Oh the fun!

 Edgykay, told us about her ‘adventure’ of being locked out of her house.
I’ve done things like that before. When my oldest daughter was a baby asleep in her car seat, I got out of the car and closed my door, intending to go around the car and get her out. Her door was locked, all the other doors were locked, and I was in panic mode!   There were people around and I was lucky enough to have one of them call the police for me. They came and opened the car.
 The worst time I remember wasn’t being locked out of my house, but being locked IN. I needed to take a shower, my oldest son was about a year and a half at the time. Luckily I took him in with me (yes, yes, I have no problems with communal showers with my little ones). Well after we get out of the shower, I wrap him up, I reach for the door handle…. the door won’t open. The handle was very old and broken. I tried everything I could think of and couldn’t get the door open. Quick recap, I’m naked (with a towel), a little one who’s getting cold, a door that won’t open, and no one else is at home. Not only not at home but the neighborhood I lived in was a very quiet one, people were gone during the day. I had no idea what to do, so, hoping someone was around I opened the window and started yelling that if anyone was around I needed help. I wasn’t going to wait 8+ hours for my husband to come home. I yelled for about an hour, and finally someone came to where my window was, (one of my neighbors), he asked if I wanted him to come in and take the door off the hinges…. ummmm nooooo, I asked him to call my husband at work, who came home and took the door off the hinges.
 Later when "George" (my neighbor), found out the whole story, he thought it was vastly amusing and told everyone that he shouldn’t have listened to me and come in to take the door off… funny man! (Thanks for the memories Kay) BIG HUGS, Steph

12 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. SAAM
    Sep 01, 2006 @ 20:27:13

    Poor George missed his chance!!
    SAAM

    Reply

  2. Indigo II
    Sep 02, 2006 @ 06:16:42

    See, Steph, this is why you should always keep snacks and a tv in the bathroom – you could have camped out all day!😉

    Reply

  3. Mercy
    Sep 02, 2006 @ 10:22:51

    George…hehe…he missed out!
     
    I love this story, I can\’t think of one as good as this for me except for leaving the car on while dropping off the GIRL. Dead of winter the car was cold I wanted it to be warm…usually I remember my spare key when I lock the doors and get out….thankfully I wasn\’t late for work!
     
    Mercy

    Reply

  4. Bob
    Sep 02, 2006 @ 13:31:36

    Was George your mailman??  I like Indigo\’s idea!!!  LOL!  Just a thought tho:  No one at home and no one around the neighborhood, then why close the door in the first place?  Hmmm…..
     
    xo   Bob~

    Reply

  5. EdgyKay
    Sep 02, 2006 @ 16:42:34

     
    This is waaaaaaaaaay worse than my little diversion. And you\’re a much better mother than I ever was: Showering was the only time I could block the little weiners out (although they were perched right outside the shower door, awaiting my return).
     
    Did you replace the broken handle with a shower curtain?
     
    edgykay

    Reply

  6. Leah
    Sep 02, 2006 @ 19:21:33

    Yeah I found out last night while asking my mom how she shaved her legs with me in the shower with her, that she didn\’t take showers with me. But I either have to take one with booties or he is outside the damn thing playing with the curtain letting out all the hot steam. So again I ask how do I shave my legs with a toddler in there with me?

    Reply

  7. Stephanie
    Sep 02, 2006 @ 23:34:30

    SAAM, LOL YES he did!
     
    Indi, I like that idea! IF I would have had a phone in there it would have been no big problem.
     
    Mercy, I\’ve done that before too. Glad you remembered a spare… I guess I better get one made before winter comes!
     
    Bob, Nope, George was my neighbor who had one of those huge monster trucks that you see in car shows. You know the kind that run over other cars. He would park it between our houses and then start it up. I was always amazed the the windows didn\’t break from the vibrations. It was LOUD!
    Oh, and why close the door…. one word for you…. PSYCHO!!
     
    Kay, Yep if I hadn\’t had them in the shower with me they would be right there waiting anyway, so, I figured what the heck, clean baby and I didn\’t have to listen to crying. lol
    We replaced the whole door handle.
     
    Leah… you shave your legs????
    If I remember right, I would make sure they had a toy or something they could play with and then I shaved very fast!  You could always let it get long enough to braid… lol
     
     

    Reply

  8. Allissa
    Sep 04, 2006 @ 05:47:33

    I almost got stuck in a public bathroom. One of these nasty ones at a pub in the back where NOONE goes. I was starting to panic that I would not make it out and I would rot in there. Finally I did manage to get the door open!
     
    Then there was the time I wrote about the dog making me lock myself out of the house in nothing but a Kanga at 12:00 at night. That was not funny.
     
    aak

    Reply

  9. David
    Sep 04, 2006 @ 06:00:48

    Being locked in or out is so annoying and inconvenient, that you gotta figure it is a \’win\’ if the story is funny in the re-telling.  One hour of inconvenience – years of telling a good story (for your neighbor, too! – talk about being a good neighbor!)  And I hope you are talking about the Hitchcock film in your response to Bob; otherwise that\’s just MEAN. 

    Reply

  10. David
    Sep 04, 2006 @ 20:14:06

    Hi Steph,
     
    Thanks for visiting.  My wife has a funny locked out story I like to tell.  My bathroom has a key lock, which we used to leave the key in the lock on the inside of the bathroom.  Well one day when my son was about 3 1/2 he went inside the bathroom and decided to be a big boy and lock the door.  He did what he had to and came back to the door and could not unlock door. He then started to cry hysterically which brought my wife to the door.  She tried to talk him through turning the key, but he could not do it.  She pushed the key out of the lock and had my son push it under the door, but the key would not unlock the door from the outside.  With my son still crying, and my wife\’s maternal instinics on overdrive, she went outside manhandled the 24\’ ladder to the bathroom window, squeezed thorugh the small window, fell into the tub and rescued my son from his inprisonment.  After everything calmed down I got the phone call threatening my life if I ever left the key in the lock again.  To this day I still make sure it is out of the door.   Later Dave

    Reply

  11. David
    Sep 04, 2006 @ 20:16:16

    P.S.   My wife just reminded me that she was pregnant with our daughter at the time also.

    Reply

  12. Dwayne
    Sep 05, 2006 @ 06:31:14

    I locked myself in my grandparents\’ bathroom when I was little. Scared me to death. They told me not to lock it so naturally I did. I don\’t know if I was scared I was never going to get out or more scared of what I was going to get when I did. All I had to do was turn the knob to get the button to pop out. If there\’s a button, you can bet a kid will push it.  Loved this story. I bet you got a new bathroom handle out of it.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

