Lunch, 6th Grade style

 I have 4 children, and when they are in school I always try to go eat lunch with them at least a couple of times a year. (They grow up so fast and before you know it, it’s not a big deal or fun for them any more)
 
Yesterday I went to my youngest daughter’s school. They were having hamburgers (one of the few things they make that are actually edible) but, shhhhh I didn’t say that.
 
We’ve always been very close, and even though she’s in 6th grade, she was excited to see me. I  enjoy the time I get to spend one on one with my children.
 
I shocked the lunch lady and asked for… 2 hamburgers! lol (I felt a little like Oliver… "Please sir, may I have some more?")
 
We sat at a table with Seth (from her birthday party) and a few other boys.
First, Seth decided to show me how he likes to eat his hamburgers. He stacks his tater tots on the meat, pours ketchup all over it, adds the top bun and proceeds to try and get his mouth around it. Not to be outdone, the other boys tried some, unusual combinations. They had broccoli, ranch dressing, tater tots, and gummy fruits.
Use your imagination, and you can bet they made and ate any and all combos as part of their hamburger. One of the boys gathered everyone’s pickles and had a little hamburger with his pickles. (I think he had about a half jar of them stacked on there.)
 
I’m always surprised (although I don’t know why), at how much food children waste at school. Most are only concerned with getting outside to play.
 
At least our table ate, and, kept me entertained. I don’t think I’ll be trying a pickle and gummy fruit hamburger any time soon.
 
Are you gonna eat those tots????
 
BIG HUGS, Steph

10 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. David
    Oct 18, 2006 @ 06:55:06

    Wow – how weird it would have been to have my mom come and eat with me in sixth grade.  No parent ever did that in any grade when I was a kid.  Of course that was back when the teachers actually had some control over what went on in school.  They still had the straws in paper wrappers that weren\’t tightly clinging to the straw then, so the number one fun thing to do was to put a little gum on the end of your straw paper and blow it up and try to stick it to the ceiling.  There was a \’teacher\’s table\’ from which we were watched like prey by owls.  It was the teachers who couldn\’t wait to get out of the lunch room – so they could have a cigarette. 

    Reply

  2. Leah
    Oct 18, 2006 @ 11:06:33

    OMFG YUK. Can you make me more nauxious?  You should have put a gross out warning for those of us having issues with things staying down…. My family is thinking of you….

    Reply

  3. Greg
    Oct 18, 2006 @ 11:55:00

    Actually…There is a place is Pittsburg, PA. that serves all things someone would like on a burger along with the fries…Between the buns. Now that is what I call… "Eat Fresh!!!"

    Reply

  4. Bob
    Oct 18, 2006 @ 17:14:13

    Your kids school has a lunchroom, and make food and everything???  WOW!! I guess schools have to do that now.  I had to bring my lunch in my Hopalong Cassidy lunchbox and ate at my desk!!  But at least my mom didn\’t put gummy bears on my sandwich!!  lol!  You need to get ahold of a schedule so you know which days to show up!  And save me a seat!!!
     
    xoxo    Bob~

    Reply

  5. KatSoup
    Oct 18, 2006 @ 18:32:08

    Oh Gosh that was gross. My son is 25 but,  I remember those lunches with him at school.  This also reminded me about the student teacher confrences in the miniature chairs!  Trying to speak to the teacher with your knees in your chin.  Do they still do that to ya too?
     
    We Cherish those crazy moments.🙂

    Reply

  6. ALEX 2
    Oct 18, 2006 @ 18:52:41

    HOLA…GRACIAS POR VISITAR MI SPACE…

    UN ABRAZO

    ALEX

    Reply

  7. Gina
    Oct 19, 2006 @ 10:17:09

    Really? You eat lunch with your children…and they don\’t mind?  I don\’t think I ever saw a parent eat with their child in the school cafeteria.  I didn\’t even know that parents had that option.  Very interesting. 
     
    Boys at any age, will do anything to trump one another, lol

    Reply

  8. Jade
    Oct 20, 2006 @ 07:12:36

    NOW we know why they come home & BOMB the bathroom when they get home!! LOL!!!
     
    My mom was a lunch lady-UG! I would have to hide from her because I changed my clothes in the woods!!
     
     

    Reply

  9. Greg
    Oct 20, 2006 @ 15:56:24

    Hey Steph…I come in agreement with your prayers. If this 3 lb. 11 oz. premie can survive (Me)…Then so can another premature new-born…Amen God is no respector of persons and what He does for one He can do for another. Blessings to you and your loved ones…Greg

    Reply

  10. Brad
    Oct 21, 2006 @ 02:03:04

    Hey,
     
       Ok, so I\’m catching up here….
    What? You went to Disneyland, San Fran, Universal Studios, etc etc??? That\’s rad! Looks like you guys had fun😉
    And now you\’re going to take another vacation? Oh, it\’s a big secret, eh?? Ok, I bet I guess on the first try. Ready?
    You\’re going to Vegas.
    I\’m right, huh…
    Yep, I bet I am! You gotta tell me!!
    I\’m heading for L.A. Tues for a week of goof off time. Did I ever tell ya about the time I got arrested at Disneyland? I was a kid… Good times…heh heh…
     
    I still really like your posts (sorry to hear about those kids accident though) And maybe I\’ll see ya in Vegas (I\’m passing through there soon too!!)
    YEEEEEHAAAAWWW!!!!!!
     
    Oh, and my website isn\’t done yet. That\’s why the domain name still links to my freakin spaces page…soon though,…very soon😉

    Reply

Leave a Reply

