Please, don’t drink and drive.

 

Wednesday, October 11, 2006

Please, don’t drive while you are drunk.

Last night,(Oct 10th) 4 of my son’s friends were in a terrible car accident. Ben, who was driving, had been drinking. He swerved to miss a large rock in the road and he lost control of the truck.  It flipped and they were all ejected (no one was wearing seat belts).
Two died at the scene, Ben, and another boy that I hadn’t met (he was only 16).
Ben’s been my son’s friend for a long time, since 6th grade. He was part of our family, and I’m torn between being so very sad that at 20 (he just had his birthday a few weeks ago), his life is now ended, and that his young son, 1 year old, will never know his Father, to being angry that they were even drinking in the first place, and then got in a car/truck.
My son, is a mess, it’s been a very difficult night. As a Mom, I’m so thankful that he wasn’t with them, (as selfish as that seems.)
The other two boys, Denny and Cory are doing OK. I’m thankful they are alright. Denny is a big gentle giant of a boy/young man. He’s taking it hard, thinking it should have been him that died, and feeling guilty because he didn’t want Ben to drive, and tried to talk him out of it. Ben’s response was, "Trust me Denny."
I know it’s said all the time, but, don’t drink and drive.
Life is so very short, and precious. Please, let your friends, family, everyone you love, KNOW that they are loved.
BIG HUGS, Steph

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. BH
    Oct 13, 2006 @ 09:59:07

    Dear god Steph, I am so sorry.  I hate hearing stories like this.  With two young boys, this is my nightmare when they get to high school and college.  I am very sorry for the loss of the families.  But thank goodness your boy is OK, safe, and healthy.  I think it shows his character for the feelings of grief he has as well.  I can say with confidence your family will probably NEVER have to worry about either driving under the influence or being a passenger with a drunk.  (We all then just have to look out for the other cars…)
     
    My best wishes to you all.
     
    -BH 

    Reply

  2. Greg
    Oct 13, 2006 @ 12:42:49

    This type of tragedy can make anyone cringe. It is so unfortunate when poor decisions result in tragedy. When we are young sometimes we can think we are invincible…Which for some this is not the case.

    Reply

  3. David
    Oct 13, 2006 @ 20:47:41

    How awful.  Having lost a brother to a drunk driver when he was 12, and a nephew to a drinken car wreck (all 3 in the car killed), I know how dreadful this is.  I also know that nothing ever will keep boys this age from driving drunk – as well as boys (and girls) a good deal older.  So it is just one of those things that will ravage families forever.  You are not selfish to be glad your son wasn\’t there, you are sensible and normal.  Hell, I am glad I wasn\’t there.  I hope that he has learned that it really can happen – to people you know, to young people, to him if he is foolish.  I trust he will not be.  So sorry to hear of this terrible tragedy. 

    Reply

  4. Jade
    Oct 15, 2006 @ 07:27:14

    As a kid it sticks with you the rest of your life…
    You think of it as you are about to get into a car with another teen who has been drinking & you change your mind & don\’t do it. No matter how much they make fun of you.

    Reply

  5. Jess
    Oct 17, 2006 @ 19:15:20

    I am so sorry about this tragedy…I\’ve been where your son is, and it\’s a horrible scary place. Send him my best.
    Jess
    xoxo

    Reply

Leave a Reply

