A Loss, Marc of Voyeur Nation

 I don’t do well with losing someone that I care about. Who ever does? I’ve moved so many times in my life, and it always hurt to leave behind people who I had come to care for, and know that I would never see them again. For a long time I stayed very guarded as to who I let in, who I let myself care about. I still have problems with people who I consider a friend, just disappearing on me… moving or if online, just disappearing.
 
 When I started blogging last year, I did a lot of blog hopping. Going from link to link, or, if I liked how people commented, to go check out their space. While I was doing that, I came across Marc, aka, The Gay Dude, he had a blog here on MSN spaces at the time. I liked his profile, and he had posted a  painting he had done. I really liked it (I admire talent, and he was very talented). I started reading, and found that I liked this young man. He was smart, funny, talented, (cute), and had been through things in this life that would have destroyed most of us. He had lived on the streets, dealt with sexual abuse, and was fighting cancer, from a very young age, and yet, he wasn’t allowing it to make him bitter, or angry.
 
 He touched my heart, and I can’t tell you how much I admired him, his strength, his determination to be positive.
 
 He was so good about always leaving little comments. I found myself looking forward to them, and reading his blog (he moved to Voyeur Nation on Blogger).
Just before I left on vacation, he left me a comment that said how he envied my upcoming trip. I
took a lot of pictures I was excited to show him, (and my other friends). I’ve been so busy getting my girls ready for school that I just found out today that he passed away.
I’m shocked, and funny as it may seem, because I didn’t know him in real life, so deeply sad, it hurts.
 I have no idea what happened, and I hope that someone will let me know. I thought he was doing better.
 I wanted to say, to his brother Joshua, and to his Love, Bailey, that I wish I could give you both a huge hug.
 He’s missed, and he made a difference in my life, in my attitude, and my outlook. I admired him, I liked him, and, I aspire to have that kind of strength and humanity in my life.
 
Thank You Marc. I know you have peace and are surrounded by love. BIG HUGS, Steph

8 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. joynelson
    Aug 22, 2006 @ 20:39:19

    Hi there~
    I kind of have the same story in regards to Marc also…He commented on my MSN site and so I decided to visit his site and at the time I just emailed him…well, after that we kept visiting and I am glad that I did…I got to know him and just loved his stories! 
    Take care…
    ~Joy~

    Reply

  2. Unknown
    Aug 22, 2006 @ 22:14:30

    I have no idea if this message is working or not since I don\’t get the passport thing!  This is Joshua and you just left me a message.  I\’m astounded at how many lives my Brother touched.  I had no idea.  I knew he blessed many lives outside of the internet;  but I didn\’t know about his online relationships.  Thanks for being his friend.  We\’re all a little sad right now;  but he is onto bigger and brighter things.  What happened with him was a lot of little physical problems which kept \’dominoing\’ until it became a major medical crisis.  It\’s unfortunate that he beat cancer – but a bunch of little things took him down.  It was fast and unexpected.  But he was conscious – smiling – and brave when he courageously let go of this world.  I miss him already.  But I just wanted to tell you that I\’m very touched by your words.
     
    Joshua

    Reply

  3. Greg
    Aug 23, 2006 @ 08:14:59

    Yes…Yes…They grow up to fast. Take it from me you will not enjoy the empty nest. My children better have a room for me down the road because I will bounce from house to house for sure. Hmmm….Maybe all I will need is a trailer in the future???
     
    As for Marc I visited him from time to time. I felt for his struggles and admired his attitude. He checked into ‘Blog Quest’ a few times and I was hoping he would feel comfortable and share.
     
    Joshua…Thank you for sharing and may you and your family continue to find peace in Him.
     
    Blessings to you ‘KittyCat’ and to all your loved ones too…Greg
     

    Reply

  4. Sher
    Aug 23, 2006 @ 12:47:50

    I pretty much said sorta almost kinda what you said (figure that out) on my own "blog" about Marc. I barely met him but he made a profound impact on me.
     
    Now then woman, just where are these vacation photos?

    Reply

  5. Nikki
    Aug 23, 2006 @ 13:55:49

    So sorry to hear about your friend.  :(  Hes at a better place now…  :)  Take it easy!

    Reply

  6. SAAM
    Aug 25, 2006 @ 16:15:49

    It is amazing how much our \’blog friends\’ mean to us.
    Thinking of Marc and his family
    SAAM

    Reply

  7. Charlotte M Simonsen
    Aug 26, 2006 @ 14:22:54

    oh no, oh no, he was such a sweetheart…..  and yes, he will be missed.  I am glad I came here today and found out about Marc…..  That was a beautiful tribute.. thank you… hugs to you and all of Marc\’s friends, family and fans, lottiemae

    Reply

  8. David
    Aug 29, 2006 @ 08:43:58

    I had been travelling and did not know till I read this that Marc had died.  What a shock.  I had enjoyed his courage and his writing, and I was happy always that he had someone to love and who loved him.  One of the finest things about reading his and some others\’ writing is when the genuine caring in their relationships shines thru their writing – not because they say so, but because they can\’t seem to hide it (not that they try).  Thanks for posting this.  I am very sad for Bailey and Marc\’s family.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

