Saturday fun

 I had so much fun yesterday. There was an Estate Sale Auction, in town. I love auctions, and the carnival like atmosphere that’s part of the experience. This certain auctioneer is fascinating, in the way a snake is fascinating. She’s short, wears a wig that would do Dolly Parton proud, bright western shirt, tight jeans, long red nails that, although she said she just had them done, looked more like Lee press on than anything else, and cowboy boots. I love how every time she would pick up a piece of pottery/china, she would say, OH this looks like shawnee… a few times it might have been. Most of the time it was something I had looked at earlier and it wasn’t. 
 A flour sifter came up for auction, it was in gorgeous shape with beautiful graphics on it. She picks it up and says, "Ok, what’s this?" I said, "A flour sifter"… she didn’t appreciate my humor, because she says, "OH I KNOW it’s a flour sifter, I meant, is there a brand on here." She also has the habit of saying that she thinks something is ugly, and she’s trying to be joking, but doesn’t quite make it when she says, "come get your crap off my table" after a winning bid.
Let’s just say, she’s never seen the inside of a charm school.
There were 3 rings of auctions going at the same time. Another thing that I always enjoy is when the auctioneer, and it usually is an older gentleman, with an older lady helping, always has to exclaim that this particular piece of crap, um, I mean collectible, is VERY rare! "Boy, you never see these anymore!" or, "People, do you know how rare and collectible this is?" "You’re basically stealing it!"
That’s part of the atmosphere that makes an auction enjoyable. I always wonder if anyone believes the hype. Yesterday, some did. lol
 
The night before the auction I was in Albertsons, picking up a few things. The gentleman who was in line in front of me was buying flowers and wine. I remarked that the flowers were beautiful. He smiled and told me, he was a man with a plan. I asked if they were for anything special. He said, no, that was part of his plan, they were for, "just because."
I told him he’d better be careful or he was gonna get in trouble. lol "Nope," he said, "I gave the kids 10 bucks to go to the movies and tonight it’s flowers and wine, just because."
I told him, he was a smart man. lol
He left and the cashier says to me, "I know how HE wants the evening to end." I said, "Yep, me to, lucky woman." She looked at me like I was joking, but seeing I wasn’t, gave me a look that said I was crazy. I meant it. I thought it was a wonderful, romantic thing for him to do. 
 
Next morning, when I was getting my number for the auction, who do I see, but the same gentleman. He smiles and waves, giving me the huge thumbs up. I laughed and went over to tell him, congrats and I was glad the night went so well. He says, "It went so well I got to come to the auction today!" LOL
He and his friend kept me laughing most of the day, and made the auction fun.  
 
I got some great deals. Too bad I don’t appreciate carnival glass, avocado, or gold fenton. That stuff was going really cheap, and it shouldn’t have. I missed out on a few really great buys, but it’s hard to watch when you’re bidding in one area and it comes up in another.
 
I had a great day, lots of laughter and fun, pulled pork BBQ sandwiches, and some good buys.
What more could you ask? BIG HUGS, Steph


16 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Bob
    Oct 22, 2006 @ 13:27:43

    Glad you had such a good time!!!  Too bad you missed out on some things because of the \’3-ring circus\’.  Your little town always seems to have the coolest things going on!!!  Just thankful that Mrs. RU Serious wasn\’t there or I\’d be broke!!!!
     
    Have a Great Sunday!!
    xoxo   Bob~

    Reply

  2. Leah
    Oct 22, 2006 @ 17:08:00

    glad you had a great time.

    Reply

  3. ALEX 2
    Oct 22, 2006 @ 17:13:28

    TE DESEO UN BUEN Y EXITOSO COMIENZO DE SEMANA
    EU DESEJO UM COMEÇO BOM E BEM SUCEDIDO VOCÊ DA SEMANA
    I WISH A GOOD AND SUCCESSFUL BEGINNING YOU OF WEEK
    JE TE SOUHAITE UN BON ET À SUCCÈS DÉBUT DE SEMAINE
    DESIDERO UN BUON ED INIZIO RIUSCITO VOI DELLA SETTIMANA
    我祝愿好和成功的起点您星期
    ICH WÜNSCHE EINEN GUTEN UND ERFOLGREICHEN ANFANG SIE DER WOCHE
    나는 좋은 성공적인 처음을 주의 당신 바란다
    私はよく、巧妙な初めを週の望む
    IK WENS EEN GOED EN SUCCESVOL BEGIN U VAN WEEK
    Я ЖЕЛАЮ ХОРОШЕЕ И УСПЕШНО НАЧАЛО ВЫ НЕДЕЛИ
    ALEX PACHEMOL

    Reply

  4. David
    Oct 23, 2006 @ 07:54:20

    When I loved in a smalltown in Wisconsin (last year), I dropped into an auction — there were lots of interesting things, but for some reason those events intimidate me – I can\’t imagine bidding.  I actually hate all things to do with buying and selling, except in a regular store with prices affixed.  I HATE anything that smacks of bargaining.  That is why I always buy my cars at Carmax – there\’s a price, I pay it, we both shut up.  This aversion worked out well for me when I was in the Middle East.  They\’d give a \’starting price\’, I would pay it or not, and they\’d feel sorry for me and say "Don\’t you want dees-count?"  And usually they\’d knock off a bit or give me a free \’gift\’ with it, because they felt sorry for my ineptitude.  I do like – in fact, I love – interaction with sellers or buyers but NOT about the price.  Hey, ask me how my cold is, where I am from, if I think some team has a chance, if I\’ve heard the latest washington outrage – but on price, tell me and get it over with.  Haggling over money feels shameful to me.  I don\’t know why – maybe because I grew up poor. 

