Pied Piper of Cats

 My daughter’s cat, Kimi, is our oldest, we call her "The Queen." She loves to hunt, and doesnt’ like to come home to the rest of my "pride" in the yard/house.
 
So every evening as it starts to get dark, I grab a flashlight and go to where she’s usually waiting for me to come get her.
 
 Do I go alone??? Nooooo (I wish I did), I’m followed by at least 5 cats (tonight was 6) who seem to think I  can’t go any place without them. They follow along, staying with me as I  go down and across the street, then follow me home.
 
My neighbors (the nice ones) get a kick out of this, and tell me I’m the "Pied Piper" of cats.
Hmmmmm do you think  there’s any money in that? BIG HUGS, Steph

8 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. David
    Aug 20, 2006 @ 07:02:03

    Your neighbors are probably hoping that the story will end like the Pied Piper did.  I know that the thought would have crossed my mind…

    Reply

  2. Stephanie
    Aug 20, 2006 @ 11:37:51

    David, David… I wondered if you\’d bring up the ending to that story. LOL
    They might be thinking that, but, when I first moved here, I had 3 cats. Two of them disappeared (I believe it was a certain neighbor). Besides bugging them often to see if they knew what happened, I let them know in plain English that when one disappears many more will take their place. I havent\’ had one disappear since.

    Reply

  3. Bob
    Aug 20, 2006 @ 12:57:03

    Better cats than rats!!  At least you\’re well protected!!  lol!  The visual is too funny!!!
     
    xoxo    Bob~

    Reply

  4. Greg
    Aug 20, 2006 @ 13:33:47

    I always what to sing that…Meow…Meow…(Like a hundred times) song when I come for visit. Now I know why…
    Are you kids ready for school??? I know I am ready for the fall season…It feels like we have had like seven months of summer here in the Ozarks.
    One good thing about your cats going outside a lot…Less poop in the litter box.

    Reply

  5. Allissa
    Aug 21, 2006 @ 07:30:45

    Awwww that would be so cute to see.
    Everyone is blogging about cats today, I miss my babies!
     
    aak

    Reply

  6. Jim
    Aug 21, 2006 @ 10:57:30

    Only in getting rid of cats!  Hope your summer has been good, I\’M back at my 1st day of school and it is half over, so I guess I\’ll make it!
     
    Jim   

    Reply

  7. Dwayne
    Aug 21, 2006 @ 14:00:19

    You do this every night? Sounds like my mother-in-law, the cat lady. Love your warning to the neighbors.  Cat shit on the window sill, children shit in the snow.

    Reply

  8. Indigo II
    Aug 21, 2006 @ 15:17:37

    I have to lock my cats in the house (and watch their little faces pressed up against the windows!) when I take the dog out for a walk, or they\’ll follow me. It wouldn\’t be so bad, but I\’m afraid they\’d get lost (my cats? pretty, but dumb as sticks).🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

