Goodbye to our King

 King Tom, (If I Were King), has passed away. This has been a rough month.
 
How do you say goodbye to a kind, gentle, funny man, who had so much to look forward to in his life?
 
It’s rare to come across a friend like Tom.
This past spring I had asked him, if he wouldn’t mind doing me a personal favor. Not only didn’t he mind, but he went out of his way to fulfill my request.
 
I know how many of us online loved him, and I know that in his real life he has many, many,  friends and family who loved him. That says something about a person, about who he was as a man.
 
This past winter he took a trip over to China, and while he was there, married his "honey" Rose.
They’ve been working so hard to get all the paperwork done so that she could come to the US and be with him. We were all excited to have that happen, and looking forward to the day they could be together.
I’m hoping that both governments cooperate and she will still be able to come. I can’t even imagine what she and Tom’s family must be going through.
 
His niece, Gretchen says they are going to have a memorial at his favorite bar. He loved a good beer, and she knows that’s what he would have wanted.
 
You can see by the comments on his space, how much he was loved, and how many of our lives he’s touched.
What can you say about a man, who was kind, funny, a good friend, loved, and will be missed?…
 
I hope when it’s my time to leave this earth, that I have as many friends and family who love, care, and think about me as highly as Tom’s do him. What more could anyone ask?
 
Take a minute and have a beer in his honor. He was a King.
 
 

9 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Kim
    Sep 16, 2006 @ 22:40:13

    Hey there,
    I stopped by because of your comment at the King\’s site.  We are trying very hard to get a "worldwide" memorial in his honor next Saturday.  Hope you can be there!!!  It\’s obvious that he was admired and loved by many.  He personally touched my life in a wonderful way and it\’s so refreshing to see that I was not the only one.  I am one of very, very many.  What a wonderful tribute to someone who completely deserves it – he will not EVER be forgotten.
    Take care,
    Kim

    Reply

  2. Indigo-XX
    Sep 17, 2006 @ 08:19:18

    I used to visit his blog every day when I was on Spaces…how terribly sad and unexpected for all his friends and family. I\’m still reading tributes to Marc, so I suppose I\’d better get another box of kleenex and start the ones to Tom.
     
    You\’re a great friend to everyone, Steph.

    Reply

  3. Kadrin
    Sep 17, 2006 @ 17:13:11

    His family and Rose are in my prayers. He was a wonderful friend to many. Hugs, Kat

    Reply

  4. Nooner™
    Sep 18, 2006 @ 05:34:48

    What a very nice tribute! He was very kind-hearted. I only visited him a few times, but could tell right away he was a true gentleman.
    ~Nooner~

    Reply

  5. Kat
    Sep 18, 2006 @ 07:39:37

    Hey!  I stopped by to wish a fellow Kat lover hello–and was saddened to read about the loss of your blog friend😦
    I shall go over and read his site in your honor.

    Reply

  6. Jess
    Sep 18, 2006 @ 14:21:30

    I was so sad to read this too. After Chukah too ? A very sad month…
     
    *Raises glass to KingTom*
     
    Hope you are good and well doll…
     
    Jess
    xoxo

    Reply

  7. David
    Sep 19, 2006 @ 06:30:00

    It is shocking to think that people die – even in Blogland.  Somehow I kind of thought this was a place that just was, like a book you can lay down and come back to, or a film you can watch again.  It seems so wrong that someone who had just gotten married and and was in the midst of working things out just dies.  I suppose in a way, that would be a great thing, to be full of hope and plans at the end, instead of the long slide down, but it leaves others feeling suddenly cut off.  How very sad for Rose.  I hope she can still come if she wishes.  But what an empty choice it is for her, either way.  I am very sorry to hear about Tom, I had visited his site and he was an interesting man. 

    Reply

  8. Litespreader
    Sep 19, 2006 @ 11:59:28

    oh steph.  i\’m saddened to hear of this loss.  i will drink a good fine beer in tom\’s honor, and pray for the peace of all concerned.  i\’m so glad i got here!  i can only do it from work, and that\’s tricky..  just on lunch break.  miss you.  :)  tree

    Reply

  9. Rosebay
    Oct 03, 2006 @ 13:01:09

    I\’ve added your entry to the tribute book. He is still missed.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

