I love you guys, aka, damn I have good taste in blog friends

 Still going to be gone for awhile, but I wanted to post a quick update. I flew to see our "Little Man" thinking it might be the only time I get to see him, but, he’s a fighter and I believe because of all the prayers and good thoughts sent our way, right now, he’s doing wonderful!
They have even started him on breast milk (through a tube that runs to his stomach), and like a true family member that he is, he’s loving the fact that he’s getting real food! That’s MY boy!
 
 Before I left, my son had shown me pictures of him, but, until you see a lil one like that in real life, you really don’t comprehend just how small they are.
 
 I found out that all the Nurses call him "Little Man", and he’s very capable of letting his wishes be known. A little while ago his monitors were going crazy, his heartbeat was up… he was having a hissy fit. They were afraid that something was really wrong and were trying to figure it out. Well, it seems that my Grandson hates having a wet diaper. He calms down as soon as it’s changed. LOL
 
 He’s so tiny. I had seen pictures of him , but they really didn’t prepare me for how small he actually is. His diaper fits in the palm of my hand, and my hands aren’t very big.
 Please continue to have prayer for him, I believe without a doubt that is why he’s doing so well.
 You have all been such a comfort and support to me. Thank you. I can’t tell you how much it means to me, how much it helps. I love you guys!
 
 Mary Ann is staying very positive, and reading all about natural and alternative methods of healing besides the chemo etc. She will be doing them both. I admire her strength and determination.
 David, you’re right, it is harder to lose a close friend. Because you aren’t a family member, you are kind of on the outside, and yet missing a friend who you spend more time with than your own family members.
I don’t know what to post about her for sure, she’s so positive, and I don’t think she’s ready to express her fears right now. Now is for thinking, planning, hoping and doing the things she needs to do.
 
Again, please have prayer and keep us all in your thoughts. BIG HUGS, Steph

19 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. monty
    Nov 07, 2006 @ 11:47:10

    Glad to hear!

    Reply

  2. BH
    Nov 07, 2006 @ 17:42:00

    Steph – This is heartbreaking to read.  It sounds that the little guy has a lot of fight in him.  I can\’t imagine having to make such a decision.  I pray for the best for your son and his girlfriend.  I\’m giving you a virtual hug as well.
     
    Don\’t stay away too long.  I think the blog could be cathartic for you during such times!  Take care.
     
    Cheers,
    BH

    Reply

  3. KatSoup
    Nov 07, 2006 @ 18:53:30

    I am sending ONLY good thoughts for the little man.  You really do have a big shit sandwich! I am so sorry for everything that is happening to you at once.
    Friends Always,
    Kat

    Reply

  4. Bob
    Nov 08, 2006 @ 16:10:57

    So glad to hear that your "Little Man" is doing better!  He really does sound like a fighter!  Good for him for being able to express himself so well!  lol!  After all, don\’t we all enjoy having a nice dry diaper to wear???
     
    I beleive that the prayers are working too!!! They always do!
     
    You take care, xoxo    Bob~
     
    PS  We want pics!!!!!
     

    Reply

  5. Litespreader
    Nov 09, 2006 @ 13:41:03

    shit sandwich, indeed!  just say, \’can i have another large scoop on my plate?\’
    we do have to process alot of pain in this life, that\’s for sure.  i\’m glad little man is
    getting better.. soon you\’ll have to quit calling him that tho.  you don\’t want to give him
    a \’little man\’ complex, if ya know what i mean.  seriously steph, i enjoy you on here so
    very much,  i hope you don\’t go for too long.  you\’re always in my prayers.  love,t

    Reply

  6. KatSoup
    Nov 09, 2006 @ 14:37:35

    Coming by to say hi and to see how things are.  We are your friends here and truly concerned.
     
    KNOW THAT!
     

    Reply

  7. Kadrin
    Nov 09, 2006 @ 18:25:23

    Putting Little man and his parents and you all in my prayers. One of my nephews was a preemie and it was sooooo touch and go the first few months of his life. My bro saw him yesterday and he\’s a 12 year old, beautiful, healthy sized adolescent. Hugs, Kat

    Reply

  8. Greg
    Nov 09, 2006 @ 19:33:54

    \’Little Man\’ has begun his path to being a \’Wonderful Man\’…Amen
    God\’s Spirit brings strength and guidance to everyone involved in both of these
    situations. Yes…Prayer changes things for anyone.
    Blessings…Greg 

    Reply

  9. Tim
    Nov 10, 2006 @ 12:41:13

    Hope you have a blessed Remembrance / Veterans\’ Day.

    Reply

  10. SAAM
    Nov 10, 2006 @ 23:11:26

    Sorry about the shit sandwich.  I\’m thinking about you and your grandson
    SAAM

    Reply

  11. Jess
    Nov 11, 2006 @ 08:52:08

    You are all still in my thoughts and prayers Steph.
     
    Big Hugs
     
    Jess

    Reply

  12. Jade
    Nov 11, 2006 @ 12:06:09

    May every good thing happen to all of you….

    Reply

  13. Nooner™
    Nov 13, 2006 @ 02:57:17

    Hi Steph,
    So glad you have the opportunity to be with your Little Man grandson! I have you and him and his parents in my thoughts and prayers.
    ~Nooner~

    Reply

  14. Melissa
    Nov 14, 2006 @ 04:56:05

    My prayers are with you.
     
    Big \’ole Huggs,
     
    Melissa

    Reply

  15. Greg
    Nov 14, 2006 @ 15:36:23

    Checking in for some good news!!!!
    Blessings to you and your loved ones…Greg

    Reply

  16. David
    Nov 15, 2006 @ 10:13:59

    I am always astonished at how small regular-weight babies are at first.  I can\’t even imagine anyone as small as this.  I sure am hoping for the best.  He\’ll probably be "Little Man" all his life – even when he is six foot something.  "David, you\’re right" – words to live by – so often true!

    Reply

  17. Jim
    Nov 15, 2006 @ 11:22:16

     Hope everything is going well, and I too will say a prayer.  I came here today to say something cute, but I lost the urge.  I did like the holloween pics.  The elementary kids marched in all of the classes, almost made me wish to be small again.  Oh yea there was one kid in toilet paper, hoped he stayed out of the bathrooms that day.  We will talk about your different faces later.
    Jim 

    Reply

  18. KatSoup
    Nov 15, 2006 @ 15:39:45

    I\’m hoping no news is good news.  I hope your just needed in "RL" right now.  We\’ll be sitting here on the porch when you return.

    Reply

  19. Jerry
    Dec 03, 2006 @ 09:17:10

    I had a son in newborn ICU once so I saw many other babies with terrible problems. We were told to prepare for the worst but now he has two boys of his own. The experience does focus your whole being on supporting that child; nothing else matters. Hope your grandson has the chance to let you spoil him. It sounds like he has something of an attitude too.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

