jan 04, 2007 @ 14:35:05

    Sounds like YOU didn\’t do any skating but glad you had a great time shopping.  "Who knew 12 year old girls could pack away so many sweets"?????  I figured EVERYONE!!  LOL  So good to hear the Little Man is doing so well!!!  He\’ll be a rug rat soon!!!  Hope you\’re feeling better now, I have an appointment this afternoon.
     
    xoxo    Bob~

    Reply

  5. Litespreader
    Jan 05, 2007 @ 10:49:00

     oh, steph..  i\’m so glad the boy is doing so well.  how could he NOT do well, with you havin his back??  your kids are
    very lucky to have you for a mom.  those \’chicken soup\’ books are good.  i love books too, and especially ones that
    inspire me to have more compassion and love.  i hope your new year is going well.. love,t

    Reply

  6. Nooner™
    Jan 06, 2007 @ 06:16:01

    Great news on Little Man!
    Those Chicken Soup book series are just wonderful. I haven\’t read one in awhile, but should. Last one I remember getting was the Chicken Soup for the Golfer\’s Soul as a gift from my daughter. Your day "with the girls" sounded like wonderful fun!
    ~Nooner~

    Reply

  7. David
    Jan 07, 2007 @ 05:19:48

    Wow – good news on Little man.  This is really remarkable.  It is hard to believe how much infant care has progressed in just my lifetime.  I am not even going to comment on that cat lover thing; I am not even going to mention the anti-nausea medication or my sudden urge to kick a small child…  Two dollar hardcovers??  What lottery have you won?  I\’d be showing up in a truck.  I love buying books.  Sometimes I even read them. 

    Reply

Leave a Reply

