A Birthday

Today is my oldest daughter’s birthday, and in honor of her, this is in her favorite color… orange.  She turned 15 today, and is almost ready to take the test and get her driving permit.
(Guys you don’t need to read this part) It seems like just yesterday I was pregnant with her. Our insurance only allowed one ultrasound at the very first, so, I didn’t know for sure she was going to be a girl, but my  heart told me she was. I could not come up with a boys name, and I had a huge list of girls names. My mom called one day and said she had just watched the movie, Willow, and what did I think about the name, Alaura. I loved it from the minute I heard it. Much to the concern of my family, I hit a great yard sale of some ladies who were selling tons of beautiful baby girls clothes… the only thing  better than buying Nordstroms or Bon baby clothes is getting them almost free!
She was born, an easy to push out, 6 lbs 3 1/2 oz., dark black hair and the biggest eyes you’ve ever seen. She was, Alaura. She was such a beautiful baby, I would have people constantly stopping us and making a big deal (it was those big brown eyes). I had always wanted a little girl with big brown eyes. She wasn’t very social though, and mostly just gave dirty looks. lol
When she was 2 and 3 we lived in a college town, and a bunch of college kids were making a movie about the college, they saw her and begged me to let her be in the film. I can’t even remember what they had her say, but she did great.
Everyone says she looks like me. I say she’s a heck of a lot cuter than I ever was. She’s a beauty, (just ask the boys that call). She’s no longer anti-social, in fact in this little town we live in, EVERYONE knows her, young and old. She’s much more conscientious than I ever was, is always on the honor roll, and she’s athletic, something she did NOT get from me. lol
Her fast pitch softball team just took second in a big tournament . Her coach told us it was her playing (hits, catches, plays) that got their team to that last championship game. They asked if I could have more like her. LOL
I’m so very proud of her, and love her more than I can say. She’s my "Brown-eyed Girl." No one asked me if she could keep growing up, but, I guess that’s just part of being a parent. Happy Birthday My Baby!
Dinner tonight, her favorite, Chicken Fettucini Alfredo with Broccoli.

15 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Cheryl
    Jun 26, 2006 @ 19:05:24

    You are obviously a pround mother of a great daughter and in all probability you had a great deal to do with how she turned out.  Great job!  Wish her happy birthday for me.
     
    Cheryl

    Reply

  2. Leah
    Jun 26, 2006 @ 19:48:31

    wow you made me all teary. I hope i feel that way about booties when he is 15. YIKES only 12 1/2 years away.

    Reply

  3. bobby
    Jun 26, 2006 @ 20:23:15

    a proud mother!!

    Reply

  4. _The_Gay_Dude
    Jun 26, 2006 @ 20:27:21

    mmmmmmmm I\’ll be over around 7 for leftovers🙂

    Reply

  5. Bob
    Jun 26, 2006 @ 21:20:30

    Awwwwww……..  Well, she is very beautiful and she DOES look like YOU!! Happy Birthday Alaura!!!
     
    xoxo   Bob~

    Reply

  6. K.T.
    Jun 27, 2006 @ 09:11:42

    Happy birthday Alaura.  The cars look great and the food is yummy.   I have 3 pink bowls and one has the silver base.  I\’m not sure if that is original, it looks like there is clear caulk around the edges.  I\’ve seen some on Ebay with a similar base.  those prints are very nice and i wont be doing a thing with them until I find out more about the, including the signature.

    Reply

  7. Nikki
    Jun 27, 2006 @ 13:30:17

    Yum!  Can I come over for dinner?  Happy birthday Alaura!

    Reply

  8. Allissa
    Jun 28, 2006 @ 02:23:09

    Happy Birthday Alaura! That is a really nice name!
    I\’m coming over with Nikki. Make sure you make lots. I am a starving girl in Africa!
     
    aak
     

    Reply

  9. David
    Jun 28, 2006 @ 10:51:15

    Be sure and keep telling her all this stuff and she probaly won\’t ship you off to the Home for years.   Just an easy push out, eh?  Now there\’s a visual!  Sorry – I am just a sentimental old fool…

    Reply

  10. Jim
    Jun 28, 2006 @ 14:18:31

    Hope she has a happy birthday!  the pic\’s are good even tarzan\’s car!  Oops I read the part that guys were not to read!  But I\’m a guy and it wans\’t guy stuff,LOL.  There sure was a lot of food in your pictures, I wish I had some of it right now! I am a cheesecake nut! And 12 cats, does that qualify as a pride of cats?
    Jim  

    Reply

  11. Bryan
    Jun 28, 2006 @ 21:26:27

    Hey, didn\’t you promise to flash me?Anyway–I love fettucine alfredo and broc!Check out my blog on the fourth of July.  I wrote about my son\’s birth almost a month ago, and he\’s going to be 18 on the fourth, so I was going to wait until then to post it.Thanks for the care and concern, by the way.  I don\’t always get around to saying that.  I am a guy, after all.  What the helldo you expect?A quick hug and a kiss (and a grope, too–don\’t tell)Bryan

    Reply

  12. KatSoup
    Jun 29, 2006 @ 07:24:43

    what a beautiful name.  I love it. 
    Happy B day mom, the mom is the only one who REALLY remembers the BIRTHday.
     
    sounds like ya got a good one.

    Reply

  13. BH
    Jun 29, 2006 @ 11:29:25

    Great story!  I love the name.  Plus, big brown eyes….well…enough said.
     
    Nice work Mom😉
     
    Cheers,
    BH

    Reply

  14. bren
    Jul 01, 2006 @ 05:49:46

    crap! I missed the favorite dinner!  dammit!

    Reply

  15. SAAM
    Jul 03, 2006 @ 22:54:20

    What a sweet story!!!!!
    June birthdays rock
    SAAM

    Reply

Leave a Reply

