Home!

Hi! We’re home! We all had a great time, but like BH says, now I need a vacation to recover from my vacation. lol

Disneyland was fun. They have a wonderful fireworks show from the castle in celebration of the 50th Anniversary. The castle has crowns on it, and was gorgeous.

My sister is a pin trader, something I didn’t even know about. You buy a lanyard with Disney pins on it, or just buy pins, and you exchange or trade them with Disney employees. They wear a lanyard full of them, and if you see one you want, you trade, straight across, one for one. She had me buy a lanyard for her and trade the pins for some that she was looking for. This was so fun I ended up buying a lanyard for myself and my girls. I got some great Disney cat pins, and some of Sleeping Beauty (she’s my favorite). It’s addicting! lol

They have recently updated the Pirates of the Caribbean ride. It’s OK I guess. It seems shorter and they have Capt. Jack Sparrow in there now.

My kids love Knotts Berry Farms. The rides are bigger and scarier. I go on the wimpy ones, then shop and watch the live entertainment while they go on the, whiplash, scare you enough to wet your pants, rides.

Universal Studios has really changed, and expanded. We did the regular Studio Tram Tour, then the kids rode the "Mummy" Roller Coaster ride and waited for almost an hour and a half for the, Jurassic Park Ride. They loved it but it was too short of a ride.

When we first got there I wasn’t sure which way to go to find the tram for the tour, so, I saw a really handsome young man in a Keystone Cop costume, and I went over to ask him. He saw me coming and we did a little circle of him pretending he didn’t see me, and me trying to tap him on the shoulder. LOL He asked me if I was stalking him, and I said… well sure I am! LOL He replied with, "Get over here and let me love on ya" (who could resist that?) So I did! While getting luvin I asked him about the tour tram, and he tells me that I don’t need to take the tour, he’ll be my guide, so, arm in arm we start walking and he starts pointing out things like, "This couple is from (he asks them) New Mexico, now, wave goodbye to them…. up ahead is …. well you get the idea. He had me laughing the whole time as he headed us towards the trams. He was so cute and funny I could have just eaten him up!

Universal has a downtown area outside of it. Later that night while everyone else was riding that last ride or two. I was in the downtown area. They were having a "Block Party". There was a stage with a live band (they were good), a radio DJ, and all kinds of fun things. There was a singing contest for concert tickets. A dance contest (the little boy who won for the men’s side was really good!), and a cannon that shot out streamers. I think I had more fun that evening in the downtown part than the rest of the day!

Our last day there was spent at the Orange County Flea Market and the Beach.  We spent the night with Bob (RUSerious) and his wife Becky. My youngest daughter was trying to figure out how to bring home their dogs, we fell in love with them. I like Baxter’s big brown eyes, Bonnie’s cute lil face, and Buzz is the sweetest dog you’ll ever meet!

Becky is a great cook and we always look forward to what she makes (she goes all out)! There were 3 kinds of shish kabobs, beef, chicken and shrimp, baby potatoes, rice, french bread, different sauces for the kabobs, etc. etc. It was all delicious! We waddled away from the table! LOL

My plan was to keep them (the kids) so busy that they couldn’t find time to get into trouble. Considering they would hit the pillow and be out in a few minutes…. I succeeded! lol

The boys flew home Sunday morning, and we drove up to San Fran. I really needed more time to show the girls around, but we did make it to China Town, and to the Golden Gate Bridge. The whole area is so beautiful. I envy anyone who can afford to live there.

We got a late start for the rest of the way home, but made it here 4am on Tues. morning. I’ve missed my little ones (my cats), and it’s nice to be home.  Now I have to check out what a mess MSN has made of spaces and see who’s actually still around…. I’m hoping you all are! BIG HUGS, Steph

 

11 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Leah
    Aug 09, 2006 @ 14:20:48

    I am so glad you are home. I rode the Jarrisic park ride to when it first opened. OH MY GOD did I get wet. Glad you had fun, glad you got home safe.

    Reply

  2. Greg
    Aug 09, 2006 @ 15:24:14

    You gotta love the left coast and like you I am thankful to experience all those places…
    Good to have you back but I think everyone is laying low with the changes and it is difficult for many to stroll Bloggerville…Hmmmm??? Sometimes they cannot leave well enough alone but it is probably all about upgrades and having us go spend more.

    Reply

  3. _The_Gay_Dude
    Aug 09, 2006 @ 17:22:34

    Welcome home!

    Reply

  4. Bob
    Aug 09, 2006 @ 19:29:30

    Happy that you had fun here!!  GREAT pics!!!  And I really hope you love the Maxima!!!!
     
    xoxo    Bob~

    Reply

  5. Cheryl
    Aug 10, 2006 @ 07:07:34

    Wow…what a great vacation you all had.  I loved readng about it as I have never been to any ofhte places you mentioned.

    Reply

  6. David
    Aug 10, 2006 @ 10:29:51

    Gee – It sounds like so much fun that I almost got over my dislike of theme parks in your honor.  Sounds like you know how to enjoy yourself – maybe I just… don\’t.  What beach were you at in Orange County?  I used to hang out at Huntington.  Now THAT was fun!   Maybe you should get a dog (one that eats cats).  OK, I know that is too much to hope for.  And Sleeping Beauty is your favorite what?  Character?  Thing in the whole wide world?  Female?  Pin?  And yeah – I lived in SF when one could afford it and it WAS lovely…

    Reply

  7. Charlotte M Simonsen
    Aug 10, 2006 @ 19:52:58

    glad you had a wonderful trip.. now rest up….  waaaaaa… I would like some of your peaches from your tree… oh well, eat some for us… ok?  hugs, lottiemae

    Reply

  8. Silver
    Aug 11, 2006 @ 06:19:57

    Hello!!🙂
    Glad you had such a brilliant holiday.. I love Disneyland.. I was in the Florida one two years ago for my second time and I couldnt believe how much it\’d all changed since my first time! I\’ve also been to the one in Paris.. but that wasn\’t nearly as good!
    Hope you are well..
    Have a lovely weekend..
    Silver
    xx

    Reply

  9. David
    Aug 12, 2006 @ 21:21:06

    Ok, Ok – you ask me to be your friend and then you leave yourself in a sort of pending status – all coy and everything – and now you are not even in my list anymore – and vice versa?  You withdrew?  What did I say?

    Reply

  10. Indigo II
    Aug 13, 2006 @ 22:15:52

    YAY…you\’re home! I\’d throw a parade for you, but…well, you\’ve probably had enough short, sticky people standing in your personal space, eh?😉

    Reply

  11. SAAM
    Aug 18, 2006 @ 21:24:17

    Sounds like fun!!!!!
     

    Reply

Leave a Reply

