Not so little shop of horrors

 I went to the dentist today. (Not my favorite thing to do) He’s (my dentist) is a cutie, and I’ve known him since he was a little boy (he’s the same age as some of my younger brothers).
It seems I make him nervous, but we have fun, joking, laughing. (not your usual dentist visit) LOL
 My tooth has been hurting me for about a week now, and after checking things out he brought up the "R" word (" Whispers," root canal). That’s NOT a word I want to hear, sooo I sweet talked and convinced him that a crown would probably do wonders. That decided I asked, "OK, where’s the gas?" LOL
Most of it went fine. Anyone else hate the sound of that drill? Even all warm and fuzzy it bothers me.
I have a temporary crown, and a week to see if that helps. If not, then we have to go the "R" word
 but, I’m  thinking… I don’t really need to chew my food on that side of my mouth… do I?
BIG HUGS, Steph
 

10 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. BH
    Sep 07, 2006 @ 19:19:52

    Root canal? Piece of cake.  Sometime I\’ll share my long and dramatic history of oral dentistry participation.
     
    Yep, Cannon Beach is near Seaside.  Seaside is kind of dumpy.  Cannon is too trendy for its own good.  We stay further south is a sweet little town.

    Reply

  2. Bob
    Sep 07, 2006 @ 19:28:46

    Go with the root canal baby!!  You\’ll be glad you did someday!!  Trust me!  And try to get that "twilight sleep" gas!!  You will do fine!!!!  (K)
     
    xoxo   Bob~

    Reply

  3. David
    Sep 07, 2006 @ 21:23:19

    Root canals aren\’t bad. I think its better to get them when getting a crown.  My dentist would disagree, but what the hell does he know. Good luck with the chewing thing. Ha ha later Dave 

    Reply

  4. KatSoup
    Sep 07, 2006 @ 21:41:51

    oh so sorry,
    I feel your pain. Remember I had one not long ago. 
     
    My hot dog hottie had a toothache today.  I took her meds to the dog house, motrin 800, ora-gel.

    Reply

  5. bobby
    Sep 07, 2006 @ 21:59:49

    Hello,steph, i hope u will feel good after u see the dentist~~Best wishes,BoBBY

    Reply

  6. EdgyKay
    Sep 08, 2006 @ 11:07:51

     
    Just get the damn thing pulled and be done with it! Unless it\’s one of those front teeth — then, not such a good idea. Unless you like the hillbilly look.
     
    If I wasn\’t so afraid that they\’d clack when I talked, I\’d have dentures, I think. No drilling AND a scary treat for the kiddies!
     

    Reply

  7. Leah
    Sep 08, 2006 @ 16:20:14

    I forgot to ask you about your tooth on the phone, i am so sorry. Hope it feels better.

    Reply

  8. David
    Sep 08, 2006 @ 21:39:37

    I\’ve had a couple of root canals and they didn\’t bother me at all.  I was once a real dentistophobe, but then I had a couple of guys in succession that I had known before they became dentists.  The new thing is \’as little pain as possible" (young dentists are GOOD!) as opposed to "I know what\’s best".  You are lucky to know the guy.  Tell him you are taking names…

    Reply

  9. Bob
    Sep 13, 2006 @ 13:12:43

    Root canal is not that big a deal…  I just had one.  The worst part was the shot.  I thought the temp crown was worse (smoke should not come out of one\’s mouth involuntarily…)!  The hardest part is holding your mouth open for over an hour… or… as my darling wife put it… for ME to hold MY mouth open for over an hour without saying anything… I wonder what she meant by that… hmm…

    Reply

  10. Kat
    Sep 18, 2006 @ 07:53:50

    I have a tooth that is bugging me. I laughed out loud when you said, "I don\’t have to chew on that side of my mouth, do I?" LOL! I\’ve been saying that to myself for the past 3 months!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

