The Perfect Job

I read a blog the other day, where the person was talking about their perfect job. Then I read oldestgenxer’s blog and he was talking about an idea he had for a job that would be perfect for him.
It made me think, if I could, what would I do for a job, that would be perfect for me? What would I do? Well, when I managed a travel agency, I loved it, plus I’m damn good at it. Things have changed though, and I think I’d be better off working for the airline now.
 
OK, if a genie came and told me I could wish for a job, and get it, then I would say…. I think I’d love to work for a travel show, you know, like, globe trekkers, or one like it. It would of course have to be a very popular show, so it would keep being renewed. My job, being part of the advance crew. You know, fly in, checking out the airlines, and ease of travel to get there. What’s the airport like? What’s the availability of hotels, both high priced and low end? How good is their service, and how do they treat their customers? Then of course there’s the area/city/region itself. What are the main tourist attractions, but even more important, what’s it like off the beaten path, away from the tourists? Searching out and finding all the fun wonderful, beautiful sites and things to do there.
OK, food, that would have to be a major part of it too. Maybe a travel show that concentrates on cooking too? Traveling to all different kinds of restaurants, tasting, tasting, tasting… mmmmmmmm
Where’s the best place to go for a high priced meal? Better yet, where do the locals eat? What’s the specialty of the area… is there one?
 
This job would pay me REALLY well, plus have health, and retirement benefits, so that I’m able to purchase property and homes all over the world (usually on or near beaches), AND, buy antiques where ever I travel. Most I keep, others would be shipped back to my antique stores that I own. Probably in the Hawaii, and Seattle area.
 
So, I travel the world, getting things set up for when the host of the show gets there, and follows my map and info on the area. Shoots the show and we are off to another exotic local. My flights,(first class) hotels, (first class) and food (the best) are all comped, I get paid big bucks, and get to shop to my hearts content. Oh vacations, ummm, I get at least 3-4 months off out of the year. Now, that’s not asking too much is it? Of course if I happen to come across some paintings that I can sell for 135 million each, well then I could retire early.  LOL BIG HUGS, Steph

10 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Leah
    Jun 30, 2006 @ 10:50:15

    That sounds like Anthony Bourdain\’s No reservations. He is on the travel channel. I love him and I would love to do what he does. I should tape some shows for you and send them to you. He is a chef in NY that owns two restaurants and now travels the world. He was just in Indonisia and now going to meet Adria Ferran who does weird things with food. I should tape it, let me know if you want me to?

    Reply

  2. Jess
    Jun 30, 2006 @ 18:52:46

    Well…don\’t ask for too damn much !
     
    LMFAO…mine would involve sitting on my arse in front of my computer …with my kids…and getting paid LOTS to bitch uh I mean blog all day !
     
    Hey my oldests fave color is orange too !
     
    What a beautiful name your girl has too !
     
    Jess
    xoxo

    Reply

  3. Harold
    Jun 30, 2006 @ 21:48:42

    Ya NEVER know what ya can get unless ya ask for it     ; )
     
    lmao 

    Reply

  4. KatSoup
    Jun 30, 2006 @ 21:48:46

    The perfect job hmmm
    I wanna lay on my ass, while oil pumps 3,000 dollars a minute into my account! 
     
    .

    Reply

  5. bren
    Jul 01, 2006 @ 05:47:46

    I got motion sickness just reading this.

    Reply

  6. K.T.
    Jul 01, 2006 @ 13:29:34

    My perfect job?  A Brewmaster.   What a crappy weekend for garage sales.

    Reply

  7. Bob
    Jul 01, 2006 @ 14:10:32

    I think PERFECT and JOB is an oxymoron!!  LOL!!  Just give me tons of $$$$$$  and NO work!!!
     
    Ok, ok!  Independently wealthy Bonsai Master!!!
     
    xoxo   Bob~

    Reply

  8. Litespreader
    Jul 01, 2006 @ 15:54:31

    that sounds like a gas, steph.  also sounds like you\’ve given this alot of thought.  my perfect job is still massage therapy.  i love it.
    getting paid to let peace, love, and healing flow through my body and bless someone else… beauty!

    Reply

  9. bobby
    Jul 02, 2006 @ 01:50:09

    like what you write in blog!!

    Reply

  10. Cheryl
    Jul 02, 2006 @ 14:52:17

    What a wonderful job youi have created for yourself.  Now you need to get supporters for the dream job.   Interesting…

    Reply

Leave a Reply

