Any excitment in your life?

 Things have been slow around here. Nothing exciting going on, but the weather has been gorgeous. Mid 70’s is perfect!
I will be busier soon. The big Library birthday party, fund raiser is in October, and I always volunteer. They have an auction (I’m one of the people who goes around to ask for donations, either money or material items for the auction) and then, this year, I decorate the December table.
There are 12 tables, for the 12 months of the year. Each decorated to reflect the month, or sometimes a theme. Last time I chose, "The secret garden", my month was May. People come by, have some cake and punch, leave donations, then buy things at the auction. All the proceeds go to the library. This and the Dr. Seuss, birthday party are the two ways our library gets the money to stay open. (They actually serve green eggs and ham for that one. LOL)
Awhile back we tried having a couple of yard sales, but by the last one I was doing it all myself, so, no more yard sales!
Sorry, I told you things have been boring around here lately. lol
BIG HUGS, Steph

8 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. David
    Sep 20, 2006 @ 23:17:01

    It\’s cool that you volunteer to help out your community.  Most people just don\’t take the time to help other people out anymore.  I personally try to get out of volunteering but my wife makes sure I do my fair share.       Dave

    Reply

  2. bobby
    Sep 21, 2006 @ 10:04:33

    you are so kind to do such a good deed~~here people are just keen to themselves~~hope u can come back to my space,dear steph~~

    Reply

  3. Greg
    Sep 21, 2006 @ 11:47:33

    Hey Steph…Yep…Yep…September weather is awesome. Just right as a matter of fact. Been a little boring arond my household too…Does that mean we are getting older??? Maybe it is time for a cat??? Nah!!! Then there is cat poop!!!

    Reply

  4. EdgyKay
    Sep 21, 2006 @ 12:18:38

     
    What a fun thing for you to do! What do plan to use as decorations? Christmas stuff? Or snowman stuff? Or both? You could sell hot chocolate and gingerbread cookies, too, to sweeten the pot. (Pun intended)
     
    You\’re a good woman, Steph. Libraries are about the best things ever. Good for you for helping yours.
     

    Reply

  5. Silver
    Sep 21, 2006 @ 13:07:49

    Hiya Steph..Thanks for your comments.. and I know you\’re right what you\’re saying. We never learn do we? lolThat Library Birthday party sounds like fun! Can\’t wait to see what your December table will be like! Hope you have a nice weekend Silverxx

    Reply

  6. Dwayne
    Sep 21, 2006 @ 14:06:50

    Sounds groovy. I hate yard sales. Seems like growing up our garage was filled with yard sale items and all sumer long we would pack it up to different peoples\’ houses. I hated it and I have only had one half-assed yard sale since I left home. You\’re such a happy helper.

    Reply

  7. David
    Sep 24, 2006 @ 19:28:11

    They might have been a tad less boring if you had really gotten into the "May" theme for your last table and celebrated all the knocking up of the those ladies who would soon, but not soon enough, become June brides…

    Reply

  8. David
    Sep 24, 2006 @ 19:29:36

    Oh and may I suggest an in depth study of the Roman Saturnalia holiday for the December table?  A library is just the place to widen one\’s experience.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