    Reply

  5. David
    Oct 23, 2006 @ 07:55:30

    Oh – and hey – Alex told me to tell you to have a good beginning of your week.  I almost forgot…

    Reply

  6. Stephanie
    Oct 23, 2006 @ 11:07:28

    Bob, yep it\’s a darn good thing the Mrs. wasn\’t there, cause we would have had a ball and you would indeed be broke!
     
    Leah, I really did, thanks!
     
    Alex, I wish you a wonderful week too! (Thank you for putting it in English for me)
     
    David, I enjoy the whole atmosphere, and I do like the haggling. I think it\’s the thrill of the hunt, and the fun of knowing that I got something for a good price.  I grew up poor too, and IF the person is poor, like down in Mexico or elsewhere, then I have no problems paying what they want, even if they expect me to haggle. In cases like this or antique stores, etc. I haggle. They can afford to give me a deal. lol
     
    Oh- and hey- you made me laugh. Thanks! 

    Reply

  7. Nooner™
    Oct 23, 2006 @ 19:15:29

    Geeze, I\’ve been away from you too long! I just now got to view the great Disney et al photos! They are wonderful, by the way!
    ~Nooner~

    Reply

  8. Greg
    Oct 24, 2006 @ 09:19:43

    Sounds like a fun time…Have an awesome week…Greg

    Reply

  9. Nikki
    Oct 24, 2006 @ 14:24:05

    I\’ve never been to auction before but it does sounds like fun.  There is an auction house near my school….maybe I\’ll check it out. 🙂

    Reply

  10. Hayden
    Oct 25, 2006 @ 05:39:37

     
    "what more could you ask for"?  not much!  It sounds fun!
     

    Reply

  11. Kadrin
    Oct 25, 2006 @ 18:37:32

    Oh that sounds fun, Your entries sound so cheerful : ) and that is soooo COOL that you go and eat with yer children a couple times a year at school. What a great idea. Thats the kind of parenting that pays off sown the line, good for you, hugs, Kat

    Reply

  12. ALEX 2
    Oct 26, 2006 @ 06:16:13

    Thanks for all the moments
    that we have shared
    full moments of feelings
    and shared thoughts,
    dreams and yearnings,
    secrets, laughter and tears,
    and mainly, friendship.
    Each appraised second will be hoarded
    eternally in my heart.
    Thanks to dedicate time to me
    time to demonstrate your preoccupation by me,
    time to listen to my problems
    and to help to look for to them solution me,
    and mainly,
    time to laugh and to show your affection to me.
    Thanks for being what you are
    a wonderful person.
    I could have you
    when it needed in who to trust
    and to request advice.
    Thanks to you I began
    to know me
    and to even appreciate what I am.
    When you feel that the night catches to you in its immense darkness and that of her no longer you can escape… You can count with me.

    When you think that nobody in this world includes/understands to you not even and worry if your heart follows latent… You can count with me.

    When so you are gotten depressed for reasons of the life and you feel like of her every boring day but… You can count with me.

    When no longer it matters to you to travel in the dreams so that your soul has little lost to little the yearning… You can count with me.

    And even though to my also all this torments to me I will pretend that never I have lived it…
    So that you trust me and you can count with me.
    Architect ALEX PACHEMOL

    Reply

  13. Litespreader
    Oct 26, 2006 @ 09:37:20

    Gosh steph..  i love your life.  or at least the way you describe it.  your part of the world does sound really interesting, but it\’s probably just the way you are in it.  have some more fun, and some for me!  love,t

    Reply

  14. Jim
    Oct 26, 2006 @ 11:13:49

    Ok, I read you 101 things, and I think that you like to tease!  You should know that I am writing this in my speedos.lol  If I could fit in your suit-case I would go, you know I need a good trip.  But its parent-teacher day or night too.  As for pictures, well I\’m from a small town and a ex- gal pal saw my pic and about drove me crazy!!  That\’s when I took it off.  I never liked the big cities that I lived in while in the Air Force, but I did retire out of Seattle.  Well I just had a student come in during my prep period so I have to run, have a good trip, find something to collect, do some touch, feel and smell stuff and get some skin to skin.  P.S. I have a southern accent!lol
    Jim 

    Reply

  15. KatSoup
    Oct 27, 2006 @ 00:46:55

    Oh god I miss the auction
     
    pa-ching-(that was supposed to be a snuff spit)
     
    At our auction house you can smoke and drink.  There is gambling going on in the back corner. The bathrom floor has a hole you could fall through in it.  We used to go every week, you can\’t buy that kind of entertainment!  I havent been in ages.

    Reply

  16. Allissa
    Oct 27, 2006 @ 23:46:47

    MMM pulled pork BBQ beef sandwiches – now that sounds good! Stopping in to let you know I am a bit up and about again.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

